We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed and wanted.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maine Stay Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Maine Stay Cabanas
Save
You added The Maine Stay Cabanas to your Saves list
Peninsula Rd, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 25 Placencia B&B and Inns
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything we needed and wanted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent a week at The Maine Stay (#1) with my wife and two of my adult daughters. We all loved TMS and it's unique double cabana design. For a pair of adult couples or parents with children, the design provides just the right balance between private and communal space. The expansive open (but well shaded) deck area connected the living quarters and was well suited to our family meals and evening drinks. There is a sufficient variety of nice furniture (tables, chairs, hammocks) for anyone's needs. We admired and enjoyed the traditional wooden cabanas with french doors, high ceilings, plenty of windows, and sufficient fans. We like to experience the fresh tropical breezes and only felt it necessary to use the airconditioning for a couple of nights during an unseasonably warm spell when there was no breeze. Everything is in good condition and well maintained.

We particularly liked all of the unusual trees, plants, a flowers which surround the entire property and each unit. The beach is clean and raked daily with many healthy palm trees for shade. The covered end of the pier also became a favorite place to hang out for its breezes, clear water, and views up and down the beach. TMS is located just a fifteen minute drive from busy Placencia. It was very peaceful at TMS but there were also nice restaurants and convenient grocery stores nearby.

The best reason to stay here may be the owners, Drew and Karen. Drew provides a lot of helpful information in advance for those who are coming to the Placencia area for the first time. He makes planning very easy and there is no need to buy a guide book. We found his recommendations on all matters to be sound. So instead of flying a prop plane down from BZE, we took his advice and drove the Hummingbird Highway which was a wonderful introduction to the interior mountains and beautiful countryside. We also went on his recommended excursions with reliable guides and enjoyed the restaurants he and Karen had highlighted. Drew is not just providing a great accommodation; you feel like you have a local friend who's looking out for you and wants to share his love for the area.

Drew went out of his way to help us in many ways. He booked our excursions and we took advantage of his initial grocery service. And on the last day's drive back to BZE I filled up my tank at a nearby gas station and somehow forgot to collect my credit card from the attendant. When I discovered my predicament, I was three hours away from Placencia. I called Drew in a slight panic. He told me to call back in ten minutes. When I called again, Drew had already called the gas station himself and sent one of his crew to collect my card. He then mailed it to me at the earliest opportunity and it arrived safely without any problems. I couldn't have asked for more. A great host can provide a traveller with comfort and enjoyment, but he can also provide peace of mind in an unfamiliar and developing country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
36
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were at the Sunrise house for 7 days and really enjoyed our stay. The guys that were there for general maintenance and to act as security guards were more than kind, helpful and a joy to be around.

We arrived in Belize City around 4pm picked up our rental car and drove about 3 hours or so to the Maine Stay. There are few signs marking the way and often in the dark you are on them before you know it. There were a couple of times we had to turn around to look at the signs to make sure we were heading in the right direction. We had looked on line to see if we should drive and were a bit skeptical...but the roads were paved and in great shape the entire way. You do need to use caution when you come to the speed bumps (called the silent policeman) because they are massive and you can not take them at even 5mph.

When we arrived at the Maine Stay we were warmly welcomed and Karen gave us the lay of the land and made some recommendations that were spot on. The house was clean and simple exactly what we had hoped for. The bed was comfortable, the towels large and new. The grounds were perfectly kept up and we woke to find that we were feet away from a pristine beach. The entire stay we saw 3 or 4 people twice on the dock, if you are looking for a secluded getaway this is the perfect spot.

We used the kayaks, rode the bikes and had an amazing time. My wife would get up every morning and swim "laps" in the water that was as smooth as glass. Later in the afternoon, when it would get hotter, the breeze would come up and keep us cool. Just amazing. We did not have any bugs or other issues. It was great having a washer and dryer in the house.

The oscars were on when we were there and it was the only time the TV was on, we were surprised to find there were broadcasts from the us...almost all the stuff we have at home. But my advice would be to leave that box off...too much to see and do while you are there.

I would happily say this place was darn near perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I debated if I should write a review or not but in the end I felt sharing our experiences may help others as they decide where to go and where to stay. First and foremost, hats off to Hector, the property "foreman" at the Maine Stay. He consistently went out of his way to insure our stay was enjoyable. A communication error left us stranded at the Placencia airport when we arrived and when we got to the Maine Stay in a taxi, Hector quickly came out and apologized and reimbursed us the taxi fare (Drew and Karen were not at the property the four nights we stayed). The security guards were also very helpful - thanks Orson!

Pros - the cabana (Sunrise House) was very comfortable (except the AC in the main living area was not working. Thankfully the AC in the bedroom was). Good Wi-Fi and a well equipped kitchen. Having the groceries we ordered already at the cabana was fantastic! Having a washer/dryer in the bathroom was a plus (there is no housekeeping).

Cons - Drew had told me that most guests have rental cars - I should have heeded his advice. Unless you want to peddle the bikes several miles for meals/activities or want to call a taxi every time you want to go somewhere, rent a car. The Maine Stay is 5-6 miles from Placencia Village. We flew in from Belize City and I wish we would have rented a car and driven to the MS. Seine Bight is within a mile but as others have stated, it is a very depressed village and not one you want to wander around in after it gets dark. There is a decent grocery store there. I was disappointed in the water quality at the beach. While the beach itself was nice (best maintained stretch around - they keep it raked and clean), the water had the same sea grass we experienced in San Pedro. Maybe we are just spoiled with what we have enjoyed in Hawaii and other Caribbean locations. Walking the beaches north or south of the MS was disappointing also - not much actual beach and lots of trash that has floated in. Pretty disgusting actually. Of course this isn't Drew's fault - but romantic strolls along the beach won't happen unless you have had a few too many of those fruity rum drinks. I was also disappointed that the snorkel trip Drew promised to arrange was not scheduled as expected. We hustled and made one happen but...

In closing, if being pretty far away from Placencia Village is what you are looking for and you don't mind swimming in sea grass or seeing trash when you walk the beach, then the Maine Stay may be what you are looking for. For what we got, I think the $185/night was a bit high.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's shoulder to the helm planning on everyone's part to get all eleven of our family members (my 3 children & their families) to carve out twelve days to be all together; when it actually happens, we all REALLY want it to be the BEST time in the best place, with awe inspiring cultural (all 5 kids missing a week of school - culture helps!) and physical activities. Eureka! The 2 double cabanas at The Maine Stay for our first 7 1/2 days were PERFECT for our 3 family units...lovely, tropical, that marvelous,warm Carrib Mar 60 private sandy feet from our cabanas, comfortable, kayaks and bikes for the hyper-charged after a day of snorkeling or exploring in the jungle, well-stocked kitchen in each double cabana, grand hosts in Karen & Drew Travers available to recommend and help with anything, enough privacy for each family when needed. Simply put - we recommend the Maine Stay 100% + for any family - active or in-active! We explored almost every day booking snorkeling trips out to the Silk and Laughing Bird Cayes,the Monkey River boat trip and hiking with howler monkeys, trying different restaurants in Placencia, driving up to Hopkins for a group lesson at the Lebeha Drumming Center, hiking in the jungle at Cockscomb Jaguar Preserve (we hiked the Ben's Bluff trail -great views at top) and funky, fun Placencia is just 5 miles away...go to the Shak at the far end of town and have our personal favorite - a Mambo Mango smoothie! BUT, if you just want to hang out and relax, you could enjoy tropical tranquility swinging in the hammocks and swimming in the sea in the stunning surroundings at the Maine Stay. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drewtBelize, Owner at The Maine Stay Cabanas, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. You guys were an absolutely delightful group... we couldn't have asked for better guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We arrived at the Mainestay after following Drew's perfect directions and were greeted immediately by attentive staff, including Karen, who came and gave us an amazing rundown of our accommodations, the surrounding area, and other information so detailed we needed to take notes! We are in the single unit, perfect for a couple, and have found nothing missing. Well planned, immaculate and comfortable, right down to the varying thickness of the four pillows on the bed. The area is quiet and safe (aside from the occasional barking of the two dogs next door) and we are enjoying the deck and beach. Snorkeling isn't as good as we'd hoped right off the beach but there are tours that can take you out and it is supposed to be much better in areas immediately surrounding Placencia. Seine Bight is, indeed, a poverty stricken area but the people are lovely, The contrast between the haves and the have nots is more marked than we are accustomed to but, having traveled to other 3rd world countries, we came prepared for the disparity. Placencia is filled with small shops, restaurants of all stripes, and a pharmacy where the licensed pharmacist has a sign over the door that says "Nina Wallen, Registered Pharmacist, Licensed to sell Drugs and Poisons". You are definitely not in Kansas anymore!
We have had several wonderful dinners but our favorite was at the Quarterdeck.
Recommend you purchase bug spray for the sand flies, especially after a rain.
For the more active -there are bikes and kayaks. The family in the next unit has used them daily and their two very little boys love them!
This is not a place for partying, nor is it probably a location that college kids would seek out. More couple and family oriented, it is perfect for couples like us (in our 60s) or young families with children.
We would come back to the Mainestay in a heartbeat. There is absolutely nothing to complain about!

Room Tip: The single cottage can accommodate up to four people since there is a futon in the living room, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at the Mainstay January of 2011. I just read the negative reviews for the Mainstay. I can understand the frustration of being robbed. But, tourists need to be vigilate in protecting their property anywhere you travel. The beaches in Belize have a 60ft easement for public access. That's great for taking long walks down the beach. Our party of 4 loved the Mainstay Cabanas!! Everything was clean and comfortable for our stay. Drew and his staff were very helpful, from places to eat to purchasing a bike lock, so we could ride them into town to buy groceries. The beach was raked & sprayed for sand fleas twice duing our stay, making for a great game of horse shoes ON THE BEACH!! The covered, lighted dock/palapa was a favorite place to sip our morning coffee, then watch the sunset in the evening. This is perfect for a QUIET getaway to paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seine Bight Village, Belize
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The cabanas at Maine Stay have everything you have at home for comfort . Best beach and grounds . Home in Paradise . They can take a whole family or just a couple . If your looking in Placencia check them out . We had a wonderful time . Thanks Drew and Karen I will be back .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maine Stay Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maine Stay Cabanas

Address: Peninsula Rd, Placencia, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful cabana suites... each having a kitchen/dining cabana (with sleeping area) and a bedroom cabana (with laundry). Each suite has two bathrooms. Each suite has two cabanas connected by a pergola covered deck - perfect for alfresco dining and barbecuing. Although very affordable for one couple, each cabana suite will comfortably sleep six. Perfect for two couples traveling together or for children in a separate cabana. Very toddler friendly with gated decks fenced yard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Maine Stay Cabanas Hotel Placencia
The Maine Stay Cabanas Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maine Stay Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.