We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Maya Beach | Mile Marker 15, Placencia, Belize
+501 533-8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: International, Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Great food and wine and the best dining room views! We ate here 4 times in one week and could have done more. Loved the salads and the lobster tail.

Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food and service are so great that I have literally planned my vacation in Belize around The Bistro. They have amazing meals, wonderful happy hour specials, and a super friendly staff! My boyfriend heard me rave about The Bistro so much that he choose to propose there. We can't wait to go back!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lefty510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Lobster Grilled Cheese Sandwich Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great bloody Mary with a view of Paradise, awesome place, great customer service and a must stop going to or coming from Placencia.

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

You need to go at least once. This is about 15 minutes from Placencia Village but totally worth the drive. We went for dinner and every bite was delicious. My husband especially liked the Lobster Mac and Cheese. Wine selection was nice as well. If you go at night be careful driving to and from the Bistro as there are a lot people on the sides of the road sitting, walking and biking that are hard to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An epicurean delight in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

When you wish to treat yourself to a special meal, this is the place to come. The atmosphere, the food quality, and the wine selection are all outstanding.

My daughter who lives in Placencia considers this one of the best restaurants in the area. I plan to visit them when I return in September and look forward to the visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robinnm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing