We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Maya Beach | Mile Marker 15, Placencia, Belize
+501 533-8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes an 80-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Best breakfast and dinner we had in Belize! Right in the beach so you can watch the waves role in as you eat. We had the rehearsal dinner for my brother in law and they handled our large party with ease! All the food was excelent! As I recall I had the duck hash for breakfast next morning. I had to stop myself from licking the plate. All i can say is take your time and enjoy each bite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    85
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We didn't stay at Maya Beach but we did have the pleasure of eating there one 2 different occasions. The staff was very pleasant and very accommodating. Breakfast and lunch here was wonderful. The view of the ocean, absolutely picture perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Belize!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A very nice surprise if you have been traveling in Guatemala and Belize for a couple of weeks! We had lunch and dinner twice with a family of 4 and everything we tasted was excellent: seared tuna nachos, coconut shrimp, fish burger, seafood chowder hudut, yellowtail tacos, pizza shrimp/goat cheese and last but not least the amazing lobster tail. Modern Caribbean food with a spicy twist. Don't forget the mango cheesecake or key lime pie... Pricing is just right for the quality and service.
The hotel and beach house rentals around the Bistro are also highly recommended.
Start your dayat the beach with the freshly baked bagels and a yogurt smoothie.
Thanks Ellen, John and superb staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a local while I was on a business trip to Belize. What a pleasant surprise. It has a great beach setting that is a balance, of casual but special. I love finding restaurants that are local favorites because they don't cater to the tourists. This fits the bill perfectly.

The menu is varied and truly highlights the spices and fruits of Belize. I highly recommend the shrimp stuffed squid appetizer and the nut encrusted fish entree. The night I was there, the daily fish was snapper and it was perfectly cooked.

One of the locals told me I had to order dessert "or else you go to jail"! So I obliged by taking his recommendation. It was something like peanut brittle ice cream pie and it was incredibly delicious and indulgent.

Great service, spectacular food, comfortable setting, and right on the beach. A great night!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utila, Honduras
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Five-Star Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great service. Some of the best food I've eaten anywhere in the world. The watermelon-tomato salad, with a hint of cinnamon, was absolutely heavenly. Lovely beach, swimming pool and views. Don't miss going to this place if you're in the area!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.