We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Maya Beach | Mile Marker 15, Placencia, Belize
+501 533-8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes an 80-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
San Ignacio, Cayo, Belize
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I am a self proclaimed foody and I thoroughly enjoyed Maya Beach Bistro. They do an excellent job of marrying local ingredients with international style for flavor combinations that soar. My two favorite things were the chocolate souffle and the roasted garlic appetizer with goat cheese and sweet tomato cchutney and cripinis. Or maybe it was their fresh baguettes, chrunchy chewy bagels and the grilled fish with mango ber blanc, or maybe it was the.........

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    85
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It really is as good as everyone says”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We just stayed a week at the hotel, and thought we would be bored with the same menu every night. However, the menu has plenty of choice, all of which we wanted to try, plus the daily special which was always delicious. We are real "foodies", quite hard to please, but this restaurant really was a delight, with such fresh, flavourful, and well-presented dishes. If only the fishing had been more successful we would have booked next year's visit already!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Superb"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great food, awesome desert...Wow! The food is original, fresh and just really wholesome. The Aussie's have done a very nice job putting this restaurant together over the last 9 years.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A MUST GO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Do not visit Placencia without going to the Bistro in Maya Beach. Excellent food, great wine selection and don't forget the peanut brittle ice cream pie. An absolutely must go. Ellen and John will treat you well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unreal and we got sick too”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Maya Beach Bistro has a wonderful setting on the beach. We have stopped there for lunch a few times on our visit. We decided to stop again. We were a little later this time. The waitress gave us menus and we looked it over. We decided to order a combo of 3 items. So we picked out the 3 and she came over. One they were out of. So she gave us a few more minutes, Chose another one, she said,, is that still on the menu, we don't offer that anymore. so we just picked another one. She put our order in , then she came back t check if we wanted anything else and it was Happy Hour and the food on this menu was Happy Hour specials. Handed us another menu. Well this one had all of our choices put for 1/3 the price but she said it was too late to change and that she should have brought it before. We asked some questions about the selections on this menu but she did not have an answer, We asked her if she was new but she has been there 6 months. Anyway she brought the food and it was really not good at all. but we ate it as it was pricey. On our drive back to our place. we both started to get sick to our stomachs and ended up having this all night. We had pork ribs over pasta, 4 small ribs but they did not seem to be cooked thru and the pasta tasted like the juice, We had fish cakes with sauce to replace what they were out of and we had an cheese and fish soup. I am not sure what made us sick The portions are not large and we share this. But the service was not good, the food was not good, they were out of things, and we got sick. Too bad it is a nice beach.Plus t he flies were horrible. The owner walked by and never asked if we were ok or how everything was. !We were not happy at all plus we got sick.. Bad day. maybe they had a new cook

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.