We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on peninsula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Maya Beach | Mile Marker 15, Placencia, Belize
+501 533-8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 Restaurants in Placencia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes a 130-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food on peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Best menu in Placencia. Highlights include: tiny wonton taco shells filled with tuna tartare and wasabi guacamole, house made haloumi cheese and fried black olives, curried snapper, grouper with pineapple pico de gallo. Dessert: best chocolate souffle and also key lime pie.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    91
    26
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Depends what you compare it to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Solid restaurant, certainly very good by local standards. But Belize restaurants are not a high bar so dont expect "excellent" by standards at other more developed locations. Food was all good, service was also fine. But nothing really outstanding and a couple dishes just average. That said, if you are in Placencia and have an extra night (e.g. already eaten a couple times at Turtle Inn), Maya Beach Hotel Bistro is a good choice.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/INDIA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's located in the middle of the peninsula. An Inn that can accommodate about 30 people (beautiful view, beach) and an award winning bistro. Apparently the chef is Australian and has created some delicious dishes based on local favorites. The coconut shrimp were so big they looked like chicken legs! And TASTY! Yellowtail fish tacos in homemade taco shells were incredible. Handmade pizza for the 12 year old was better than most in the US. The staff were fun, friendly and quick. It's a little pricey so we just stopped in for appetizers and drinks and it turned out to be one of the food highlights of our trip to Belize!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I would visit Belize for their food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited the bistro for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (not all in the same day)! It was my first introduction to fry jacks (love them) and we had THE most amazing cinnamon roll with breakfast.
We were hooked the minute we stopped there and knew we would return. We did and dinner, then lunch were just as amazing and wonderful. Our server for dinner was so nice and attentive we felt as though we were his only customers. Put side-by-side with several other restaurants in the area, it excelled. Don't miss it if you find yourself in Placencia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yidocraze
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited several time and each time its been excellent. Great little place on the beach in Placencia. Definately a must visit fir a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.