We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maya Beach Hotel Bistro

Maya Beach Hotel Bistro
Maya Beach | Mile Marker 15, Placencia, Belize
+501 533-8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Contemporary, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We're certainly far from perfect, but we do try our best to create a winning experience for every single customer, whether they are hotel guests, Belizean neighbors or travelers staying at other hotels. Try pairing small plates with wines, choose from our creative main courses, or just enjoy some comfort food for breakfast or lunch. It's fun for us to meet new people and, well, just make them happy! Our casual beach bistro focuses on unique sauces and contemporary, tropical-themed flavor combinations while maintaining comfortable portions. Lots of fish and seafood. Bar service includes an 80-bottle wine list, local beer, rum drinks, and house specials. The outdoor atmosphere is casual so you can be comfortable in flip flops. Belize's "Restaurant of the Year" award was presented twice to the Bistro in June 2011 and May 2013.
yidocraze
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited several time and each time its been excellent. Great little place on the beach in Placencia. Definately a must visit fir a great meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    62
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanFrancisco
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

On the beach, breakfast! The shrimp and grits are amazing as is the cinnamon roll french toast.
We have also enjoyed the eggs benedict which is the best I have had anywhere! Really, anywhere!! Service is good and the owners make you feel like a friend.
Don't miss the duck sausage hash with a couple eggs on top. The food obviously speaks for
itself. We will be eating other meals here too, I'll keep you posted. BTW, prices are good too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food, atmosphere and service on the peninsula.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by a local and decided to make the somewhat long drive from Placencia. We were not let down, it was the nicest meal with the best service we had while in Belize. If you only have time for one restaurant while in the area, let this be the one.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good for a meal, but very rich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The setting of the restaurant is open air right on the beach, so quite relaxing. Reviews are wonderful, but I felt all meals were rich and a bit over worked. If you split, or keep to simpler items, you'll be able to taste the freshness.

I would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh bread!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great food, great service and fresh baked bread and cinnamon rolls you can buy and take to your room.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya Beach Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Maya Beach Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya Beach Hotel Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.