We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value. Authentic Creole Food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's

Omar's
East Sidewalk | Main Street, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cajun & Creole, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value. Authentic Creole Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A ramshackle little place on the "new main street" in Placencia, the food was very tasty, reasonably priced, and served in a good portion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    149
    53
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nothing fancy...but real!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

casual, outdoors, good food...apparently a place where the locals eat so you get a piece of where you would go if you lived there!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food/no alcohol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Three of us had a great meal at Omar's.

We all, pretty much, had the fresh fish with different preparations. I had a spicy curry style and it was absolutely delicious.

One note, Omar's does not serve alcohol, but they were cool with BYO.

Very reasonably priced compared to some of the other restaurants geared more toward tourists.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coconut Curry is divine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

They have fish, burgers and burritos - simple fare but delicious. We had lobster with a sauce of your choice and I must say the coconut curry is the best I have eaten for a long time. Prices are reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Yummy and very reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Came here on recommendation of the Westwind Hotel owner and can see why she liked it. I had grilled chicken which came with yellow rice with veggies stirred into it. The chicken was not spicy but savory with a lot of herbs and flavor. My companion had the Creole chicken, which was also grilled but came in an almost soup kind of bowl which had a very tasty sauce.

Unlike others, our server was attentive but not bothersome. The food was not fast but not slow to come out of the kitchen. The amount of food was not huge like ridiculous American size, but more European size. We were quite satisfied.

Total bill with a Coke and a Fresh lime juice was US$40-not bad at all for what we got.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.