We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing fancy...but real!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's

Omar's
East Sidewalk | Main Street, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 52 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nothing fancy...but real!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

casual, outdoors, good food...apparently a place where the locals eat so you get a piece of where you would go if you lived there!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    113
    41
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food/no alcohol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Three of us had a great meal at Omar's.

We all, pretty much, had the fresh fish with different preparations. I had a spicy curry style and it was absolutely delicious.

One note, Omar's does not serve alcohol, but they were cool with BYO.

Very reasonably priced compared to some of the other restaurants geared more toward tourists.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Coconut Curry is divine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

They have fish, burgers and burritos - simple fare but delicious. We had lobster with a sauce of your choice and I must say the coconut curry is the best I have eaten for a long time. Prices are reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Yummy and very reasonably priced!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Came here on recommendation of the Westwind Hotel owner and can see why she liked it. I had grilled chicken which came with yellow rice with veggies stirred into it. The chicken was not spicy but savory with a lot of herbs and flavor. My companion had the Creole chicken, which was also grilled but came in an almost soup kind of bowl which had a very tasty sauce.

Unlike others, our server was attentive but not bothersome. The food was not fast but not slow to come out of the kitchen. The amount of food was not huge like ridiculous American size, but more European size. We were quite satisfied.

Total bill with a Coke and a Fresh lime juice was US$40-not bad at all for what we got.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Great food and prices you get plenty of food and the prices are super reasonable. His milkshakes are famous !!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.