We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING seafood!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's

Omar's
East Sidewalk | Main Street, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING seafood!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Only place in town to get fresh crab. Our guides said we would not be sorry to go to Omar's...and they were right! Awesome crab and shrimp. They don't sell beer, though

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    116
    41
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were hoping for a nice seafood feast. The person who greeted us (could have been Omar himself?) was very friendly and enthusiastic. He talked us into ordering the seafood 5 ways (or something like that). The portion was huge, enough to share with two easily. We tried all three types of sauces. It smelled great while it was cooking!

It took a long time for it to arrive & after smelling it we were thinking we were really in for a treat. Everyone's was overcooked and somehow bland even though they were all covered in sauce. I tried putting a lot of hot sauce on it and that helped a bit. We each sampled each other's meals and everyone pretty much agreed that the meal was only ok.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh, well- prepared, and very reasonably priced... a winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

There were seven of us for dinner - I had the fresh-caught Snapper, prepared grilled with a light touch of coconut oil and onions. VERY tasty. Everyone in the family had similar praise for their meals. Served with the ubiquitous (in Placencia) Rice & beans and cole slaw (both very good), it was a very generous portion (both filets of the fish), and cooked to perfection.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Such delicious fish stews! We tried the creole and the Caribbean curry with some black grouper caught that day and both were utterly delicious. Our plates were embarrassingly clean. Also some great chocolate cake for dessert. Staff were very friendly and advised us where to buy beers across the road as they don't have a liquor license. Definitely going back before we leave!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Grouper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We had a great meal at Omar's. We heard he goes out & catches the fish, & we believed it. Very fresh fish! They do not serve liquor, but we didn't mind. Service was good & friendly. A very casual, local restaurant. I would tell friends to go to Omar's.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.