We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booya!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omar's

Omar's
East Sidewalk | Main Street, Placencia, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 56 Restaurants in Placencia
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
everywhere
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Booya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Omar, his family and staff are awesome...oh and the food is SO AWESOME!
and somehow the best prices in Placencia! this is because Omar catches it all himself!
You MUST Go here.
the atmosphere is simple. there is some really neat art up - done by one of Omar's sons.

after travelling ALL over Central America for over 6 weeks, this is our favorite food spot.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    116
    41
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Like most Marylander's I take my seafood seriously and the seafood at Omar's Creole Grub was out of this world and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We went to Omars a couple of times on our vacation of 12 days. The food was fantastic . more then I could eat. Omars does not sell alcohol but they do allow you to bring in drinks form the Barefoot bar next door. I think it was some type of curry shrimp, with coconut rice and beans , salad.. Fantastic..

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“don't have breakfast here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We had a really bad breakfast served by a very grumpy guy here. My 3 year old couldn't even get him to crack a smile... and process cheese omlettes??

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville, Indiana
2 reviews
“Not Recomended”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were told by locals what the price was on a Lobster Dinner at Omars. (they ate there the previous 2 nights) and when we showed up Omar was very Rude and gave us higher prices. When I asked him about it he got very nasty and told us to go somewhere else if we did not like his prices. I dont know why we stayed, but we did and the food was horrible. Walk North a couple hundred yards to the grocery store and you could probably find dog food that tastes better.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omar's also viewed

 
Placencia, Stann Creek
Placencia, Stann Creek
 

Been to Omar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omar's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.