We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful slice of Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Placencia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows
Save
You added Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows to your Saves list
23 Maya Beach Way, Placencia, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful slice of Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We landed at Placencia airport to find Bill waiting for us with Scurvy, the resident retriever. Arriving at our bungalow, we found it to be exactly as advertised- cosy, quiet, and right on a beautiful stretch of tranquil beach.

Bill and Adriane were helpful and friendly, even picking up groceries to stock our fridge prior to our arrival. Area tours were easily arranged with their assistance, and they gave great advice on which tours to take and which could be done on our own. There are a couple of decent restaurants nearby (and one great one).

Maya Beach is at the quieter end of the peninsula- those looking for late-night bars may be better off in Placencia proper, but for a quiet retreat Barnacle Bill's was perfect. Hammocks, warm water, and cold beer were all we needed for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

This was our first stay at B B. It was very rustic, filled with the flavor of Placencia. There are 2 bungalows spaced apart enough for privacy. Beautiful landscaping with your very own private beach. We fed the chuckaluka's (?) bananas every morning. Bill and Adrienne live on the grounds and sees to your every need. He will even cook for you if you which. They will pick you up at the airport and grocery shop for you if you wish. Kayaks are provided.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

right on the beach,kitchens and a great place to relax. the rooms were clean and had every thing we needed. spent a great 4 days there before we had to leave to drive to costa rica.
we needed to recharge and this was the place to do it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We visited Maya Beach on the Placencia peninsula for ten wonderful days and stayed at Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows. What drew us to this relaxing venue was owner Adriane Taylor's fantastic coorespondance and help with travel plans BEFORE we even arrived. Knowing that her customer service was outstanding, we knew we were in for a nice, relaxing vacation.

Owners Adriane and Bill Taylor are a laid back couple, who were able to connect us with the right travel plans and tours. After arriving at their bungalows, and realizing that we essentially had the beach to ourselves, we chose to spend more time at BBBB than expected. In our ten days of visiting, we were amazed at how quiet and private the beach was.

With two complimentary kayaks, and snorkel gear, we were able to see great marine life right off the beach, or a quick paddle away. BBBB was within walking distance of some great little food places, markets and beach bars. This truly was a great location to unwind and unplug from our hectic lives.

Adriane and Bill had sent us a grocery list before we arrived, and stocked our fridge with food items and fantastic Belikin Beer and One Barrel Rum - a great way to unwind after a long journey. The property had nice ammenities, including a grill - in addition to an in-bungalow cook stove. This self accomodating bungalow was outfittted with everything we needed, including requisite hammock and stereo! ;)

For folks who are against corporate run hotels this small, simple bungalow will provide everything that you need with comfortable and cozy accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast,queensland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

I looked at many places in placencia online before discovering Bills and it is always a hard choice unless u have been there before to see what u like. After spending nearly 2 weeks at bills it was exactly what I was looking for. Dont stay in Placencia town if u want privacy and Bills is only a short drive away to visit. Bills in a fantastic spot with vacant lots on both sides of the property set on a well kept palm tree, white sand quiet beach. A short beach walk away is some great little beach bars ,a store and some quality little restaurants. The place is very kick back so dont imagine side walks along the beach with shops everywhere it is really a shorts and flip flops 24/7 style place with no high rises and masses of people it feels nice and remote. The 2 cabins are very cosy and clean with everything u need including cooking facilities which came in handy after taking the kayak out each morning and comming back with some fresh fish.
Bill and Adriane were very helpfull with all our needs arranging tours ,giving local info and also gave quick response to emails prior to arriving. They gave me a great deal and the price was more than reasonable.They are a very relaxed cool couple and give plenty of space to enjoy there little piece of paradise.
Placencia is a fantastic place to holiday with so many things to do and see or a great place to do nothing . I have nothing negative to say about barnacle bills and highly recommend staying there to anyone heading to Placencia .I really needed this holiday and staying there was a huge part of making this holiday one of my best!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cripple Creek, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

My husband and I have stayed with Bill and Adriane Taylor four times now and have enjoyed every minute of every stay. We stayed at Barnacle Bill's this last time with another couple who had a very quick, quaint exchange of vows at sunrise on the 29th of May. Bill and Adriane were both up early to be a part of this ceremony. The two identical bungalows are comfortable and clean. We were able to cook a few meals in the small kitchen. There is a full size refrigerator in each bungalow which the Taylors will fill with whatever groceries you ask them to ahead of time. We had a cold case of beer waiting when we arrived! To get to Maya Beach, we have always rented a car in Belize City and driven down south. The trip is worth it if you haven't been on the Hummingbird Highway. During our last trip there was some weather which altered our plans. We were to drive to the Dangriga area on the way to our next destination. However, Bill informed us about the bridge being washed out. He was more than helpful in arranging flights out and helping us take care of our rental car. Bill and Adriane are very helpful and friendly, yet unintrusive. Without thier help, we don't know how the rest of our vacation might have ended. We enjoy sitting on Bill's beach and relaxing, We also enjoy walking along the beach with Scurvy their dog (and escort to the local pubs). I highly recommend giving this establishment a shot on your next vactation. I will post a few pictures; however, I recommend going to Barnacle Bill's web site to see some of the amazing pictures Bill has posted.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the people all around this area, and the beach!
  • Disliked — It is a bit of a bumpy drive to go into the nearest town, but worth the trip.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows

Address: 23 Maya Beach Way, Placencia, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Placencia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Placencia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnacle Bill's has two bungalows on the beach, fully screened, queen size bed, sleeper sofa, two ceiling fans, floor fan, and full kitchens. Both bungalows are on stilts to help catch the sea breeze and enjoy the view of the Caribbean Sea. Our bungalows are self-accommodating. We provide you with all your needed supplies like sheets, towels and beach towels. Your kitchen comes equipped with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, two-burner stove, coffee maker, complimentary coffee, blender, cooking utensils, sugar, salt, pepper, and spices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barnacle Bill`s Beach Bungalows Hotel Placencia
Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows Belize/Placencia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bill's Beach Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.