We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredible island escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Plum Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Plum Island Resort
Save
You added Coco Plum Island Resort to your Saves list
Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dangriga
Galveston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An incredible island escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

For those looking for a secluded, peaceful, yet beautiful island resort, Coco Plum has much to offer.
Just off the coast from Dangriga this small island was easliy accessible from Belize City. With many excursions, and activities to do, you can partake, or just relax. The water was gorgeous with lots of marine life. It's remote and quiet which is really a nice change from large, busy resorts. Not enough can be said of the incredible staff who are always attentive and very friendly - they were simply AMAZING and made the trip. The food was very good and it was neat to sample some traditional Belizian dishes. Every meal was yummy! The cabanas are cute, private, and well appointed. The balcony was a fun place to hang out in the am and evening.
Coco Plum is perfect for couples on their honeymoon, or for families wishing to rent several cabanas.
A perfect Belizian getaway.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    17
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
362
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Coco Plum is awesome! The island is breathtaking. The views, the water, everyhing is picture perfect. The staff were some of the friendliest people I've ever met. The manager was very accomodating and kept us informed all the time. They also have the best bartender ever! (Thanks George!) The restaurant service and food was exceptional! Wonderful authentic meals and service I wish I got in the U.S.! We did several snorkeling trips and 2 inland trips. (we were supposed to do 3 inland trips, but we decided to go snorkeling instead that day and it was no big deal...very flexible) We also went diving. This I would totally recommend. We saw turtles, rays, tons of coral and fish. The best thing about Coco Plum is that the staff really gets to know you and I didn't just feel like any other guest or just a possible tip. They knew our names by the end of the first day and really got to know us. It felt like a family! We also got to know most of the other people on the island well and had alot of fun with them. (There were only 15 people staying on the island including us!) Awesome place! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Staff was extremly friendly; the island was beautiful. It was a very small resort that catered to the needs of all of the guests very well.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife and I selected Coco Plum Island Resort for our honeymoon destination due to the ease of accessibility from Dallas, Texas, as well as the great reviews we found here on Trip Advisor. And while I did not have enough time to do the level of research I normally do for our trips, I picked Coco Plum from all of Belize because it offered something very unique- a private adult experience with the ocean at your doorstep.

Let me just say upfront that Coco Plum Island went beyond anything we have experienced in all of our travels…from landing in a small one runway airport, to boarding a puddle jumper, and off onto a boat ride to Coco Plum Cay- it feels like you are closer to the Amazon basin instead of just 3 hours from Texas!

Our first observation was the boat ride from Dangria into Coco Plum- while enjoyable; it was a little choppy, so dress accordingly and be prepared to get wet. We made the boat ride to and from the mainland about 4 times during our stay and only one ride coming in from Hopkins was really challenging. Needless to say our Captains, Francisco and Robert, took good care of us and made sure of that as we made our way.

The natural beauty of Coco Plum is on display as your boat approaches the island. You can see the private stretch of deserted beach on the far end of the island as well as the magnificent mangroves on the mainland side. You dock right at the outdoor bar which overlooks some beautiful white sand and palm trees and from there you can see the brightly colored cabanas which overlook the amazing ocean views.

The private nature of the island and the superb staff are what has put Coco Plum Island Resort into our list of most romantic trips.
Andrew, the resort manager, went out of his way to make our stay incredibly successful. He welcomed us with the most friendly smile, arranged a special spa trip for my wife on the mainland, and even went so far as to accommodate several couples, leaving early that week, with a scheduling conflict to the Mayan Ruins. And as often as we hear the phrase….a manager is only as good as his people, much can be said about the staff at Coco Plum. They are simply amazing people…in fact, Shamir went out of her way to fulfill a special coffee request we made; George did an amazing job preparing delicious mango daiquiris for us; Samuel organized a truly romantic seaside dinner table and Mrs. Jude and Mrs. Sue…..truly gifted in the kitchen! Those two ladies took real good care us ….even accommodating my request for a little more food and a sandwich substitution for lunch one day. Needless to say we got to know the staff during our stay at Coco Plum and found them to be a true representation of the Belizean people; friendly, hard working, and happily content to be living in such a beautiful country.

The activities provided at Coco Plum are fantastic and plentiful. You can choose to just hang out- taking in the incredible views, kayak, fish, snorkel, take romantic walks, awake to the beautiful sunrise, or venture off to the mainland and tour the Mayan ruins/tube down the Sittee River. On a personal note, I would have to say that the snorkeling was incredible - given that the island sits only about 10 minutes away from the 2nd largest barrier reef. Our superb guide, Crispin was very knowledgeable and worked well with everyone, even those with less snorkeling experience.

A final word- while it may be true that Coco Plum Island Resort is not for everyone, due to its lack of high thread count linens or high end bathroom products, I will say that it is an experience of a lifetime, one that we will highly recommend to our family/friends, and one that we will return to enjoy!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Coco Plum Island Resort is a wonderful vacation destination for anyone who enjoys active, adventurous vacations offset by relaxing on a gorgeous private beach in your down time. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Coco Plum - we took a tour to the Cockscomb River Basin Jaguar Preserve, hiked the Belizean moist broad-leaf forest, and tubed down a crystal clear river. We snorkeled the coral reef - only about fifteen minutes by boat from the island - and saw numerous rays, vibrantly colored fish, barracuda, a nurse shark and even a Moray eel! The manager, Andrew, and his staff were very friendly, super helpful and did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was neat, clean and was tidied by the staff on a daily basis. We also enjoyed meeting the other couples staying on the island and always found the communal bar and dining areas to be fun and convivial. Ultimately, Coco Plum Island is a wonderful choice for anyone interested in combining the best Belize has to offer - adventure, history, beaches, water sports, and relaxing with outstanding food and drink close to hand. We look forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Coco Plum Island Resort offers a lot to anyone looking for a unique experience. It is beautiful, quiet and secluded which makes it very magical and romantic. The staff were exceptional and made the time we spent at Coco Plum very special. The meals were superb and we were able to try local recipes. We enjoyed snorkeling, kayaking, and swimming in crystal clear water. We even walked through the sea to a nearby island to observe wildlife there. We had plenty to do but chose to indulge in the ambiance of the island and did not take any of the excursions that were offered. We are already making plans to return next year. We would like to thank Andrew, the manager and the entire staff for making our vacation very memorable. Sandy and Jerry

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

We just happen to come across Coco Plum during our search for a Carribean get-away and we found the perfect spot!! The island was absolutely amazing and the staff was equally as great. The staff was so helpful and knew your name, eating/drinking preferrance, etc after just a few hours and were very courteous and friendly. The island was very well kept and offered sereveal activities such as kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, pool, darts...you name it, they had it or can make it happen for you!! The mainland tours were fun and very interesting to see. Snorkeling was breath-taking and always offered tons of fish and coral to see - we were never disappointed. Thanks for Coco Plum for making this a trip of a lifetime! We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Plum Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Plum Island Resort

Address: Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Plum is an exclusive, romantic sixteen acre private island resort located off the coast of Southern Belize with ten ocean-front cabanas offering a completely unique island experience. Guests choose from a variety of island activities including diving, swimming, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking. Additionally, our All-inclusive packages incorporate trips to the mainland to visits to Mayan ruins, hikes in the rainforest hike and tours to a wildlife sanctuary. Come to your own little piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Plum Island Hotel Dangriga
Hotel Coco Plum Island
Coco Plum Island Resort Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Plum Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.