We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation to Date!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Plum Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Plum Island Resort
Save
You added Coco Plum Island Resort to your Saves list
Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dangriga
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Vacation to Date!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Although this review is almost a year overdue, this vacation was memorable that the gap in time doesn't matter.

Initially, I stumbled upon this resort looking for something unique, private, tropical, all-inclusive and affordable for our honeymoon. Coco Plum met and exceeded all of those criteria.

We originally planned to get married in Las Vegas but quickly altered our plans once we realized it was cheaper to get married on the island. How can you beat that? Furthermore, they were even able to cater to us by offering a secular ceremony :-). That isn't even easily obtainable in our own country (we live in Texas).

Staff was excellent!!! In general, the people of Belize are very warm and relaxed. Special props to Byron.

Cabanas were clean, comfortable and as private as advertised. Nothing beat walking out the door to the ocean each morning. Food was very decent and filled us up. No complaints. However, if you're the type that gets excited by the phrase "all you can eat" or "buffet", you won't be impressed. Local beer is very decent. Also, if you go on any of the excursions, they will stop and Dangriga and let you purchase fruit (bananas recommended) to make special drinks at the island bar.

Beach was fine and although I was super paranoid about "noseeum's", I got maybe one bug bite the whole time and quit using bug spray after the first day. Bring water shoes to walk over to the neighboring islands - also - don't buy cheap ones (like we did) or you'll end up with blisters.

Loved the Mayan ruins tour and hike at wildlife sanctuary. Don't miss out on those. I didn't like the snorkeling, but that was more of a personal preference than the quality of the tour.

Our wireless internet worked fine from the red cabana (which is one of the farthest from the office/bar area). We brought a laptop to check the news and watch movies at night.

Our wedding was awesome and exactly what we wanted - very initimate low key. At our request, they even had drummers! Probably the best part was dinner on the beach in the same spot we got married.

Bottom line - if you're looking to just hang out and relax with few diversions, this is for you. All you need is a minimal amount of clothes, sunscreen and books.

Thank you Coco Plum for making our wedding and honeymoon so awesome. We will be back within the next few years.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    18
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
447
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We had a great time!

It took us a couple of weeks to come down from our 10 day vacation at Coco Plum Island Resort. I believe all our expectations were met or exceeded. The staff was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent, and the cabanas were comfortable. The excursions were fun and informative. A shout out to some of the staff; Lyndon our bartender who kept our drink glasses full, Andres for his outstanding service as our waiter and fill-in bartender; Miss Susan and Miss Gloria for the great dishes they created; Robert our boat captain, who got us to and from safely and on-time; Crispin our snorkeling guide who showed us the undersea wonders; the grounds staff, Austin, George, Erik, and Rahjew. Please excuse the spelling of your names. They kept the grounds immaculate, helped us with our things, had the most enjoyable conversations, and even provided me with island guided fishing (Thanks Rahjew); Byron, our knowledgeable inland guide who showed us Mayan ruins, the jungle wildlife preserve, and a pretty good place to get ice cream. We observed and realized that Coco Plum doesn’t run itself. We credit that to their manager Richard. He was attentive (despite his workload) and let us know all that was going on. I also wanted to thank my fly fishing guide Steve. We never hooked up on that permit, but he put me on fish and I did manage to hook and land several bonefish. All in all, we would highly recommend Coco Plum Resort. It was not a high frills type resort, which we did not want, but it was comfortable and relaxing. I should mention also that the guests also made for a great trip. Most of them were newlyweds. Congratulations and good luck to all of you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet getaway that is able to completely revive your mind, body, and soul, this is the place for you.

My husband and I don't like a lot of people so this was perfect for us. I will touch on a few of the important points:

STAFF: AMAZING! Mr. Crispin is your snorkel guide and is an all-around GREAT guy! He'll get in the water with you, point out things you would never see on your own, and is always similing. He made the snorkeling trips a major highlight of our trip. Raymond was our waiter all week and always served us with a smile and was polite and very nice. He made mealtimes a true joy. Andrew is the manager there and for being the newbie on the island he does an amazing job of keeping things running smoothly.

ROOMS: I consider myself a motel snob. These rooms exceeded my standards for cleanliness. They are literally squeaky clean. They actually MOP your deck every day so it is clean too! Don't be expecting an expensive marble bathroom here...this is necessities only in the bathroom.

BEACH: The beach area is combed every day. It is beautiful but is not the soft powdery stuff you see other places. It is clean and beautiful...that is what mattered to us.

FOOD: I honestly don't know how someone could write a bad review on the food. Miss Sue is the cook and EVERYTHING we ate was amazing. This is by far the best food we have EVER had on vacation...but do yourself a favor. Go with an open mind. There are only 20 people on this island when it is full. She cooks one thing for supper. If you are a picky eater let them know ahead of time EVERYTHING you don't eat so they can accomodate you...or better yet...find a sense of adventure and try the food anyway...chances are, you will love it. She is an amazing cook!

The resort is top-notch. We loved it. The local air flight getting there was a mess. Don't expect timely departure either from Belize City to Dangriga or Dangriga to Belize City. The company we traveled with was completely unorganized...we waited three and a half hours to get a flight to Dangriga and on the way to Belize City (when we had a connecting flight) our flight out of Dangriga was an hour late...word to the wise...plan extra time....a lot of extra time.

By the way...this is the best snorkeling we have ever experienced. We also did the "Discover Scuba" class which was well worth it. My husband and I decided we are going to get certified and return to Belize again...the diving was THAT good! Steve is the Dive Master there and he's going to open his own shop in Tobacco Caye in February...he was a great instructor if you find yourself there, you might look him up if you would like a dive guide or for some great instruction. :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

My wife and I traveled to Coco Plum for our Honeymoon and could not have selected a better resort. We had five nights at Coco Plum followed by four nights traveling the country via rental car. So it was important that the first half of our honeymoon be as relaxing and enjoyable as possible as we were off for an adventure upon leaving.
After a fun 30 min flight from Belize City to Dangriga (on a very small plane!) we were driven to meet Captain Robert for the 20 min or so boat ride to the island. We new as we headed out to sea with an amazing sunset lighting up the sky behind us that this was going to be amazing!
Upon arrival we were met by Byron and some of the other staff and guests and were immediately offered a tropical cocktail. Our luggage was immediately taken to our cabana and we were left to unwind and meet some of the other guests and simply take in the warm breeze and unbelievable setting.

Without writing 5 pages of how great our stay was (because I could) I will simply thank all of the staff especially Byron, Raymond (who makes every meal a five star experience), Capt. Robert, Miss Sue (the meals were fantastic), George (climbing a palm tree and giving everyone a coconut to drink!) Crispin (for the best snorkeling!), Rigo (our bartender who told the funniest stories and really made the bar hilarious) and truly everyone else on the island that makes it amazing! A special thanks has to be said to Byron who runs the show. He really is an amazing guy that makes sure that everything is perfect. And a very special thank you to Raymond who took care of our private honeymoon dinner. It was a very special night and you really took care of us!

From our arrival to departure we could not wait to write our review. We have made friends with the guests and the staff that will be remembered forever. We hope to return as soon as we can and hope that nothing changes on Coco Plum- It was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Let me statrt this off by saying the my wife and I had never traveled outside of the US befor this trip so we were very nervous. I had done an obsurd amount of research on Coco Plum and the surrounding areas, so I thought I knew what I was getting into, but words can not describe the experience we had. From the sunset boat ride from Dangriga to the island on the first night, to climbing the ruins, to the final boat ride away from the island, everything was perfect.

The cabanas were very clean and kept that way every day. The guys that painstakingly rake the island from sun up to sun down to a great job, especially George, aka Teddy Bear. Raymond's service at all 3 meals is top notch. Miss Sue's food is to die for (The last thing I expected on the island was a full on Thanksgiving dinner!). Robert driving those boats through swells that I would have never gone out in myself. Crispin is the best fishing and snorkeling guide around. And Byron making sure that we were always comfortable and always had everything we needed, be it from the bar or the mainland!

I titled this review "Life Changing Experience" for a reason. The resort was beautiful and the service was top notch, but I think what we came away from this plave, and this country with, are friends. The people are incredibly friendly, not just on the island but everywhere. To everyone we met at Coco Plum Island Resort, thank you for opening your island and your hearts to us. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

A great little secret nestled off the coast of Belize! Well orginized from the arrival to departure. Staffed with the greatest, most caring and warm individuals. Wonderful place for alone time, but yet there are plenty of great get aways for fun and adventure. I plan a return trip already!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Coco Plum was the most amazing place we have ever been... There are no worries about anything there. An experienced and attentive staff, from the manager down to the help who maintain the island, everything is unbelievable. There are no keys... and you don't have to worry about anything. Meals were second to none, and the ameneties on the island were fabulous. The inland tours were well arranged, and our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about everything we went to see...
To put it quickly, if you want an adventure, then Coco Plum is the place to go!
Fishing, snokeling, diving, hiking, culture. It is all at Coco Plum!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangriga
0.5 mi away
Thatch Caye Resort
Thatch Caye Resort
#1 of 1 in Coco Plum Cay
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
10.4 mi away
Parrot Cove Lodge
Parrot Cove Lodge
#4 of 12 in Hopkins
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Turneffe Island Resort
Turneffe Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Turneffe Island
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Chaleanor Hotel
Chaleanor Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dangriga
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
23.7 mi away
Maya Beach Hotel
Maya Beach Hotel
#3 of 20 in Placencia
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
13.4 mi away
Belizean Dreams
Belizean Dreams
#2 of 12 in Hopkins
5.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Plum Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Plum Island Resort

Address: Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Plum is an exclusive, romantic sixteen acre private island resort located off the coast of Southern Belize with 14 ocean-front cabanas offering a completely unique island experience. Guests choose from a variety of island activities including diving, swimming, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking. Additionally, our All-inclusive packages incorporate trips to the mainland to visit Mayan ruins, Aerial Trek Zip line/Repelling above the Belize rainforest and Cave Tubing down our Rivers or visit the Belize Zoo and observe animals indigenous to Belize. Come indulge in your private island paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coco Plum Island Hotel Dangriga
Hotel Coco Plum Island
Coco Plum Island Resort Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Plum Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.