We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Plum Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coco Plum Island Resort
Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Dangriga
Murrieta, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The best vacation of my life! My husband and I were there for New Year's Eve which was also our 10th anniversary. I can't speak highly enough about the entire staff. Everyone knows who you are the moment you step off the boat, and they always have a smile (Sam has the biggest smile on the island) :-) Fun, fun group of people to hang out with and they do like to have fun here. Snorkeling ( the best with Crispen), kayaking, volleyball, zip lining, cave tubing, hammock reading or napping in your cozy cabana...do as much or as little as you please. The other couples visiting with us were great and made it even more special. We have new friends to chat with and share photos of this amazing little island. And the food, we loved every single meal! The bar, where everyone congregates, was a blast thanks to Sergio, Leo and Ervin!

In short, I cried like a baby the day we left! Go, you will love it!

Room Tip: There's only 10 cabanas, I can only speak of ours which was one of the newest. It hasn't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    15
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
310
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent a week at Coco Plum and it was more than we had expected. The staff is amazing and went out of their way to make us comfortable. We went on many snorkel trips to the reef and it was the best snorkeling I have ever done. You can also just relax and choose to do nothing but lay in the sun, which some days was excatly what we wanted to do. The cabanas are updated and clean. The food is home cooking and we were rarely hungry between meals, but the happy hour snacks at the bar were nice! Whether it was relaxing at the end on the dock and working on our tan, or snorkeling at reef we had a great time! We will go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon and it was the best vacation we have ever had! The resort location is absolutely beautiful! The accommodations were spotless and well appointed. The staff members were all very personable, professional, & accommodating! The excursions were scheduled well and lots of fun. There was ample time for relaxation and activities. The food was always wonderful, ample portions, and presented well. I cannot say enough good things about this location. We are planning on returning soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

They really do live up to their reputation for incredible service. The atmosphere is excellent and with so few bungalows on the island, you never feel crowded, so the staff seem to cater to you alone. They're always up for entertainment if you're looking to do something, whether it's a game of beach volleyball, horse shoes, or a good old crab race at night (lol). My wife was pregnant during our stay and they bent over backwards to ensure some of her odd food aversions were accounted for. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and cool at night and all face the morning sunrise. No better way to wake up in my opinion.

They make the extra effort in whatever they do and we'd go back in a minute if the opportunity presents itself again. Highly recommended !!!

Room Tip: The 2nd or 3rd bungalows are best situated in my opinion. We stayed in the 2nd. Close to the bar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Our large extended family of 21 spent Thanksgiving week at Coco Plum. We have been lucky enough to spend that holiday week in many great places, but Coco Plum is the first we have unanimously decided to return to. From the adventure of getting there to Rudy's welcome drinks, Crispin, Francisco and Rojo's fabulous snorkeling adventures, the friendly and expert service at both the bar and the restaurant, the excellent upkeep and the great offsite trips, this was a perfect fit for our group and a glorious respite from advancing winter. The island is peaceful without ever being boring and utterly gorgeous, the cabanas are placed for privacy without being isolated, the food was very good (with a full Thanksgiving dinner, complete with turkey!), the staff so very friendly, efficient and accomodating without being overbearing - in short, of all the places we have been, this is the one that sets the standard for perfection. Thanks so much, Coco Plum! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a week at Coco Plum Island Resort because I was really tired and stressed out, and it sounded as if it would be quiet and restorative. That's exactly what it was. The island is small and carefully groomed. There are just one or two activities scheduled per day, such as a snorkeling trip and a fishing expedition. The staff are all truly helpful and lovely people. In particular, I'd like to say how good Rojo was during the snorkeling trips, as he was aware of exactly where each person was in the water and whether anyone needed assistance.
The food ranged from ok to excellent. There was no choice of entrees, although anyone with allergies or food restrictions would get a different meal if appropriate (e.g., chicken instead of shrimp). I was quite happy with the range of meals and the size of the portions. There were snacks available between meals, but I never tried them.
Our cabana was very comfortable. The bed was lovely, and there was a large, beautiful, tiled bathroom. The living room had a futon-type sofa that worked well for reading/napping, and the porch had a hammock and chairs that encouraged sitting and enjoying the lovely view of the water. My impression is that all of the cabanas were rather similar, although ours was one of the new ones and had a kitchenette that most others didn't have and that was really totally irrelevant since there was no place to buy food.
In the evening, eagle rays swim around close to the pier where the bar and restaurant are located. The floor show!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Coco Plum for 10 days in December. Or, let me correct that, we stayed with CP for 8 days and at their sister resort Belizean Dreams for 2. Both were amazing resorts. Coco Plum is a small island with an incredibly personalized staff. Everyone goes out of their way to know your name and use it on every occasion. Most of the guests are newlyweds, so every couple does their own thing and it is very quiet, private, and serene.

We were concerned that we would not have anything to do on the island for so long, but quickly figured out that you aren't SUPPOSED to do anything. Relaxation is the key, and swinging in a hammock watching the frigatebirds or floating face-down in the water (ie snorkeling) can be the most strenuous things you do all day. My husband read books, which he never does. And he ENJOYED it!

The food is really great. You don't have a menu to select from - the choice is made for you and the cooks provide amazing meals each time. We had many familiar foods prepared in wonderful ways, and were able to try some things which were not familiar.

We also decided that the staff is more than willing to figure out ways to provide whatever you want. Want to go to town? Sure. We are going in to pick up supplies and you can go with us! Want to move to the other resort so you can see other things on the mainland? Sure! We'll make that happen. And here is one for the record books. Want to have a guide take you to Cockscomb Basin Jaguar Preserve with no advance notice on Christmas Day? No problem. He will be here in a few minutes to pick you up, spend the entire day touring you around, and won't charge you an arm and a leg. Unannounced on Christmas Day!!! And they pulled it off! Now that is service.

Room Tip: The new cabanas, which are farthest from the restaurant, are the best. They are bigger, have a kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coco Plum Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Plum Island Resort

Also Known As:
Coco Plum Island Hotel Dangriga
Coco Plum Island Hotel
Hotel Coco Plum Island
Coco Plum Island Resort Belize/Dangriga
Address: Coco Plum Caye, Dangriga, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Plum is an exclusive, romantic sixteen acre private island resort located off the coast of Southern Belize with ten ocean-front cabanas offering a completely unique island experience. Guests choose from a variety of island activities including diving, swimming, snorkeling, fishing, kayaking. Additionally, our All-inclusive packages incorporate trips to the mainland to visits to Mayan ruins, hikes in the rainforest hike and tours to a wildlife sanctuary. Come to your own little piece of paradise. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Plum Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coco Plum Island Resort to your Saves list