We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puddles, Potholes and Best Johnny Cakes Ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hopkins Inn

Hopkins Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hopkins Inn
Save Saved
You added Hopkins Inn to your Saves list
Dangriga, Belize   |  
Ranked #2 of 4 Dangriga B&B and Inns
Dawson Creek
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Puddles, Potholes and Best Johnny Cakes Ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed in Hopkins for three nights. Hopkins Inn was easy to find, and as it is in near the middle of the village, a good spot to explore from. This inn is owner-operated and very well run. The cabana was clean, the bar fridge was much appreciated and the plumbing worked fine, which is a real bonus in Belize. Our stay coincided with a rainy cold front, so other than the quick dip in the ocean on the afternoon of our arrival, no swimming for us. We explored the village by foot and as the main road became a quagmire in the heavy rain, we rented a golf cart and splashed through puddles and met many locals who were friendly and liked to explain what they did for a living. We bought johnny cakes straight from the outdoor oven from Miss Gail's, a warm treat on a cool day. While the weather was cool, the people were warm, and Hopkins Inn was a secure, central home base. Sleep quality was rated low because of neighbour's rooster, but heck, just about everywhere we stayed had a wake-you-up-way-before dawn rooster. All in all, a good stay and good spot to explore from. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Hopkin's Inn made our entire Belize trip. Rita and Greg are fantastic hosts who do everything possible to make your stay perfect and provide endless information for trips and excursions. The rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable, the location and beach are pure paradise, the breakfasts are fantastic, and Hopkin's village is such a friendly spot and authentic in everyway. We would not hesitate to make a return visit to Hopkins and to Hopkins Inn and highly recommend the Hopkins Inn to anyone visiting Belize.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

We choose to stay at Hopkins Inn for our Honeymoon. We wanted to experience the village as well as have some quality alone time. The cabana was right on the beach. The breeze from the ocean was amazing at night. Who would have ever thought I could be without internet and television. Well I didn't miss it at all. Every morning Rita brought us our breakfast, we had great talks with Rita and Greg. It was a pleasurable experience. I have vowed to return regularly. The locals were all pleasant and friendly! The taste of india resturaunt next door was delicious! I am glad to be one of those people who could enjoy the simple life!!! Beach, Hammocks, Fruits, and Fish!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

We stayed for two nights at Hopkins Inn the last week of June 2009. I was somewhat apprehensive because I knew there was no air conditioning and that the weather would be hot. Rita was great in helping me decide if it would work for us. As it turned out, we loved Hopkins Inn. With fans and it's beach location, it was comfortable. Rita and Greg were so helpful in their recommendations for restaurants and local guides. Amazingly, there was an excellent Indian restaurant right on the beach next door to Hopkins Inn. Rita and Greg lined us up with wonderful guides for snorkeling and a visit to the rainforest. After a several day visit to a nearby Island, we were ready to come back to Hopkins Inn but they were already booked. It was a great vacation and we highly recommend Hopkins Inn. If resorts are what you like, this may not be for you. But if you like to be in contact with the people of the country, with comfortable, clean, and basic accommodation located feet from the ocean with a wonderful view, intelligent and helpful owners who appreciate and know the country, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

If you are planning a trip to Belize, it would be a terrible shame not to include HOPKINS as a part of your visit. The people in Hopkins are so genuinely kind and friendly. 4 in 5 people will greet you when you are walking down the street.

Hopkins Inn was our favorite accommodation in all of Belize. We highly recommend Hopkins Inn over the way more expensive resorts which are quite far from the actual center of town. Greg and Rita were incredibly helpful and served an amazing breakfast of warm breads, cheese, preserves and fresh cut fruit. We loved sitting on our verandah and looking at the lovely Caribbean sea.
What a deal for $60 bucks a night! Also, be sure to eat Indian food at the restaurant next door and to hang out at King Kassava's in the town square.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uttoxeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Best location - Hopkins and Hopkins Inn real character village lovely cabanas right on beach good breakfast
Best tour - Orange Walk to Lamanai up river with Reyes and sons best day out if you are short of time in Belize this tour covers everything except the coast.al area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed 5 nights at Hopkins Inn in March 2007. It was sparkling clean, with lovely breakfasts served on the veranda each morning. Rita was extremely helpful as a host, and not intrusive. Our double was huge, with a fridge and dining table, and another bed. The two room, four person cabin was a bit tight for two adults and two kids, but excellent value.

The beach is lovely, with great swimming. We made day trips to Toucan Sittee, Mayflower Reserve, and Cockscomb Basin (lovely tubing down the river) -- each is less than an hours' drive.
Hopkins Village is a small, laid back tropical town, very friendly. The restaurants are all on tropical time with slow service and unpredictable hours, but generally very good food at great prices. The Indian restaurant was very good, when it was open!

  • Liked — right on a beautiful stretch of beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hopkins Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopkins Inn

Address: Dangriga, Belize
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dangriga
Also Known As:
Hopkins Hotel Dangriga
Hopkins Inn Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopkins Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.