We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly owner, nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D's Hostel

D's Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dangriga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
D's Hostel
Save
You added D's Hostel to your Saves list
Cnr. Mahogany Street & Sharp Street, Dangriga, Belize (Formerly Val's Backpacker Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“friendly owner, nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The owner was very friendly and caring during our one-night stay. We liked the location by the beach and chairs and the huge cactus tree in the yard. Feel free to chat with the owner, she has tons of good advises.


It's good deal for the money.

Room Tip: Talk with the owner to put you in a dorm with less people. She will accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was planning on staying at Val's (D's) during my recent trip, but when I arrived around mid-day, the sign said "closed." I had sent an e-mail a few weeks earlier asking some questions about the place and never received a reply. (I stayed there 2 years ago under the former name and wanted to know if any changes had been made.)

So, if it is closed for good/temporary, people should know. If it was just closed for an hour or so, then this is actually a negative review because what hotel (or even hostel) doesn't have someone around to receive travelers mid-day?

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

D's hostel was the perfect balance of hostel and guesthouse for us. D was a kind host who always offered her help with a friendly smile. The rooms were very clean, and her laundry service was the best I've come across yet! It was great value for money, and her waffles for breakfast were delicious! The wifi was super fast and the water was hot also. I'd highly recommend this hostel for travellers to see the true beauty of the Belizean people! x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

D's is the three 'S' you find pleasure in when backpacking - Spotless rooms, Scrumptious breaky and welcoming Service.
D is super insightful on the local life with a warm heart and big smile that makes you feel so welcome...It was a pleasure staying at this well run hostel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

D's was the best place i stayed in Belize. $25 BZ ($12.50 US) and it comes with a great breakfast (waffles, coffee and fruit). I came on the low season and had the 8 bed room to my self and spend plenty of time on the hammock, facing the Caribbean.

I noticed other reviewers mention that it was not safe, or that dogs were barking all night. I am a single woman traveler and did not feel unsafe, but i also did not walk around too much alone at night. (Dangriga does seem to be a little sketchier than other cities in Belize). Ok. Dogs. They are ubiquitous in Belize. After 3 weeks here, i have not stayed in a place where there weren't dogs barking all night.

I thought the air beds were comfy, the hospitality delightful- Donna and her children were so nice and accommodating. One of my favorite nights was just laying in the hammock and talking to Donna in the lovely evening. I hope to come back and spend more time here,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After traveling through central America and staying in a huge range of hostel, I have to say that D's hostel is by far outstanding.

Beds are air stresses which is a great choice and super clean. Upon arrival you choose the sheets, pillows and towels which meet your preferences.

Each bed has its own full size fan which is awesome at night and in each dorm there is a locker for each person that is big enough to fit your whole backpack and more.

The whole hostel is kept extremely clean. Miss D has a laundry service so the place always smells fresh.

There are hammocks to relax on which give you a perfect view of the ocean.

Breakfast is waffles and fruit with coffee and tea... All which are delicious!! Miss D is seriously the kindest lady you will ever meet... She is so helpful and will even let you play with her dog if you like :)

Miss D has a lot of plans to expand the upstairs and rooftop Terrance in the next year so i can only imagine how nice this place will be in a year.

25 Belize dollars = 12.5 US dollars which includes breakfast, towel, bedding and meeting the nicest lady in town.

Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogamoso, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well, our experience has already been over 1 year ago but to be honest we just got over the trauma of waking up with a gun in our face...
As the dorms in this place did not look too great and were expensive, we camped in our car in front of the hostel. The owner charged for using the bathroom and kitchen, although there was nothing to cook on, only a fridge. We did not get breakfast.
We asked various times if this was a safe area and if we would be fine sleeping in the car with the windows open to catch the breeze, and the owner confirmed this. Later we learned that the park is one of the worst areas in the whole country to hang out as all the crack users meet there. There was a drive-by shooting around the corner that same night and a man was killed. Neighbours (the ones who actually safed our lives, thanks for that) also informed us that the owner's daughter had been robbed inside this very same hostel only 2 weeks earlier, also at gun point - can't imagine that she could just forget about an incident like this??
When we tried to wake her up whilst fighting for our lives she did not react; neighbours from much further heard us though...
In the morning, after coming back from the police station in our pyjamas, the only thing she was interested in was getting her keys back.
We don't like writing negative reviews at all and that's part of the reason why it took us so long, but this needs to be told.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valsDangriga, Owner at D's Hostel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so sorry that that happened to you in your vehicle outside our Hostel. Thank you for expressing yourself. We are so grateful that you are getting better every day. We can assure you that it is our MISSION to love and care for all who walk into our place of business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D's Hostel

Address: Cnr. Mahogany Street & Sharp Street, Dangriga, Belize (Formerly Val's Backpacker Hostel)
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dś Hostel (formerly Valś Backpackers Hostel) has upped their services by serving breakfast from 7:00 a.m to 11:00 a.m.. We have a lovely rooftop we encourage our guests to go and relax and see the view of sunrise, sunset, moonrise, moonset ,seabreeze and if they choose to sun bathe, that too; and a grill is there if they would like to BBQ. This is the spot where guest can socialize with each other and exchange notes from travelling.We also now have telephone services to call anywhere in the world for BZ$5.00 for every 15 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
D's Hostel Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D's Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.