We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal, relaxing, friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatch Caye Resort

Save Saved
You added Thatch Caye Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thatch Caye Resort
9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Dangriga, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dangriga
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal, relaxing, friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I arrived at thatch caye for the beginning of our honeymoon in Belize. Fantastic decision to start with luxury!
The Canadian managers, Chris and Frank, were fantastic hosts and do a great job managing the island.
The island is beautiful, the casita we stayed in was clean, beds comfortable, ocean view from our bed and hammocks on our roof top deck.
The food at thatch caye is freshly prepared, home made cooking. Set menu for each meal but they accommodated many guests with different dietary needs and preferences. Their baked goods, bread, are fantastic!
We did the half day snorkelling tour and it was good. The wind was making the water a little murky but it was a good location. We also did the drop fishing tour twice. It was so neat to fish with a line, hook and your hands, and catch lots!
All the staff at thatch caye are very friendly and sociable. The bartender Jess was a great drink maker and awesome dominoes partner!
We would definitely go again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    22
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
129
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I highly recommend this beautiful, eco-friendly and self sustaining island that has been lovingly created while preserving the surrounding beauty. The facilities and palapas were great and the staff were outstanding! They were very friendly and they were able to assist us with any requests or arrangements that had to be made. This allowed us to be fully engaged and present in our activities without any worries or just be able to spend some quiet time to reflect and appreciate the surroundings. The food was amazing with a great variety and prepared for us fresh daily.

Room Tip: Palapas at the North end are more isolated if you wanted to have more quiet or privacy and each has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Truly an amazing island that has warming welcome. Every detail of the island was perfect from the white sand trails around the island that led me to my cabana, the beaches, the starfish bar, the staff that is so genuinely friendly and took exceptional care of us. This was a great place for me to unplug and really enjoy the moment. Many activities available and the staff guides you with whatever you choose. This was such a refreshing experience taking in the beautiful nature of the island while recharging myself at the same time. Absolutely amazing experience and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I just spent the first week in December here. The trip started with a few showers and ended with fabulous sunshine and blue skies. The sunrises and sunsets were gorgeous. Activities include kayaking, paddle boarding, scuba diving, snorkeling, and simply hanging out and swinging in the hammocks. And of course, don't forget the massage out on the deck. The sand and blue water is your sanctuary. The hands of the masseuse (Trina) will transform your body and utterly relax you!! The rooms are eco-friendly with a consciousness to save our planet. They're very comfortable but not luxury. The staff is exceptional. Take the time to get to know them. We loved the genuineness of their Belizean culture. Kris and Frank are the managers. They will treat you like you are one of the family. Ask Kris for a wonderful IsaLean shake that will recharge you with energy for all your fun activities.

If you have time, venture to Dangriga and go ziplining with Bocawina Adventures and Eco-Tours Ltd. It was a fantastic, thrilling experience with very knowledgeable guides and extra safe equipment (double cables).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Thatch Caye is a beautiful Caribbean Island just off the coast of Belize. We were treated like family by the awesome staff. The environment was perfect for both learning and playing. Thatch Caye offers something for everyone, whether it be a relaxing drink at the Starfish bar or an afternoon kayaking or scuba diving, Thatch Caye was the perfect retreat for us to appreciate the blessings of great friends and gorgeous wonders of nature. The special attention and the exemplary service we received from the staff was unmatched by any other resort that we've ever visited. I will definitely be back to visit Thatch Caye and I recommend it to anyone who loves natural beauty, peaceful surroundings and great service!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In one word... indescribable! Words nor pictures can do justice to the amazing experience of spending a week on this fabulous island. What a welcomed sense of peace and tranquility that I found as I took walks along the trails listening to the waves lap and the wind rustling the palm leaves. The combination of the natural beauty of the island, the inviting cabanas, the many diverse activities on and near the island, the delicious meals, and the friendly, attentive staff that strive to make your stay perfect, is the “winning” combination in my book. I look forward to the day that my family and I return to this magical place! THANKS again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I just returned from a week stay at the Thatch Caye Resort, what an amazing piece of paradise! This handmade Eco friendly island makes you sit back and really take in everything around you. The Casita we stayed in was large with very comfortable beds. The roof had a couple of hammocks and the view was gorgeous!!! You could relax, snorkel, dive, swim, paddle board, kayak to the bid sanctuary, anything you wanted! The staff was amazingly friendly and attentive. The food was unbelievable! You would have thought you were eating at a 5 star restaurant in NYC!! I cannot wait to return to this little piece of paradise!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thatch Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch Caye Resort

Address: 9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Dangriga, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatch Caye Resort introduces a whole new level of eco-adventure and comfort for marine activities in Belize! Enjoy the amazing sights and sensations of the largest barrier reef in the Northern Hemisphere while relaxing in a top-quality upscale resort. Thatch Caye Resort is a private island located 9 miles from the main town of Dangriga in south-central Belize and two miles inside the barrier reef. Join one of our amazing getaway packages or let us help you customize a stay just for you. The Rest & Relaxation package offers you the freedom and flexibility to choose your own mainland and marine adventures while you are with us. The Reef Explorer explores the Belize Barrier Reef and mangroves on guided snorkeling tours. Visit Tobacco Caye and South Water Caye on the scuba diving package. Enjoy guided adventure and a hint of romance on our Honeymoon Getaway. Sea kayakers, saltwater fly-fishermen, snorkelers, scuba divers, and marine sightseers will love this Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Thatch Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatch Caye Hotel Dangriga
Thatch Caye Dangriga
Thatch Caye Resort Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatch Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.