We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indescribable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thatch Caye Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thatch Caye Resort to your Saves list
Thatch Caye Resort
9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Dangriga, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dangriga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lumberton, Texas, United States
1 review
“Indescribable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

In one word... indescribable! Words nor pictures can do justice to the amazing experience of spending a week on this fabulous island. What a welcomed sense of peace and tranquility that I found as I took walks along the trails listening to the waves lap and the wind rustling the palm leaves. The combination of the natural beauty of the island, the inviting cabanas, the many diverse activities on and near the island, the delicious meals, and the friendly, attentive staff that strive to make your stay perfect, is the “winning” combination in my book. I look forward to the day that my family and I return to this magical place! THANKS again!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    23
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
132
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I just returned from a week stay at the Thatch Caye Resort, what an amazing piece of paradise! This handmade Eco friendly island makes you sit back and really take in everything around you. The Casita we stayed in was large with very comfortable beds. The roof had a couple of hammocks and the view was gorgeous!!! You could relax, snorkel, dive, swim, paddle board, kayak to the bid sanctuary, anything you wanted! The staff was amazingly friendly and attentive. The food was unbelievable! You would have thought you were eating at a 5 star restaurant in NYC!! I cannot wait to return to this little piece of paradise!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I spent a week at Thatch Caye Resort and it was a magical experience. From the moment I got off the boat the staff was so welcoming and from that moment on they knew my name and were always making sure i had everything I needed. There are activities from snorkeling, kayaking, scuba diving or you can take the week to just unplug and enjoy the peacefulness of this place. There is no bad view- each room has a beautiful view. This eco-friendly island is clean and will take you back to the simplicity of things. If you are looking for a place to unwind and get some quiet time- this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a Flight Attendant who has travelled the globe, Thatch Caye was by far one of the most beautiful places I have visited. The staff treated us like family, not hotel guests. Every need was met, from the friendly ladies who cleaned our rooms to Jessie & his bar staff who mixed up some awesome island concoctions. Meals were lovingly prepared & served. WIth no iPhone in site, I was able to unwind, uplug, lay in my hammock & say Ahhhhh! There was time for jiplining, snorkelling, laughing, singing, dancing, or just going for a stroll to feel the gently ocean air. I will definitely be back with more friends!

Room Tip: I loved the Family Villa rooms !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Thatch Caye resort is Magical!!! Great place to get away. The Staff takes care of all you desires and they are so friendly. The Island is beautiful and you will fall in love with it. You can scuba dive, go snorkeling, stand up paddle boarding, kyaking or just hang out in the comfortable hammocks. You will be blown away because the staff remember your name and your desires.You totally feel like you are with extended family

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This small intimate resort is the ultimate get away for anyone looking to chill out in a gorgeous setting. The accommodations are simple yet charming and the views in every direction were breathtaking. The beautiful white sand pathways are meticulously raked daily like a zen monastery.

The staff was amazing. They know your name and happily meet your every need with a smile. Chris, the resorts manager is a beautiful person inside and out.

Food was outstanding. From delicious palettes cooked to order to phenomenal lunch and dinner buffets. We also had a number of ala carte dinners including fresh caught red snapper, roasted veggies & even homemade coconut ice cream.

There area by activities available including world class snorkeling and scuba diving, kayak trips to a nearby island bird sanctuary and even a jungle zip line tour!! All in all I can't say enough about this piece of heaven. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week on Thatch Kaye at the end of November. Our experience was without questions one of the most memorable weeks we have spent together. From the moment we were met by the Thatch Kaye Resort staff we knew we had found our little piece of paradise! Warm, friendly and with smiles from ear to ear we felt truly at home. Each person on the Island made a point to know us by name, and shared their joy and respect for the beauty that surrounds them. We enjoyed ocean kyaking and early morning yoga! The Island is a door way to so many adventures, we chose a quiet time to soak in the beauty around us. Food was superb, carefully and lovingly prepared and served. Jessie shook up some delicious rum punches at the Star Fish Bar (and trust me we enjoyed our share). Music, dancing, drumming, laughter, singing, we felt and experienced it all. Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. We look forward to returning to the familiarity and the warmth of dear friends as well as the up and coming changes that are planned. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Rooms are basic, comfortable and understanding that this is an eco friendly resort have all of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thatch Caye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatch Caye Resort

Address: 9 miles off the coast - South Water Marine Reserve | Cocoplum Chain, Dangriga, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Stann Creek > Dangriga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dangriga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thatch Caye Resort introduces a whole new level of eco-adventure and comfort for marine activities in Belize! Enjoy the amazing sights and sensations of the largest barrier reef in the Northern Hemisphere while relaxing in a top-quality upscale resort. Thatch Caye Resort is a private island located 9 miles from the main town of Dangriga in south-central Belize and two miles inside the barrier reef. Join one of our amazing getaway packages or let us help you customize a stay just for you. The Rest & Relaxation package offers you the freedom and flexibility to choose your own mainland and marine adventures while you are with us. The Reef Explorer explores the Belize Barrier Reef and mangroves on guided snorkeling tours. Visit Tobacco Caye and South Water Caye on the scuba diving package. Enjoy guided adventure and a hint of romance on our Honeymoon Getaway. Sea kayakers, saltwater fly-fishermen, snorkelers, scuba divers, and marine sightseers will love this Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Thatch Caye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatch Caye Hotel Dangriga
Thatch Caye Dangriga
Thatch Caye Resort Belize/Dangriga

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatch Caye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.