We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mirador Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corozal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirador Hotel
Cor.4th Avenue & 1st Street South, Corozal Town 123, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Corozal Town
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband was recently in Belize on business and was booked into the Mirador hotel in Corozal. Anyhow to say was bad is being kind. First of all the room wasn't clean nor was the hotel. There was no air conditioning, so he had to leave the window open. A person with ragee music blaring parked under his window. He contacted me to see how you check for bedbugs. No bed bugs thankfully. However there were cockroaches!!!!. He killed several, then by 0130hrs he went downstairs and they moved him to another room. He wanted to leave but there was no where else to go at that hour. To make things worse the attendant advised the roaches were probably coming from the kitchen !!!!! YUCK. Traveller beware!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Really good for the price and It's in the middle of town, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in, the rooms are very clean and the view from the windows is amazing, the staff is really nice and has helped us a lot

Room Tip: we got a room at the 4rd floor (where there's no wifi) but if you ask if you can have one in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Booked 1 night here before getting the early boat to san pedro. Basic room with private bath on third floor...price was 35$ US dollars. The chines food restaurant downstairs had big portions of food... typical chinese from back home...except for the surprisingly good yellow curry chicken... We got in after dark because we got stuck at the border waiting for transportation. We finally got a ride from a nice elderly man with his family into corozal town... was quite the ride past burning sugar can fields... recommend Mirador if your heading on the early boat...2 minute walk to pier

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed in a mixture of accommodation on our trip to Mexico and Belize and would definately reccomend this hotel for an overnight stay enroute to the islands of Belize.
The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the dock where the early morning boat leaves to San Pedro. 70 Belize Dollars ( 35 USD gets you a room for 2 on the second floor). Clean and quiet rooms perfectly fine for an overnight stay. Would definately use again next tme am in Central America.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The taxi driver recommended the Mirador Hotel. He said it is the best. It is a huge four story building that was not well planned out. We had to walk up tiny stairs to get to the room. What a workout lugging our luggage up those horrible stairs. The rooms were tacky with cheap polyester bedspreads and cheap production furniture. The bathroom was tiled but the toilet was tiny. The view from our room was a rusty tin roof and a slum looking area. On the bottom floor there was an asian restaurant and we could smell the grease in our room. The outside of the building is very run down and covered with plastic pipes for the air conditioners and plumbing. Looks like spiderman lived there. Although in the center of town it seemed like the bad part of town. Lots of beggers and drugged out looking types. We decided to check out the next day and the owners got kind of racial to us. What a nightmare.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

From the reviews, upon arrival to El Mirador, I discovered what I expected. A well kept hotel, with clean rooms, friendly staff and minimal taste in decoration. The location of the hotel (near the bus station), with its splendid views of the bay is just right. I would stay there again.
the only drawback is the town of Corozal. Lacking any potential activities for tourist and doesn't offer much on the scale of eatery.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

The Mirador was an integral part of our adventure to Mexico and Belize, two nights on our way south and two a week later on our way back. I've got to say the place was ideal and exactly what we were looking for. Great, comfortable accommodation at a very reasonable price. My only complaint would be the lack of a decent restaurant. The one in the hotel is chinese, which suited me but not the other half and I'm sorry to say it wasn't the best of food. However we found an absolutely great restaurant at Tony's on the outskirts of the town.
The staff at the hotel were first class and the level of service was excellent.
We were in a bay view room with fans and I suspect if we were there during the hotter months a room with A/C would be preferrable.
Highly recommended.

  • Liked — great accommodation, great price
  • Disliked — restaurant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Hotel

Address: Cor.4th Avenue & 1st Street South, Corozal Town 123, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal > Corozal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Corozal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're welcome to enjoy the most beautiful view of Corozal Bay. Offering 24 rooms, air condition, fan, private bath (hot/cold), television on all rooms, terrace, telephone booth, internet cafe, tours arrangement and much more! Easy to find, one lane from the thunder bolt wharf, five minutes from the bus terminal, ten minutes from Ranchito Air Strip, centrally located in the heart of Corozal. Next door to shopping centers, town hall, central parks, banks, police station and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Corozal Town
Mirador Hotel Belize/Corozal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mirador Hotel to your Saves list