We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple room, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copper Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corozal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Horse Inn
Save
You added Copper Horse Inn to your Saves list
4th Street North & 2nd Avenue, Corozal Town, Belize (Formerly Mark Anthony's Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Corozal Town B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple room, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for one night here, because another hotel we intended to stay at in Corozal was full. The place seemed to be run by expatriate Americans, which led to its very un-Belizean atmosphere... which is good or bad depending on taste. The room was modern and clean but was without any furniture except the double bed and a small bedside table, making it a bit difficult to organize our life during the number of hours we spent inside the room. But considering the room rate and the general condition of cheaper hotel rooms in Belize, I must say it is satisfactory.

Room Tip: Difficult to keep the curtains open because most rooms face the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corozal Town, Belize
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here at the Copper Horse Inn in Corozal Town, Belize for almost a month until our house opened up. Someone mention the Copper Horse Inn to us, it's only $30.00 USD a night for a nice clean large room with a view of the ocean, and an ocean breeze floating off the deep blue waters was refreshing after a long day out hiking and doing everything Belize offers you! We found the employees to be very kind and share funny stories of Belize with us, they did their best to make us very comfortable. The new owners are just so nice, with a library of books and helpful information. Best bang for the buck but you get more then you would expect for your money. The service is over the top, the food is excellent with large portions, the rooms are lovely, very clean, neat, with great cable tv that includes FREE pay-per-view movies 24/7!! The location is just across the ocean, you can walk to town or rent a bike, everything is within a short walk. Our stay was very pleasant, we would stay here again for sure! We plan to tell our friends to stay here while they travel through Belize for great service, food and great company! Come to Belize and see for yourself! Hank C.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corozal Town, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My Husband and I needed a place for almost a month and we wanted a safe place to stay in town, we were lucky to find the Copper Horse Inn just around the corner across from the ocean, and the price is unbelievable low, at $30.00 USD, yet we got so much more for the money then any other place in town! We were amazed to see how lovely the rooms were made up, how large the room and bath were, beautiful furniture, smelled very clean, spotless, and the service was over the top excellent!! The breeze coming from the calm blue sea is refreshing! The food is very good, cooked fresh each day, delicious! The ladies who work here are such wonderful good people who try their hardest to make you comfortable and happy, and they are honest to the cord. For the price we got more then we got staying at Tony's Inn & Resort for $100.00 USD!! We have come to enjoy our daily chats with the owners and workers, we feel like they are part of our family! We are lucky that Johney, who does the maintance here offered to change our oil on our car, Marleny offered to do our laundry for a small fee and it all came back so clean and neatly folded, and they will tell you where the best places to go for anything you may need in town. Drinking our coffee on the veranda each morning, watching the calm blue waters, with a cool breeze floating on the deep blue sea is so refreshing and calming to the soul, we hated to even leave!!

Have fun in Belize, Melissa C.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojo de Agua de Latillas, Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We enjoyed our week to the fullest. Brian and Debbie were super hosts. The customer service they have is #1. They really go out of their way to make your stay a time to remember. Great resturant and also used by many locals as a meeting place. That says something for food quality. The staff are well trained and eager to help. A place we would stay again.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the bay. Great view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Copper Horse Inn is truly the place to stay. The new owners have improved the food service with a quality well prepared selection of menu items and an all day breakfast menu that is awesome. The hotel, bar and restaurant are VERY clean and the service is wonderful. Canadians Debbie and Brent provide a large complimentary mixed fruit bowl with breakfast and complimentary salsa and chips with a dinner entree.

Rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. Most have a wonderful view of the Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bay view room. Sorry I rated the non-existent pool and fitness center - oops
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We took a taxi from the border into Corozal. The driver recommended the Copper Horse Inn...and we're really glad he did. At 30US a night...it was the best bargain of our trip. The rooms are spacious...with great views...and VERY clean. The restaurant had a very good menu and food was really well presented. Save room for their Triple Chocolate Trifle desert....it was decadent!!!. The staff were super friendly and Gloria and her staff went out of their way to make us feel at home.

If you're in Corozal....this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best views of the bay....and terrific breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merida yucatan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was in Corazal for a couple days looking at some property and didn't know how long I would be in town so I booked 2 nites and I wanted to keep the room for 1 more nite and the owner of the hotel that I was in said that he was booked and I had to leave(there was a bandfest that weekend as well as a reggae band the next nite so all the hoteles were booked) The owner forgot to mention anything about that when I checked in.Had I known I would have booked one more nite.The owner took me over to the Copper Horse Inn to see if she had any rooms and she gave me an amazing room overlooking the Bay.Much nicer room than I had.The bed was much more comfortable. The food was really great.Room had AC but with the seabreeze it wasn't necessary. The owner is warm with no attitude.So to sum it up-
Great view
Good food at a good price
Nice bed&pillows
helpful staff
Quiet area of town

Gene bausman
Yucatan Mexico

Room Tip: get the room upstairs overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corozal Town
0.0 mi away
Mirador Hotel
Mirador Hotel
#6 of 6 in Corozal Town
3.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
Almond Tree Hotel Resort
#1 of 6 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Hotel & Casino Free Zone
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hokol Kin Guesthouse
Hokol Kin Guesthouse
#4 of 12 in Corozal
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Blanca by the Sea Hotel
0.0 mi away
Las Palmas Hotel
Las Palmas Hotel
#3 of 7 in Corozal Town
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Horse Inn

Address: 4th Street North & 2nd Avenue, Corozal Town, Belize (Formerly Mark Anthony's Hotel)
Location: Belize > Corozal > Corozal Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Corozal Town
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Copper Horse Inn Belize/Corozal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copper Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.