We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel with real character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sea Breeze Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corozal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sea Breeze Hotel
Save Saved
You added The Sea Breeze Hotel to your Saves list
#23, 1st Avenue, Corozal Town, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corozal Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great little hotel with real character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

A lovely spot to stay in Corozal. Right next to the blue bay, a jetty to perch on with an evening beer & an owner who has some great stories to tell if you play your cards right.
Gwyn really makes this little hotel special - he's a real character who shared some great stories with us over some strong rum & cokes (but don't assume he is there to entertain!). He made us feel at home with a laid back approach. We hired his bikes to drift around the town & his staff made sure our room was nice & clean. It was also great having cable TV for one of those chilled evenings in your room on a night off from sight-seeing.
The building itself is a little gem with beautiful floor tiles throughout & a lovely balcony for watching the sun set.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    38
    6
    5
    8
See reviews for
6
47
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Corozal. It is directly across the bay, a short walking distance to the center of town, offers great breakfasts, and has a warm and welcoming owner. He even pocked us up from thebwater taxi dock and drove us around town to show us where we pay our property taxes. Talk about going above and beyond the call of duty!

This will be the only place we ever stay in Corozal from now on.

Room Tip: We were in room number seven. It was only $30 and it had a private bath and tv. A great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Only stayed one night and generally happy, however needs new mattresses! It was old and uncomfortable bed, making sleep challenging. We are used to budget hostels so not being fussy. Apart from that, nice location, really nice owner and a cool bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToraBelize, Owner at The Sea Breeze Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Mattresses are an important subject and it is a pleasure to address this issue.
Unlike most situations when “commercial” is equivalent to “heavy duty” most hotel mattresses see less duty that the one in your home. Occupancy at The Sea Breeze hovers about 90%, or 330 bed nights a year for a mattress. About the same as your mattress at home (assuming you are away a month a year).
Unfortunately shopping in Belize does not offer much variety of mattresses. ‘Firm’ or ‘soft’ are my local choices. Naturally we tried both and the vote went to ‘firm’.
We turn mattresses regularly, but because the quality of local products tends to fall short of the more developed nations, we change mattresses every 2 years on a rotating basis. With use the mattresses get “lumpy”. It is possible that this mattress is approaching its change time. Unfortunately the guests never specified which room they were in, nor did they mention this to me during their stay. So now I will have to spend a night in all the rooms to be sure of which mattress is bad. But I will start in room #2 where the mattress is almost due for rotation. This is a good thing, because it allows me to check on the other components of the room.
So rest assured, if we have a rogue mattress, it will be changed. It is a simple and quick fix once it is located. 4 years ago we had a similar situation and the mattress was changed in 45 minutes from the problem being identified. So, thanks to these guests for pointing this out and if they are reading this, please let me know your room number.
Thanks,
Gwyn Lawrence (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

stayed here 1 night on route to Mexico.

about bz$55 for a single persons. add bz$10 for extra people.
all rooms are spacious and had a double and single with clean sheets towels and soap.

shower was powerful and hot.
owner nice helpful and friendly.

i had a positive experience here

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok, this is one of those places whose great reputation comes from the character of the owner, and you quickly understand why. The owner (sorry, don't remember the name) is a really nice guy with incredible sense of humor and willingness to help. He even woke up before 7 am to make us breakfast when it was Sunday and his staff hasn't come yet.
The rooms are big and bright, the bathrooms clean.
We didn't have time to hang out in the bar with other guests, but everybody seemed to be having great time there.

The owner recommended us the Purple Toucan restaurant - what a great tip! We loved it! Everybody staying at Sea breeze should dine in PT at least once.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

i booked my room a week in advance. when i arrived the owner gwyn was very friendly. our room was ready and was nice and clean. we sat in the bar with gwyn and he told us about corozal. from the bar area there is a great view of the bay. every morning miss beverly had breakfast ready and she is a great cook,and for the price (2.50 u.s.) you cant go wrong. i heard water pressure in corozal was poor but not here, and there was always plenty of hot water. we stayed a full week and never had any regreats, at at the end of the week when we setteled up our bill the best thing was the price, we both left smiling and still had money in our pockets. for us the sea breeze hotel was a great place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was my third stay in 2012-13 at this fine budget hotel. Registration and check-in were flawless with a deposit (e.g. paypal) as per the hotel policy. In the world of backpackers and budget travellers this hotel provides excellent up-front e-mail or phone communication on cancellation policies. The hotel has clean, comfortable, secure rooms. Nightly gatherings at the bar bring travellers and expats together to watch the sunset and share stories of life on the road. A stay at the Sea Breeze is not to be missed if you are passing through Corozal, Belize. Be there or be square.

Room Tip: Room #6 has access to the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sea Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea Breeze Hotel

Address: #23, 1st Avenue, Corozal Town, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal > Corozal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Corozal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Breeze Hotel offers guests a quiet, clean, safe environment at economical prices. All rooms have a bathroom en suite with high pressure hot and cold water. 5 rooms have cable TV. The hotel has off street parking and is situated on Corozal Bay, close to the town centre. We have wi-fi, a guests only bar, a private pier, back up generator and 4,000 gallon water tank. Breakfast is available on the balcony overlooking the Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel
The Sea Breeze Hotel Belize/Corozal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sea Breeze Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.