We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hokol Kin Guesthouse

Hokol Kin Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Corozal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hokol Kin Guesthouse
Save
You added Hokol Kin Guesthouse to your Saves list
4th Avenue | 3 blocks from the Central Square, on Corozal Bay, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Corozal
Canada
1 review
“Had a great visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed at this quaint hotel on two seperate times. First, when we arrived, and second when we left Belize. We had a great room the first two nights. It was clean, and the service from the owners and staff was wonderful. Very helpful. The last two nights was great as well, although, with no fault from the hotel, the dog barking was a bit much at times. But, besides the lack of dog control in the village of Corozal, our stay was fabulous. We highly recommend this hotel for any travellers first arriving in the village of Corozal. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
8
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

we stayed at hokol kin for 3 months. very clean friendly staff good breakfasts with fabian and great dinners with lucy. the staff was very helpfull with directions and arranging tours, they even lent us their vehicle when ours broke down until it was repaired. we loved the little bar. we will be back and it was the cleanest place we had ever seen. very impressed.

  • Liked — cleanlines
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

We stayed here because we discovered it had the only 2 air conditioned, connecting rooms in Corozal. Our stay was great. The rooms were clean and plenty big for our family of 6. The rooms were cleaned each day and new towels were given each day. Each room had cable TV too. The restaurant was perfect for families. They served freshly squeezed juice each day - orange and lime were in season when we were there. You could get eggs, pancakes, french toast, and various local tortilla specialties. The people running the hotel were super friendly and wanted to be helpful in anyway they could.

  • Liked — the friendly owners
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2008

Hi my name is Judy, my experience was terrible we stayed at hok o ki hotel for 22 days is was horible. one night we came back form a long day of outing sat on the tiolet and there was no tiolet paper. The rooms were clean once a week we got clean towels once or maybe twice a week.the comforter smells horible the linens were changed once a week. it was my worst experienced staying there I would not recomend no one especially if they have children. The staff totally ingnore us when we ask for something they weren,t polite at all I regret staying there for the price that they ask we expected more hospitality .The food is horillbe if it wasn,t too oily it was too salty this has been my worst experienced so far.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccczl, Owner/Manager at Hokol Kin Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2008
This review was written by guests who stayed with us because they were banned from another Corozal hotel.

They disregarded our policy about unregistered guests (ie; local family members) in the rooms, and were disrespectful to management and staff.

We are sorry they feel they were mistreated, but this was not the proper forum to register their displeasure.

Our property, since we built it in 1995, has had an impeccable reputation for cleanliness and regard for our guests.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

As others have mentioned, the rooms are almost unbelievably clean. Great price, comfortable beds, nice view of the sea, interesting mix of people at the bar. Perfect location within walking distance of both
the bus terminal and the water taxi.

  • Liked — The room was cleaner than some five-star hotels I've stayed in, and the location is great.
  • Disliked — No complaints.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Our group of 18 stayed at the Hokol Kin for 6 days and it was wonderful. Very clean, basic rooms. The owners are friendly, and they even invited me into their kitchen and learn how to make tortillas. The patio is a great place to meet other travelers and share a cold coke. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

Hok’ol K’in Guest House

Hok’ol K’in (a Yucatec Maya phrase for “coming of the rising sun”) is a pleasant ten-room motel/guesthouse just across the street from the bay, and there’s usually a nice breeze from the water. I've stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times. It’s run by a former Peace Corp volunteer and her family. Recent upgrades have added A/C in some rooms and TVs. The small restaurant serves inexpensive breakfasts, burgers and snacks. Unusual for Belize, one room is wheelchair-accessible. Rates: US$49-$60 double including tax, year-round.
4th Ave. and 4th Street (P.O. Box 145, Corozal Town)
tel. [--]
fax [--]; e-mail [--]
--Lan Sluder, [--]

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hokol Kin Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokol Kin Guesthouse

Address: 4th Avenue | 3 blocks from the Central Square, on Corozal Bay, Belize
Location: Belize > Corozal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Corozal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hok'ol K'in is a family friendly, Belizean owned hotel on the Bay of Corozal. We are disabled-friendly with accessible rooms on the ground level. There is a restaurant and small convenience bar on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hokol Kin Hotel
Hokol Kin Guesthouse Belize/Corozal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokol Kin Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.