We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Junction

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Junction
Save
You added Iguana Junction to your Saves list
Bullet Tree Falls Village, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at Iguana Junction for 4 nights in February 2010. Colin, the owner, was extremely helpful even before we arrived. He helped set up daytrips through the local tour groups. Upon arrival, Colin drove us multiple times into town, and also drove us to the Belize/Guatemala border, which was greatly appreciated!
The cabin we stayed in was clean, nice and very comfortable. I was very impressed with how clean the bathroom was, I wished the shower would have gotten a little bit warmer, but there was definitely warm water.
The animals at Iguana Junction were very friendly, and it was nice to have Hattie the cat sleep with us at night.
We had breakfast there most mornings which was very good, it consisted usually of eggs, bacon, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, and juice. It was really good, make sure you try some Marie Sharps on your eggs, especially if they have the Orange Pulp kind. We had dinner one night, Colin's Fish Stew, which was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My wife and I were on vacation in Belize with another couple and decided to stay at this hotel. We were going to Guatemala the next day and one of us could not get a visa so they would have to stay alone at the hotel for the entire day. After reading the reviews this seemed like the perfect place to stay at the right price. The setting is great, right on a river that can be used for tubing for free, iguanas in the trees, and the best hammocks I've ever laid on. The rooms are basic, but all you need at a great price. Colin is a great owner and he helped out our friend that had to stay there all day. They went and had lunch in San Ignacio and went to the market and it was great! Definitely stay in this hotel if you are near the San Ignacio area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Iguana Junction is a cute little place next to the river that is inviting and accomodating. The rustic cabins are cute and simple. Collin, the host, is great and has great reccomendations for things to do, places to eat and getting around. We felt safe on the premises with Kaan, the dog. There is lots of wildlife around the property that can keep you busy for hours. I reccomend this for people that don't need luxury and wish to be close to nature.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Wow, this was a treat... from floating the river, wonderful breakfast's, clean cabana's, the coolest dog and cat in Belize, ride into town for dinner, and being picked up at our front door by Pacz tours, this was wonderful!! I went back and forth reading reviews on places to stay in San Ignacio area and I sure made the right decision!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Our stay at the Iguana Junction for 5 nights was more like a stay with old friends. Colin replied to our emails immediately before our arrival and could not have been more accommodating after our arrival. Free local transportation, setting up our tours (without mark-ups) and interesting conversations with Colin were just some of the perks. Being a bit out of San Ignacio turned out to be a plus and not a minus. Throw in some friendly pets and a great spot next to the river and we got a truly memorable experience. We travel a lot and never see this level of service!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at Iguana Junction. I was skeptical that it would be nice because it was so affordable, but we ended up wishing we could extend our stay. It's a little outside of town, but one of the British ex-pat owners drove us into town whenever we wanted to go exploring. A family style dinner was offered each night for a reasonable price, and beers were on the honor system: just mark on your tab if you take one. Iguana Junction is at a bend in the river, so we enjoyed tubing along, looking for iguanas hanging in the trees, then only having a 5 minute walk back to our place. The rooms were tidy and the porch, with numerous hammocks overlooking the river, was just about as comfortable as I've ever been.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I know I'll be repeating what others have said, but after a lovely stay at Iguana Junction, I just have to add my 2 cents! Colin and Dawn are friendly and fun, but not overbearing in the slightest. It's up to you how much you'd like to interact with your hosts - My friend and I opted to eat in every night and morning because the food was great and we enjoyed the company. They arranged our transport from the airport, our cave tour, tubing, and Colin even gave us a ride to the border when we left. The cabins are rustic but clean, the palapa is awesome for relaxing with a book in a hammock, and tubing down the river from the back steps was really fun. We spent 3 nights here and felt it was a good amount of time. Definitely check out the ATM cave tour! There is a lot of early morning wildlife noise so bring some earplugs if you don't enjoy the cacophony of nature at daybreak!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
2.9 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vanilla Hills Lodge
Vanilla Hills Lodge
#1 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguana Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Junction

Address: Bullet Tree Falls Village, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Junction is an oasis of tranquility on the banks of the Mopan River, just a few minutes from the hustle & bustle of vibrant San Ignacio. Relax on the riverside deck, or laze in a hammock in our beautiful palappa. Our comfortable cabanas, all with private facilities, assure the perfect end to your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Junction Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Junction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.