We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Table Rock Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
on the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Jungle paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Table Rock belongs high on my list of favorite places I've stayed in the world. The isolated location and skillfully designed grounds provide unmatched ambiance for relaxation and reflection. All of the details made our stay memorable: a star fruit tree was bursting with fruit outside our doorstep, I could watch the hummingbirds out the window of the natural rock shower each morning, and sleeping under the sounds of a thatch roof provided a true Belizean jungle experience. The food was incredible, our room was unique and charming, and the owners' hospitality made us feel like we were visiting long-time friends. We used Table Rock as a base to visit Tikal, Caracol, and ATM cave. The owners were so helpful with giving us instructions and advice, and setting up the cave tour with an excellent guide. The value was also incredible-we felt like we were staying in a private, luxurious retreat. We stopped to see some of the high end lodges in the area, and, in my opinion, none compared to what we had at Table Rock. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
214
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We have done a significant amount of travel and even in Central America have visited Costa Rica twice as well as Panama. Table Rock was one of the most amazing places we have stayed anywhere. I always say I am going to post on TripAdvisor but never do. This time I had to share my thoughts. I don't know if I can put my finger on one thing and hate to sound trite but it has great karma -- it just feels like you shouldn't be anywhere else on earth.

We only booked two nights here and regretted it. Chef Chris picked us up from the airport. When we got to the hotel, we had some homemade hummus and chips that hit the spot along with one of Jen's many wonderful drink concoctions made with local ingredients. Later that night Chris made the best meal that we had in Belize. I couldn't believe we were eating this kind of gourmet meal in the middle of the rainforest. They had arranged in advance for our trip to ATM the next day. Don't miss this one! It was truly amazing and we hear they may close it to the public (not sure how true this is). The hiking through the cave is challenging so not for the feeble but once you get to the artifacts you will be in awe.

Chris, Jen, Colleen, Alan (don't miss his personalized tour of the property) and their entire staff are all so friendly, interesting and helpful. We enjoyed meeting and playing with their dogs (I always have doggie withdrawal when I go on vacation) and the donkeys. The farm has it's own chickens, gardens, greenhouses and a variety of fruit trees in the orchard. We didn't have a chance to canoe on the river which you can take out right on the property but will the next time for sure. A big thanks to Teddy for his insights on the property tour. The rooms are simple, peaceful and beautifully decorated in local materials.

Don't stay here if you are a television junkie/coach potato, if you can't go out in public without using hair appliances or if you're deathly afraid of creepy crawly things. However, if you love beautiful and natural surroundings, opportunity for adventure and activity, a small, intimate yet elegant accommodation, out of this world food and drinks, friendly, accommodating staff, and a place to relax after a busy day of fun -- stay at Table Rock when you visit the Cayo District in Belize!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We looked for a base, situated in natural surroundings, to visit Maya ruins and do bird watching. We found a place where we did all our early morning watching right there. No need to go elsewhere. It was beautiful. Our host knew "everything" about birds, which made us feel right at home. Also, there was every day great assistance in planning our trips. That's what we came for. What astonished and delighted us was the quality of service and the involvement of all staff to make our stay as memorable as possible. We felt we came as guests, but we left as friends. We will certainly go back to this wonderful place, and recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

If you want a true jungle experience in Belize, Table Rock is the place. We would like to keep it to ourselves, but it is too good not to share. Only three units and plans for only a couple more, so it will stay a private rainforest hideaway. The pictures and descriptions in their web site do not exaggerate. Alan and Colleen designed and built Table Rock beginning with an old farm on the Macal River. Everything about the place expresses their appreciation of the natural surroundings. It's amazing that they have done such a great job for just a few guests. For example, the dining room and bar are in a spacious thatched roof structure with adjoining deck overlooking the forest and river below. Trails wind down to the canoe landing and swimming area. And it is no afterthought that the food is terrific and the staff a delight.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and i came here for our half of our honeymoon...it was a great experience. The staff was always available and gave us so many tips on where to eat, what to see, how to travel, etc... Jen, Chris, Colleen, and Alan set us up with everything and made the whole stay relaxing and fun. The resort is peaceful and quiet, with only sounds from the jungle to put you to sleep. There was a lot to do and explore even at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Having stayed at only one eco lodge in the san ignacio area, I can't compare and contrast to other places. It's not what most peopler would call luxurious, particularly if you are expecting a jacuzzi and a wide screen tv. If however, you are expecting a beautiful place to stay with excellent food and even better service that blends well with its natural environment, then table rock is fo you. There is an amazing attentiion to detail, from the rooms to the immaculate grounds to the palm frond under the oil lamp on the front porch of the room. But what really sets table rock apart and earns it a 5* review is the incredible degree of service from the hosts Colleen and Alan, the chef and manager (Chris and Jen), and everyone else on the staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

For our summer vacation my husband, 10 year old son and I traveled to Belize. Our stay at Table Rock Lodge was awesome! Table Rock is an eco-friendly lodge located in the Cayo district that offers everything you could want and more. The traditional thatch roof cabanas are tucked into the beautiful tropical landscape of the jungle. The indigenous plants and wildlife are amazing. There was plenty to do whether we were relaxing in the hammocks beside the Macal River or hiking or biking around the grounds of the property. We loved petting and feeding the resident donkeys and my son even got to ride one of them. He also enjoyed picking star fruit, avocadoes, and mangoes which were even prepared and served with our meals. The gourmet food served in the open- air dining room was fantastic. Everything was delicious and Chef Chris even adjusted the menu to please my son. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and helped make our stay perfect. When we were ready to travel outside of Table Rock the owners, Alan and Colleen, made arrangements for us with friendly and knowledgeable local guides. We explored waterfalls and cave tubing, Mayan ruins, the Belize zoo and nearby villages. The ultimate adventure was exploring ATM caves. This is an experience you shouldn’t miss. This was an unforgettable vacation we would definitely recommend. We can’t wait to return to Table Rock, Belize.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Table Rock Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Address: on the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Table Rock Jungle Lodge is an eco-lodge in a canopied rainforest setting unlike any other in the Cayo Distict of Belize. With only 6 cabanas on our 105-acre Macal River reserve, you can enjoy the intimate rainforest setting and the sights and sounds of the Belizean jungle. Hike, swim, canoe, birdwatch, or just indulge in serious relaxation. Close to all the major Mayan archaeological sites and natural wonders of Belize, and only 5 miles outside of San Ignacio, Table Rock is the ideal location for your next adventure holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Table Rock Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Rock Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
Table Rock Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Rock Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.