We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Table Rock Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
on the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Little Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I have more than enjoyed my last five days at Table Rock! The owners Colleen and Alan created a unique and cozy little paradise perfect to escape and recharge!

They will be more than happy to tell you the stories of the place and how their dreams took shape but also teach you about birds, trees along beautiful paths through their property.

Make sure you stay long enough to enjoy everything in site, hammock, and local rum, complimentary canoe along the Macal river, the farm and the donkeys but also some of the tours that can be booked for a daily trip to Mayans ruins or caves.

The rooms were great, named after lovely birds encountered on the property, the food diverse (not the usual rice and beans!) and the campfire a plus!

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
80
214
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I spent a full week at Table Rock with my boyfriend just after New Years. We had an amazing time; beautiful nature, lovely owners, great food - and total relaxation. I'd go back anytime!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I really can't say enough about our stay at Table Rock. It was so "just right." My husband, 11-year old daughter and I arrived at the airport, were picked up by Alan, the owner, enjoyed an informative ride to the Belize Zoo (a great introduction to Belizean wildlife) and on to Table Rock. Our luggage was brought to our lovely room (the MotMot) and we were offered a cocktail on the deck overlooking the river. What a great start to a terrific 4-night stay!

The staff is amazingly flexible. You can do everything on your own, or they can organize transportation and activities for you. Because of our circumstances, we had Jen, the manager, organize everything for us. Bernard, our guide, brought us horse riding, zip-lining, cave tubing, touring Caracol and enjoying a dip in the Rio On pools. We had an absolutely fantastic time.

Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to just relax at Table Rock. The river is so clear and refreshing and the property so inviting, I would have liked another whole day just to hang out.

And I have to mention the helpful, welcoming staff and wonderful food (thanks, Chris)!! No run-of-the-mill dinners here. Everything freshly and imaginatively prepared with a heavy emphasis on local ingredients.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

My girlfriend and I spent four night/three full days at Table Rock, and we absolutely loved it. Not only was there a great diversity of birds and other wildlife, and all the wonderful sounds of the tropic forests day and night (in addition to a few faint, pleasant sounds of rural, agrarian Belize, such as donkeys braying, roosters crowing, and various emanations from the tiny village a few miles away), but the hosts/staff were engaging and welcoming, and the food was terrific. A brilliant spray of stars in the night sky. Also, good swimming (Macal River) and hiking trails. Table Rock is the perfect base camp for touring the various ruins and other sights in western Belize/eastern Guatemala. The staff at Table Rock will arrange pretty much any trip you need; they know all the guides and have visited most of the sites. I really cannot say enough about Table Rock.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

We were looking to get off the beaten path without giving up too many creature comforts. We found what we were looking for and more. Alan, Colleen, Jen and Chris are the most genuinely gracious hosts and have created a little pieces of heaven where you can get away from it all. Lay in the hammocks, canoe or swim in the river, pick fruit from the trees, have a cocktail, or do absolutely nothing at all here. Take a tour of the property with Alan if you have the chance. The owners arranged all of our tours (Caracol, ATM cave) for us with a great guide, Bernard.

The rooms are rustically elegant and have all of the amenities you will need. The food is excellent and I feel it is of value to say that I am trained as a chef. Plan to take most of your meals at Table Rock because it is a bit of a trek (15-20 mins on windy road) and not so advisable in the dark. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, and fruit (most from the property), local yogurt and homemade granola or bacon and eggs and is fairly simple. Dinner is more extravagant and elegant. Chef Chris combines french and japanese style with belizean specialties. Sample dinners included conch soup and cochia (local fish) with callaloo (local greens) over curried rice, as well as roasted chicken with Parmesan polenta and zucchini and carrots, and zucchini salad with chili vinaigrette and carribean lobster with local yams and clarified butter. Jen mixes a great cocktail at the bar. Be sure to hang by the fire pit with a few belikin bears after dinner. The owners are happy to share stories of life in Belize and you will no doubt hear the local wildlife in the trees as well.

The owners genuinely care for their guests and this property is a labor of love. They maintain their property and take care of their guests with integrity and care. The staff are actively engaged in making sure you have the best possible experience. If you are looking to get away from it all, have great food and drink, great company, beautiful scenery, and a memorable stay, choose Table Rock.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I had been staying in San Ignacio for a few days at Midas, and were ready to move on. The day prior we had driven to Carocal. We wanted to drive up again and go to the Rio On Pools, so we decided to find a place along that road. Using our guide book, we stopped at another lodge on the way up. My boyfriend was not impressed. Our guide book was quickly running out of options when we passed by a sign that said Table Rock Farm. We gave it a shot.

We arrived and were quickly impressed by the beautiful setting. It was a little more than we wanted to spend, but after we saw the room, we decided to splurge. We had a very enjoyable two-night stay. The dinner Chris prepared was a wonderful fresh fish with coconut rice and green beans. We were the only guests and sat at the table with Allan and Colleen (owners) and Chris and Jen (chef and concierge) - it was like being at a dinner party. After our meal Chris made a fire and we chatted until late in the evening.
The next day we had a tour scheduled and woke up early to a delicious fresh and healthy breakfast .

During our stay we had the occasion to walk down the path to the river and use one of their canoes. There are also two hammock cabanas for relaxing. We were sad to go, but had reservations on Caye Caulker to get to. I would highly recommend a visit to Table Rock if you are staying in the Cayo District.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Table Rock was an absolutely marvelous place to stay right on the river. Thank you so much for making it a place like home (don't I wish home was like that!) Colleen and Alan bend over backwards to make sure everything is as you would like. Chris is absolutely fantastic with his cooking. We were fortunate enough to stay over Thanksgiving. The meal was superb and I still want to grow cocoa yams! All the meals were divine. Jen was extremely friendly and somehow was able to make any drink desired, which is rather difficult with limited ice. The grounds are so well maintained. The girls that are hired as help were as sweet as could be.
As you enter the resort, it feels like you are entering the gates of heaven.
The hammock cabana by the river is never mentioned, and to me that is one of the nicest things about Table Rock. There is a cabana with hammocks right at the river's edge. The entire area is beautifully landscaped (and this was only weeks after a major flood mind you). Great access to canoes so that you can be in the river anytime you would like. And did I mention how wonderful the river is? Canoeing is one of the best things there. But then, there are so many "best" things.
It is not a cheap place to stay, if that is what you are wanting. However, for the price, it is one of the best places we have seen in our many vacations in Belize.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Table Rock Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Address: on the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Table Rock Jungle Lodge is an eco-lodge in a canopied rainforest setting unlike any other in the Cayo Distict of Belize. With only 6 cabanas on our 105-acre Macal River reserve, you can enjoy the intimate rainforest setting and the sights and sounds of the Belizean jungle. Hike, swim, canoe, birdwatch, or just indulge in serious relaxation. Close to all the major Mayan archaeological sites and natural wonders of Belize, and only 5 miles outside of San Ignacio, Table Rock is the ideal location for your next adventure holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Table Rock Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Rock Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
Table Rock Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Rock Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.