We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Table Rock Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
On the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th NIGHT FREE!
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Even better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place is like a dream, even better than the reviews can portray and you just have to go here to understand. We stayed in mid June and had an absolutely amazing time. We spent a couple days doing tours.... if you can get Diego to do your tour in a cave/cave tubing you are in for a special treat but all the guides we had were great. We also spent a day just exploring the property and relaxing in the hammocks, both at our rooms and in the hammock palapa. If the river is at least a few feet deep, just grab a life jacket and float down the river, it is slow enough that you just lazily float along. Ranger, the German Shepherd will go along the river trail to meet you where you get out of the river. The food.... some of the best meals I have ever had and the open air dining with the jungle around you is so nice. Two of our group had dietary restrictions and they were accommodated flawlessly with just as delicious meals. With only five cabanas you get to know the other people staying there and one of the best things is hearing about the experiences they have had during the day and sharing your own. Walk around the property, visit and feed the donkeys!

Bring 98% Deet and put it on to keep the mosquitoes away. As long as we had that on the bugs left us alone. Be aware it is a good 90 minute ride from the airport and the roads can be a bit bumpy.

Now that you know about Table Rock, think long and hard about choosing to not stay here. This is one of those places that touches you and stays with you long after you leave. My only regret is the owners were not there when we were and we missed getting to meet the people that created this special place. The staff took perfect care of us though!

If (when!!) you go here, visit http://www.packforapurpose.org/docs/countries/belize/table-rock-jungle-lodge.shtml and use some space in your luggage to help the local schools!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    30
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
249
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Table Rock for 3 nights May 30 - June 2nd this year. Overall impression was that we absolutely LOVED it. The lodge is incredibly well done, set on 100 acres of beautiful jungle, including lots of orchard land. The Cabanas are simple and rustic but elegantly decorated. It is a very private place, when we stayed we were the only guests there the majority of the time. The BEAUTIFUL "restaurant" and bar cabana is open air overlooking the Macal River surrounded by lush, gorgeous jungle. The game/hammock cabana is located right next to that and the bartenders will serve you drinks wherever you would like. As you have probably all read, the food truly IS amazing. The food is fresh, elegantly conceived, beautifully executed and ALWAYS tastes good. Oh, and so do the drinks!
The staff there is truly SO friendly but in no way at all pushy. They are always there with a smile and good input for any questions you may have, but never badgering as we experienced at other resorts. Really a great team, and of course the owners are AWESOME! The camp dogs, Ava and Ranger are the cutest jungle pups and amazingly well suited to the environment. Even if you aren't a dog person ther never bother you at all but are there to give you a four legged tour of the property whenever you want. We honestly found them to be a plus of staying there!
The only real negative things I can say about the property are this:
-- You need to understand that there really IS NO air-conditioning. I knew this going into it but experiencing it was a different animal. I would certainly still go back knowing it now, but maybe I would have brought even more quick-dry clothing, you WILL sweat a lot, especially in the warmer months. As soon as the sun goes down it drops about 10 degrees and with light clothing, the light sheet and the fan set on high we were able to sleep without any issues.
-- The lodge is a good 15-20 minute bumpy drive up the rainforest road from San Ignacio. Taxi into town cost $25 one-way so plan to be there once you are there, and set up your tours through the lodge or make sure if you arrange with other operators to have them pick you up and drop you off there. We arranged our tours with other operators and had them set up to pick us up there for $10/pp. We didn't find this distance from San Ignacio an inconvenience because we WANTED to be in the jungle, and with the food as amazing as it is there's really no need to go anywhere else other than your adventures. However, remember to grab snacks in town, any meds you might need (think tylenol, anti-diarrheals, dayquil, etc) before coming up to the lodge, that way you don't have to make any unexpected trips out.

Recommendations::
-- We spent a day exploring the property's orchards, river trail, and feeding the donkies. We took a canoe up the river to Chaa Creek and paid $5/pp to use their GORGEOUS pool and hike their 8+ miles of hiking trails. We also had a very nice, although pricey, lunch there. We were very glad with our decision to stay at Table Rock, although using Chaa Creek facilities for one day was nice, and it's only a 25 minute canoe ride up the river.

Table Rock is a gem. If you're looking for a slightly rustic but beautiful place to really get you into the Belizean rainforest, it's a great place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at Table Rock. We would go to sleep and wake up with the sounds of the jungles. Everybody on the stuff and the owners themselves were amazing and tried to accommodate every request. The food was like in the best restaurants that we’d been to. If you have any dietary restrictions, the chefs would cook separately for you. There are just five units for now, so you get a feeling like it’s your personal resort.

The property itself is a huge orchard amidst jungles and it’s a pleasure to just walk there or go feed the resident donkeys. The river is swimmable and not crowded, in fact when we took a kayak upriver we were the only people there. We also did tubing, and one of the highlights was Ava, the owners’ cocker spaniel, tubing with me :-)

We bought a package with tours. We were hesitant about it since we didn’t like tours and big groups. But we didn’t need to worry. Our group was very small on all tours, there was just another couple besides us, and we had great time exploring caves, Mayan ruins and swimming at the waterfall. The guides were very knowledgeable and plain fun. As we understood, the groups are always limited to the Table Rock guests, and because the resort is so small, all the groups are small.

We definitely want to come back! Thank you Table Rock!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placencia, Belize
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Staying at a place like Table Rock you'd expect to be close to wildlife. But there's nothing like the ferocious roar of howler monkeys in the middle of the night to remind you that it's a jungle out there. For a minute I thought my husband had developed a terrible respiratory problem. Thank goodness there was enough moonlight to see that he was actually sleeping soundly, and not the one making all that racket. By the time the parrots started up in the morning I knew we were both going to live through the experience. Oh, I should mention that the service was polite, warm and attentive, the Laughing Falcon villa had gorgeous views, and the kitchen was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent 4 nights here for the beginning of our honeymoon and it was such an incredible visit. We had a rental car so the drive up there was pretty cool because it's half way up the mountain. We really loved the lodging and the quiet atmosphere. When we arrived we were greeted by Marty, who was always the nicest guy and always had a smile on his face. There is so much to do on the property, from hiking through the gardens with Ranger (one of their dogs) to canoeing upstream on the quaint and gorgeous Macal River. The owners were very pleasant and were fun to hang out with for drinks after a long day of adventuring. They are very helpful in setting up tour guides for you to the nearby ruins or any other excursions you may want to go on.

My only issue was the dining. The food was excellent but if you wanted to get out of the resort to eat, there really isn't any place close by you can just go grab something cheap and easy. Because it is an Eco lodge, there is no fridge, so we couldn't really go grab something to cook ourselves. The food is very fresh there and the chefs do a great job, however it is not very cheap with breakfast around 8USD, lunches at 14USD and dinner is 25USD. After 4 nights this added up pretty fast. So just take this into account when you stay here.

Also, just be aware, you are in the jungle in thatch houses, so there are some critters. I didn't mind at all though, it made for a great story.

Room Tip: We stayed in the MotMot room which was great because we had our own little private yard with a hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Table Rock. We were only there for 3 days before heading out to Ambergris Caye. We were on excursions all day for 2 days, so we didn’t really get to do the tubing, canoeing, or exploring the trails and farm. The owners and all of the staff are very nice and accommodating. Elejio was very helpful when I emailed about a food allergy and told us where to buy rum and juice on the way there. Jose welcomed us and introduced us to Marty, the other bartender. We were in the Orependola Cabana, which was very pretty and big, as well as private, with lots of places to put things. It is also very near the parking area, so easy to go back and forth. When we first arrived and the sweat was just beading on my face, I thought I will never be able to sleep tonight, but happily, we turned on the big fan and poured some cool run drinks and sat on our pretty front porch facing the jungle in our cool hammock chair swings. We met the doggies, we totally borrowed Ranger to sit on the porch with us. We brought lots of OFF, but never used any the whole time there. Later after we had more drinks at the lodge and dinner, and discussed the details of our Tikal excursion planned for the next day, we took showers in the cool river rock shower and went to bed and actually got COLD at night, and had to put a big fuzzy blanket on the bed. This was middle of May and may not be the case later on in the year. You will hear all sorts of jungle birds, frogs (loud!) and even monkeys (we brought earplugs). Saw pretty birds, mot-mots, toucans, heck even the insects were pretty. We had our own bat, we named him Fred. He hung out on our screen on the porch. The grounds are gorgeous, with winding stone pathways through tropical foliage which are lit with tiki torches and solar lights at night. They also light a kerosene lamp for you after you go down for dinner. Dinner was really good, we got the meal plan. Chicken was a little dry the first night but it was still good, with kind of a Thai peanut sauce for dipping, rice and beans, carrots. The next day for Tikal they packed us a basic breakfast to eat on the way. We had kept the thermos of coffee overnight and still had hot coffee the next day! I want one of those! The excursion to Tikal went great-we were with another couple also on their 10th anniversary trip, got lunch, shopped a little in Guatemala. The border crossing was not as crazy as I thought it would be. We had a rental car that we couldn’t take over the border. Next time, we’d go to that car rental place that will let you take one over the border and drive ourselves. Tikal is spectacular, but too much to write about here. The restaurant they took us to was pretty good (we were all hungry after climbing temples). Our guides were Zeke and Hugo. For our first time to go to Guatemala, it helps to have a guide to get you around. When we got back, we had more rum drinks (I liked the Canoe Tippers-they were like Hurricanes) and lamb, roasted potatoes, and fried plantains. I like my lamb more rare, but it was still really good-ate every bit. The chef’s name was Iceala. The next day we went to Caracol on our own in the rental after having a wonderful sit down breakfast. The hostesses, Elaina, Esperanza (?-I really hate when I can’t remember) were very sweet too. We stopped in the cute village of San Antonio to get gas on our way. Caracol was amazing and in our cabana they had a map of how to get there exactly, like where to check in at the forestry station, where to catch the military convoy, etc. I love touches like this. They let us borrow a cooler for our water and snacks to take on the trip. We had the best dinner tonight, Chef George cooked the plantain encrusted snapper, rice, and green beans. First course was cauliflower soup and I practically licked the bowl. We were always too full for dessert. The next day we had perfect vegetable stuffed omelets with cheese and bacon before checking out and heading to Belize City. There was fresh fruit always around to eat too. We really liked everyone at the lodge, Colleen and Allan were very nice and helpful and I loved reading the photo book they had in the bar about how they built the place. I had no problem reading in my room (I was on the side of the bed next to the bathroom, so used the vanity light and the one by the bed). We got wi-fi with no problem down at the bar-dining-rec areas. We still have plenty of ruins, waterfalls, pools, caves, and all sorts of things we missed, so we will probably be back some day.

Room Tip: Orependola has a king size bed, Laughing Falcon has a river view, but you can see the river from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 days in April 2013 and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in two different cabanas because when we booked the stay the room we wanted was only available for three days. The owners and staff were friendly and accommodating and the day we had to move the staff moved all our belongings to the other cabana and it was no problem. Both were cabanas were fantastic. The first one we stayed in was overlooking the Macal River. The jungle sounds were exciting and we woke to the roars of howler monkeys most mornings. There are only 5 cabanas there, which makes for an intimate setting. There is no pool or fitness center or any of that, just a beautiful setting with a fruit orchard.

There are canoes on site to use and we took one up the Macal River our first day there. The river and wildlife were great and we saw numerous birds and giant iguanas.

The food and service were absolutely fantastic and worth the trip there. The dinners were something to look forward to every day and after we left Belize I found myself misses chef George's cooking!

We loved staying at the Table Rock and highly recommend it. The lodge was conveniently located to San Ignacio, making a good base to visit the ATM cave and Caracol, and yet felt very secluded. We rented a car at the airport to get to the lodge and visit the surrounding areas, which I recommend doing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Table Rock Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Table Rock Jungle Lodge

Address: On the Macal River in the Jungle | Mile 5 Cristo Rey Road / PO Box 179, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Table Rock Jungle Lodge is an eco-lodge in a canopied rainforest setting unlike any other in the Cayo Distict of Belize. With only 6 cabanas on our 105-acre Macal River reserve, you can enjoy the intimate rainforest setting and the sights and sounds of the Belizean jungle. Hike, swim, canoe, birdwatch, or just indulge in serious relaxation. Close to all the major Mayan archaeological sites and natural wonders of Belize, and only 5 miles outside of San Ignacio, Table Rock is the ideal location for your next adventure holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Table Rock Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Rock Jungle Hotel San Ignacio
Table Rock Jungle Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Table Rock Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.