We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you come to Belize, the only place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
San Diego, California
1 review
“If you come to Belize, the only place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our first visit to Belize/Ka'ana and we will be definitely going back! We had the best 4 nights here. I can't speak enough how luxury and warm the place was. The staffed greeted us immediately and was so helpful the whole trip. Loved that it was very close to adventure! We went to the mayan caves and a day trip to Tikal. Some time just lounge around the room and pool with cocktails. We enjoyed having dinner in the restaurant here too. The food tasted authentic. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    34
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
50
237
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ambergris Caye
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We decided treat ourselves to a weekend anniversary adventure at Ka'ana. For two very busy people - it was the perfect getaway. We chose the meal plan option offered by Ka'ana and had breakfast and dinner included with out stay which was super handy because we just wanted to relax in comfort and take a break from it all. All the meals were delicious and it was a toss up sometimes to order the same thing because it was so good or try something new.

I did go to San Ignacio for a few hours one afternoon - great that it is so close by.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

This is a lovely resort and the staff are terrific. Food was excellent, service very good BUT if your casita is not opposite the waterfall pool, then you can hear noise from the road both day and night. would recommend only if road noise is not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

My new bride and I went to Belize on our honeymoon. We just got back home and already we're feeling "home-away-from-home" sick. To say that Ka'ana met every expectation would be a sincere understatement. They exceeded every expectation we had and we were pleasantly surprised with the level of professionalism, kindness, and welcomeness every member of their staff exuded. We were made to feel like rockstars with how much they were willing to do for us. Having never visited this beautiful country before, we were never made to feel like any of our questions were stupid. The staff was beyond helpful with their honest answers and recommendations for things to do and places to see. The rooms were gorgeous and clean! The restaurant fed us like royalty. The grounds were kept up and tended to daily. Any activity that we chose to do, Ka'ana arranged for transportation to and from which was a great help. Every driver/guide we had was courteous and very knowledgeable of Belize. We were never made to feel like tourists, even though we technically were, but rather guests in someone's home. They even went above and beyond and dealt with the airlines when my wife's luggage went MIA for 36 hours. They did all the grunt work for us and even called to give us updates on the status of the missing luggage so we could just chill in the meantime. We would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway. Ka'ana is small (only 15 rooms) which is nice because you never want to feel like you're on top of other guests while trying to relax and be in peace. This place is the epitome of tranquility. Not to sound like a commercial, but if you're looking for a place to stay while in Belize... treat yourself to Ka'ana. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Ka'ana is a bit outside St. Ignacio, but ideally situated in a quiet and peaceful area on the road from St. Ignacio to the border with Guatemala (and the road to Tikal). The service was impeccable, the rooms were well furnished, and the grounds were lush and beautiful (with a beautiful swimming pool). We asked the hotel to arrange a car and guide for a day-trip to Tikal and the arrangements were not only perfect, but reasonably priced as well. I have no complaints about this resort and highly recommend it. Finally, we went just before their high season and the room prices were extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We had an awesome experience at this resort. All this talk these days about Experiential Travel, Kaana truly provided us with the ideal platform for experiencing all that Western Belize has to offer. We got involved in all types of adventure activities - from crawling on our bellies over ancient artifacts and human sacrifices while descending down 500 feet into the Crystal Caves to the day trip into Guatemala to visiting the ancient city of Tikal all the time learning about the Mayan civilization through our excellent guides Edward and Wilbert. The knowledge and passion these guys have for their country is incredible.

The resort itself provided the perfect luxury haven after the adventure we enjoyed so much. But we also relaxed and wiled away many hours enjoying the company of all the staff along with the incredible culinary experience that truly topped off an amazing vacation. We could actually taste the fact that the arugula had just been picked from the on-site organic garden!

Overall I would have to recommend this resort to anyone thinking about traveling to belize. It's great to see that resorts in the Americas are finally catching up to the levels of quality and service that Asia has become so well known for!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

My Girlfriend and I spent our Thanksgiving vacation at Ka'ana Belize and it was amazing. The rooms are modern, spotless and so comfortable. The staff was so friendly and inviting, they literally became an essential part of our adventure. They helped us plan our vacation and made sure we took advantage of the country and all of its glory. The restaurant is 5 stars and is fairly priced. I have traveld to major resorts all of the world and I try never to eat at the hotel because its always a rip off. This is definitely not the case at Kaana. The fresh arugala and Mennonite sausage are must! They even have their own garden and EVERYTHING is fresh and organic.

Belize is a beautiful country that has so much to offer both for adventures and travelers who want to relax and have fun. Its untouched and full of genuine/friendly people.

If you do get a chance to visit, Kaana is located in a perfect spot to see all the highlights. I recommend the following attractions:

ATM (Mayan Cave Adventure)
Tikal (Guatemala Day Trip)
Cave Tubbing (Relaxing/Beautiful/Fun)

Kaana is a forward thinking/ground breaking establishment that is on to something special. Their resort and ideology is the future of boutique and luxury travel.
Cant wait to go back and I cant thank Kaana enough for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Spa is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name ‘Ka’ana’ meaning, ‘heavenly place’, this delightful boutique resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Boutique Resort And Spa Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.