We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in a tricky spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm in a tricky spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with my family for two nights while exploring the Mayan ruins of Tikal and could not agree more with the positive reviews on this site. Upon our arrival, there was a mix-up where my sister and I were given a room with one bed despite having requested two doubles, but not to worry - the staff found her an extra room for the first night while we were at dinner. The second night had us in a room with two beds and a hammock (!!) outside that felt like its own little vacation home. My parents had a room with a view of the pool and were also quite happy.

Speaking of dinner, the restaurant on-site was top notch, featuring a good selection of tasty local cuisine (fry jacks for breakfast were a particular favourite), though pricing there was a bit high by local standards - comparable to North American ones, which we didn't encounter anywhere else we stayed. This may be due to the fact that Ka'ana is somewhat hard to get to in rainy season, as one bridge was washed out on our way there. The waiters were all very personable and eager to make suggestions and jokes; no North American-style rushed orders here. The coffee with breakfast was nice and strong, as were the drinks at the bar if you wanted one.

The grounds of the hotel were expansive and fun to go for a walk around. We saw the local organic garden, though due to recent flooding not much was there when we visited. The staff somehow ensured there were lit candles at night along all pathways to avoid injuries and create a truly magical nighttime atmosphere.

This was a great place for my family to start our vacation. Thank you to the entire team at Ka'ana for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for one of the villas. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad we were able to have you and your family as our guests while you did some exploring and we're even happier knowing that you had a great time while you were there. You'll be happy to know that the organic garden is making a full recovery after all the rain. Our culinary team is also quite happy about that fact as well! We hope you all enjoyed the rest of your family vacation and if you're ever back in Belize, please do come and visit again. We'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    43
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
64
276
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ka'ana was the perfect retreat after exploring the nearby sites. Amazing staff, great food, and beautiful surroundings. We stayed in a casita which was basic but perfect for our needs since we only spent evenings at the resort. Highly recommend if you're coming to Cayo for adventure.

Nice extras: complimentary continental breakfast for 2, wi-fi, cable TV, $5USD cab ride from nearby San Ignacio

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! Your description of Ka'ana as being a perfect retreat after spending a day out exploring is spot on and exactly what we had in mind when creating the resort experience at Ka'ana. I'm so glad that you felt that way. On behalf of everyone here at Ka'ana, please know it was a pleasure having you with us and we're truly grateful that you took the time to share such kind words about your time with us. All the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ka'ana is definitely on of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The service was beyond impeccable, the food was excellent and the grounds were incredible. We had booked tours through a 3rd party and when we arrived late from one of our tours the manager Tatiana had called the tour company to check in on us! I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel and staff exceeded any expectations we could have had. We are deeply grateful for our time and experience there and hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Any room will be amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review of your time with us at Ka'ana! We're so grateful and really pleased to get confirmation that your trip was everything you hoped it would be and more. Please do come back to visit us, we'd be thrilled to have you here again. In the meantime, on behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, we wish you all the best for your future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We felt like it was our own private tropical paradise, even though they were booked. Privacy when you want it, excellent service when you need it. Room was just lovely. Staff was always happy to please. Must get Oscar, or Candy, to blend a magical drink for you. Try the pork chops and fish tacos -- really didn't eat anything we didn't like. Just a wonderful time. If you are thinking of going to Belize - you must try to stay at Ka'ana. We will be back. Hello to Carlos and Patricia - you are the best. Phil and Mauren Boling

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Phil & Maureen,

Thank you so much for your review! You guys were such a treat to have at Ka'ana. We were all looking forward to having you with us and we're so glad that you enjoyed your time as much as you did. We've shared hellos and kind words with the rest of the team and everyone's looking forward to welcoming you back here the next time your travels bring you back to Belize. Thank you again on behalf of the entire Ka'ana family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Everything about my stay at Ka'ana was magical. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the grounds are gorgeous and the staff is among the best you'll ever encounter. Each person we met was friendly and gave great advice for the best places to check out near the property. I cannot recommend Ka'ana enough... truly lovely

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback! How nice it is to know that you enjoyed your time here as much as you did. It was great having you with us and I know the team here at Ka'ana enjoyed the opportunity to share a bit of what makes a visit to this part of the country as special as it is. Thank you again for your kind words. We wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ka'ana in October for our anniversary. From the booking process to when we left everyone was amazing. We originally booked a Casita Suite. It was a lovely room. However on our first night we noticed a trail of rather large ants leading under the minibar. While we had noticed many bugs around our room (inside and out) we expected this because of the jungle type setting. However there were so many we knew this was not normal. We called the front desk and they sent someone to come look right away. They noticed a hole where they were coming from and said that they would move us to a new room. To our surprise and delight they upgraded us to the Master Suite with a king bed and a shower in the back garden. The bed was so comfortable, the tv had a great selection of channels and the wifi worked surprising well.

We had a few meals and drinks at the hotel and everything was perfect. My husband really enjoyed both the welcome drink and the drink that they gave us when we had a little overview orientation on our first night.

I personally enjoyed hanging out by the pool and watching the iguanas sun themselves.

The thing that I love most about this hotel is their partnership with a local school. They have a drink named after the school to help raise money for the kids that go there. They have also partnered with an organization called Pack For A Purpose. They encourage travelers to bring donations for the school. I was so excited when I read about this. We brought a suitcase full of school supplies. The hotel even arranged for us to deliver the supplies ourselves so we could visit the school. We were so inspired by the great work the teachers are doing there that we are further helping the school by paying for walls to be built between classrooms. Please if you stay at Ka'ana, consider helping out the school, even if it is some pencils and crayons.

Thank you Ka'ana for the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay at Ka'ana! We are so pleased that we were able to have you as our guests for such a special occasion as your anniversary. Thank you so much for the kindness you've shown the children of our adopt-a-school program. Your generosity is fantastic. Again, it was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Belize again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolzano, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I just came back from Ka'ana - what a stunning place! It is a real boutique resort, nestled in beautiful manicured gardens. From the moment you arrive, you feel just at home and in peace.
I was staying in two different villa types, as I kept on extending my stay over and over again. Both casitas were in perfect condition, very private and decorated in style. I loved the amenities, the small local touches, the gorgeous jungle views, ... The food was top notch as well. I was especially enthusiastic about their locally enspired and healthy choices. And I don't know how many delicious papaya smoothies I was drinking every day... I also did some relaxing massages at the spa, wonderful!
But of course, once you are in Belize you have to be active and explore the country as well. I knew about different options available but decided to do all tours directly with the experienced Ka'ana tour guides. And this was the best decision ever. They just organise everything so perfectly, answer all your questions (and I had many) and make every tour so much fun! These private tours - or better experiences - might be a bit more expensive than ordinary group tours, but are worth every single cent. So don't miss out on an exciting ATM tour and go to visit Tikal, one of the most magical places you can imagine.
Last but not least I have to mention the amazing Ka'ana people! Tatjana and her team make you feel so special! Everybody is smiling, friendly and helpful all the time. They know your name from day one onwards and never miss an opportunity to make your stay even better. To me they seemed happy and proud to work in such a special place.
Therefore, thanks so much to every single Ka'ana team member for making my stay just perfect. I really hope to be back soon again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we're thrilled you were able to experience some of what makes this country so special. We are so grateful that you took the time to share such kind words about your time with us. On behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, please know that we would love to have you visit us again and in the meantime, wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
2.5 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
11.2 mi away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#3 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Gaia Riverlodge
Gaia Riverlodge
#1 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hidden Valley Inn
Hidden Valley Inn
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#6 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Spa is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name ‘Ka’ana’ meaning, ‘heavenly place’, this delightful boutique resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Boutique Resort And Spa Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.