We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Luxury Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Oregon, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Luxury Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Ka'ana in early March 2013, between work commitments in San Ignacio area. What a fantastic stay! From the room to the spa to the restaurant food, everything was delightful. I have been in this area before and had exhausted most of the common tours, so the manager Jennifer was happy to find some different things for me to do. She arranged a horesback ride to unexcavated ruins (amazing!) and also a Maya cooking class with the mother and aunt of the chef at the hotel (fantastic and so fun!). The restaurant here is exceptional, really by far the best food I have eaten in Belize. Chef really knows what he is doing! The spa was lovely, I had a scrub and massage which were perfect after riding a horse and being a bit sore. Gorgeous pool, and very relaxed atmosphere. Also, great wifi and tv connection / reception.

Room Tip: If you want privacy, skip the balam rooms and splurge for something a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    34
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
229
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sykesville, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ka’ana’s Casita Suites from 16-20 March 2013. We stayed in Hun, Mayan for 1; closest to the restaurant and hotel desk. The Casista Suites are small duplexes; however, there was a family staying next door and we never heard a peep put of them! The beds were very comfortable, the shower was spacious with good water pressure, my husband was enamored with the cable TV, the pool was an adorable 2-story retreat, and the restaurant managed to please us for both breakfast and dinner for our entire stay. Ka’ana is right outside of San Ignacio. You shouldn’t plan on walking into town; need to grab a cab / transfer. We would definitely stay here again. We were considering some of the luxury jungle lodges, but was glad we chose Ka’ana because those lodges were a white knuckle 45+ minute drive from San Ignacio. We used Ka’ana as a base to explore Tikal, ATM Cave, visit Frio Cave/1,000 Foot Falls/Big Rock Falls, and go cave tubing. So glad I did not stay out in some of the remote jungle lodges. Ka’ana provided all the comforts I desired on beautiful grounds without the long, bumpy drive every time I wanted to go on a tour.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed in a one-bedroom villa at the lovely Ka’ana Resort. The facility is top-notch…comfortable, clean, well designed, nicely landscaped, and beautifully decorated with local Belizean art. The staff is earnest and they aim to please. If you want a tranquil, relaxing spot away from San Ignacio, but not too far away, then you should consider the Ka’Ana. After a day of exploring ruins, rainforests, rivers, and caves, it was wonderful to come “home” to the luxury of a refreshing pool and soft bed! Falling asleep with the frogs chirping and waking to birdsong made it clear that we were pretty close to nature, even if we were in the lap of luxury!
Breakfast was included with our package, and we especially enjoyed the johnnycakes and wonderful selection of fruit. Sometimes we ate in the restaurant, but depending on our plans for the day, we also had it in our room, or packed up to go. The staff was very kind about accommodating our schedule. Service in the restaurant can be slow, but if you let them know you have time restraints, they are able to speed things up. We ate dinner there a couple of times, but we found that the small menu was too limited for the six nights we were staying. The food was okay, but unlike the rest of the facility, not really good enough to warrant the price they charge. The presentation was nice, but everything was somehow lacking in flavor (I must say though, the bedtime treats were the exception…quite delicious!) There are a number of restaurants in San Ignacio where you can find a tastier meal for much less money…although the ambience won’t be quite the same as at the Ka’ana, if that is important to you. A few times we were able to hitch a ride into town (about 15 minutes drive) with one of the staff, but normally we had the front desk arrange for a taxi. They were very good about this, and we soon had the number of one of the local drivers so that we could use him to pick us up as well. I would suggest using the drivers they recommend, because in town tourists are charged higher taxi rates, particularly once the drivers find out you are staying at a nice place like the Ka’ana.
I chose the Ka’ana because I wanted to have a rainforest holiday without dealing with the isolation, bugs, limited water, and some of the other challenges that often come with it. There are other resorts out there where you may get a more genuine rainforest experience, but being so far from the highway (along a bad road) is a huge inconvenience when you have planned a number of excursions, or if you simply want to experience more of what the area has to offer. After spending a week in Cayo, I think we made a great decision to stay at the Ka’ana.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas are lovely. I heard some guests complaining that they felt too removed and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed in the 1 bedroom villa. It was beautiful, tranquil, and serene. The whole resort is lovely, the staff is kind. The main issue is that it is removed from the town (which is a main reason I chose the resort), but it does not offer all the amenities to simply stay there and not need to go to town. The restaurant severely limited. And they offer no service to drive people to town and pick them up, we must use a taxi. It's a beautiful place, just need to work on the service and management to really be what it aspires to be.

Room Tip: The 1 room villa with a pool is nice. The other rooms are not quite as private, but still very tranq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Intentionality is at the heart of this tiny pied à terre. Your semi-detached bungalow has a large room and bath, and an immaculate private garden with an outdoor shower. The paths are dense with plantings, tea-lights, torches and unobtrusive illumination. The small infinity pool spills over into a waterfall that enlivens a walkway below -- you could be in a sacred grove. An organic garden at the back supplies the restaurant. The staff are attentive, and very helpful with the wide range of private day-trips that you can book to local sites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed in the one bed villa for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect, the one bed villa was kitted out with everything we needed. The staff at Ka'anna are exceptionally hospitable, making you feel at home and doing everything to ensure you enjoy your stay. While we were there we enjoyed 2 tours, one cave tubing and the other a hike to a hidden waterfall. Both tours surpassed our expectations with exceptionally knowledgeable and pleasant guides. The highlight however was the food and drink which were of the highest standard, most of it grown on site. We looked forward to every meal and learned a fine appreciation of jalapeño infused margaritas! We hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a great place with really lovely and super friendly staff. The room was fantastic and as it was our anniversary they gave us an upgrade. Food was great, lovely cocktails in the bar. Can't recommend enough. My wife particularly liked the little handmade bed time treats left in the fridge for us each night. We did the Tikal Tour and again the guides were brilliant. Pablo was just so amazingly knowledgable and had so much extra info on his iPad. Didn't get to do the ATM cave so we'll have to go back !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Spa is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name ‘Ka’ana’ meaning, ‘heavenly place’, this delightful boutique resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Boutique Resort And Spa Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.