We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventurous trip for a young couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 17 hotels in San Ignacio
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Adventurous trip for a young couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We recently spent time traveling in Belize and our first stop was the Ka'ana hotel. We were there two nights and thought it was the absolute best place to stay. They gave us free rides into town and even had the restaurant call to pick us up so we could come back and not pay for cabs. The service was great and so was our room. There were only a few couples in the units so we felt we had a private hotel to ourselves. We also did the orientation from the manager or owner whihc was held in a fantastic wine cellar. They brought us breakfast to our room complimentary every morning and it was exactly what we needed before our days of adventure. Then it was nice to come back to the resort after and have welcoming faces and a pool to ourselves. We will highly recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a place to stay in San Ignacio. We were a young couple and this was our first get-away so a positive experience was greatly appreciated.
You really are in the middle of the jungle!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Belize and Ka'ana. I'm so happy that you enjoyed the service and amenities at Ka'ana and that you were able to get a great cave experience despite the storm. You're right, our tours are all private and it really does allow for a great level of flexibility and customization. You're able to make it your very own! I appreciate your feedback on your dining experience with us and we'll definitely take it into account as we continue to work to actively define gourmet Belizean cuisine and provide farm-to-table dishes. Again, thank you for visiting and on behalf of the entire Ka'ana family, we wish you the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    33
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
225
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Upon arrival at Ka’ana, we were greatly impressed with our welcome. My first impression of this boutique resort was that of excitement and anticipation of a great stay—the property was gorgeous! Our first evening at dinner, we were all so excited to sample the menu…and our meal was delish. I, for one, was excited to try every item on the menu, including the sweet corn pina colada!

As our four night trip continued, we became a little jaded with the slow service—which some may say is the relaxed Belizean pace (not the case everywhere). We booked a tour to Tikal through the hotel and were later stunned by not only the service fees attached to our trip, but also the taxes! The hotel did not make this clear, as we also generously tipped our guides and driver.

After this, we inquired about additional tours and learned through some research that the prices Ka’ana quoted us were DOUBLE the exact tours that we priced locally. Do NOT book your tours through the hotel. Lastly, we got our statement and calculated that the advertised service fees—12.5%—were actually 13.75%! We didn’t mind paying…what we minded was the lack of honesty and transparency from Ka’ana. Based upon this, I would recommend staying elsewhere when in Belize.

Room Tip: Casita 2 was great; beware of $40 USD extra person over 2 charged per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi there! I'm happy to know that your first impressions of our resort, the grounds, your room, and dining experience was a great one. I'm disappointed that you felt we did not communicate properly with you during the booking process and while, after looking back at the email correspondence between our reservations team and your group, I can see that we listed that all our services are subject to a cumulative government tax and service charge, it is obvious that we did not make this clear enough and will make a point of doing so in the future. We pride ourselves on the quality of our touring experiences and try to only use the best guides. Also, our tours are all private, ensuring that your experience is customized and personal and you're on your own schedule, mapping your own course. This is how we differentiate ourselves from other tour companies, because we want to ensure that the quality of your experience is consistent throughout. Again, we will take your feedback into account and hope that overall, your time in Belize was a great experience and on behalf of the Ka'ana team, truly wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We are a very active and adventurous couple and chose 2 weeks in Belize for our honeymoon. Our first 10 days were split between Placencia in the South and Ambergris Caye in the North. The final four days of our trip were spent at Ka'ana between San Ignacio and Benque Viejo. I must say the final four days were by far the best! Ka'ana is great if you like exploring and adventure. They have a really nice in-house setup with their guides and tours. Each tour they set up is a private tour. You wouldn't think this would make a difference but it truly does. You get a unique personalized experience, that in my opinion allows you to get all the answers to your questions and more. In our time there we visited the nearby Mayan ruins of Xunantunich (only 15 min from Ka'ana) and our guide, Nosario, was a lifelong local guide who had actually worked on the excavation of the ruins previously and had a wealth of knowledge about the site and the area. Our second trip was to the Actun Tunichil Muknai (ATM) cave. Once again our guide was knowledgable and personable and the tour was amazing culminating in being up close and personal to Mayan artifacts and the bones of sacrifices. If you are very adventurous and fit, this is the tour for you. We did saw some great sights during our time in Belize, but the ATM cave tour took the prize! Our final tour was to the legendary site of Tikal in Guatemala. Once again we went with Ka'ana guide Wilburt (a walking encyclopedia!), who helped us through the Guatemalan border and introduced us to the Guatemalan guide, Sam. While, Sam took us through the Tikal tour Wilburt waited for us and had lunch waiting when we were finished. At Tikal, the Guatemalan guide does the actual tour, but it was nice to have our Belizean representative there with us as well to help bridge the gap (though there was no real "gap" to speak of). Overall the tours were great and the highlight of our trip! The facilities at Ka'ana are top class as well. We were unhappy with the original room due to the bed squeaking, which I think they fixed, and we were promptly moved to another room without any hassle. The dining was fantastic with local ingredients fresh from their in house garden. We requested a dinner outside by the fire for our final night, and were treated to a very nice romantic dinner. The staff were all exceptional too and the feeling of the small boutique resort was very intimate. The ONLY thing that Ka'ana could improve on in my opinion was the spa. Keep in mind I am being super critical. Overall we had a great experience and would love to return for more adventures. We have already recommended it to the in-laws, as they love traveling and adventure. Ka'ana is a special place that has left us with lifelong memories and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your time in San Ignacio and at Ka'ana! We truly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Your itinerary was ideal and I'm glad you got to experience 3 of our favorite adventures as well as the passion of the guides. You're right, they're like walking encyclopedias! We'll keep you updated on our spa as we've got some fun plans for enhancing that experience and it's good to know that you agree it's where our focus should be. Thank you again for such a great review! We wish you all the best for your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our honeymoon stay (Aug 3-7, 2012) at this resort was an amazing experience. First impression was that of great service as the manager was very flexible and generous with us due to impending hurricane Ernesto. The resort is a small, boutique but very top notch, relaxing, and romantic. The bar, restaurant, and pool are all excellent and the attention to detail is impressive. Every night while at dinner we returned to our room with candles lit and a midnight snack waiting in the fridge. We arrived to a hand written personal note from the manager, as well. The resort also set up a private dinner by the pool waterfall for us at no extra charge = very romantic!
Pool = smallish infinity pool with waterfall, great place to relax, catch the jungle scenery, and watch the resident iguanas
Bar = best sweet corn coladas. Fresh ingredients, very quiet setting, fire pit out back, slightly expensive
Restaurant = since we stayed 4 nights with meals included we got to try everything...it was excellent food, definitely no complaints. The snapper was the highlight of the menu. All dishes are definitely pricey. Room service is included, however, in all prices = breakfast in bed everyday!
Rooms = we had a balam room which was standard. Wifi and television with all channels were a plus. VERY comfortable beds and a nice bathroom with walk in stone shower area.

Hint - DO NOT book tours thru the resort....very pricey. For example, we paid $85 each to do ATM caves thru a tour company which would have cost us $200 each plus 25% tax thru the resort.
Hint - 12.5% sales tax plus 12.5% resort "service charge" means that staying here, enjoying food and drinks, spa, etc. will put a dent on the pocket book.

The great service and staff plus tremendous setting and amenities made up for the few drawbacks of staying here. Our honeymoon stay here was definitely one we will never forget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review! I'm very happy that you were able to have an incredibly romantic time with us for your very special occasion. It seems, however, that we might not have communicated clearly enough about the mandatory 12.5 government tax we charge or the 10% service charge that's added to your bill (this basically means that tipping is not required as the service charge is divided equally amongst our staff). We'll definitely be sure to do a better job of this! While our tours are more pricey because of the quality of guides that we employ and the fact that they are private and set at your own pace and can be customized to your tastes, I'm just really glad that you were able to do the ATM caves as it's truly one of the most amazing adventures that this region has to offer. Again, I appreciate your feedback and on behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, thank you again and all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I picked Ka'ana Resort because I need a quiet place to relax after leaving Afghanistan. I chose Ka'ana because it appeared to offer me what I needed. The correspondence with the staff when I was making my arrangements was exemplary. Now Ka'ana was a bit pricey but overall it was worth it. Sadly it is priced way to high for the local community to come and have meals there for special occasions. I think they should foster that. We, my girl friend and I, didn't use them for our explorations because they were priced higher than everyone else. We went with Belize Magnificent Tours for our tours and shuttle services because of the pricing. But for the food, the service and accommodations they were top of the line!! It was exactly what i needed to relax and rejoin civilization. The grounds are immaculate, the food was exquiste and service was timely and friendly. Would i go back to Ka'ana? Definitely!! Alibi, I had mentioned that we would like a special couple's dinner and they asked us what we like to eat. When we returned from our wanderings with Belize Magnificent Tours, they had a very nice surprise waiting for us. With the choice of foods we liked. Outside with a nice little fire blazing, very romantic. Definitely bonus points.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi there! Thank you for your review! I'm very happy that we were able to provide what you needed to relax and rejoin civilization and I think it's great that you chose Belize as the destination to do so. We appreciate your feedback on the highlights of your stay as well as your thoughts on appealing more to our local clientelle. As a matter of fact, when Ka'ana was opened we knew that we wanted to encourage Belizeans to come and experience the resort and as a result created a local club that offers members special offers and opportunities exclusive to them as Belizeans. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review and on behalf of the entire Ka'ana team, we wish you all the best for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

San Ignacio was our first stop in Belize, and staying at Ka'ana for the first 3 nights was very pleasant. By far, I believe this hotel is probably the best in San Ignacio. They offer complementary shuttle services to and from town, which made it super easy to explore the town. Another great thing about Ka'ana Resort is they have excellent customer service and the rooms are extremley clean. If you need anything, room service is there immediately. We also really liked the fact that they had a restaurant on their resort. It made ordering food and breakfast very easy, the food was mediocre.

Cons:
Pool was kind of cold to swim in at night

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for considering us the best place to stay in San Ignacio! We love being able to give our guests a very personalized and special experience while in Belize and at Ka'ana and I'm glad you got that during your stay! We appreciate your feedback and hope that the rest of your time in Belize was everything you hoped it would be. Thanks again and best of luck for your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We travelled to Belize in June and stayed at Ka'ana for the first week of our vacation. Our experience of the resort is one we shall not forget. We were greeted upon arrival with a refreshing drink and welcomed warmly to the resort and to Belize itself. The resort is stunning. The grounds and accommodation are first class. The La Ceiba Restaurant at Ka'ana served mouth-watering food and it was so nice to experience the use of local ingredients in the menu choices. The desserts are out of this world! Nothing was too much effort and the staff were faultless. Their knowledge in respect of Belize itself and the tour experiences on offer were extremely valuable in making the right choices. The guides on the tours we took made each an interesting and memorable experience which added to the overall vacation. I would not hesitate to recommend Ka'ana and look forward to returning there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna E, Manager at Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review and for your very kind words! There really is nothing that compares to knowing that our guests were able to experience everything that makes this destination as unique, culturally-interesting, and special as it is. We do hope that you'll be able to come back and visit again as we're continuing to grow the on-site organic garden and add even more authentic Belizean inspirations to the cuisine. Again, thank you for writing about your time with us and we wish you all the best for your future travels and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: Mile 69 1/4 Benque Viejo Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Family Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ka'ana Boutique Resort & Spa is Belize's first Small Luxury Hotel of the World. True to its Mayan name ‘Ka’ana’ meaning, ‘heavenly place’, this delightful boutique resort, set in tropical gardens, offers exceptional accommodation in charming cottages with fine dining, superb service and easy access to ancient Mayan sites and numerous thrilling activities. Enjoy the best of Belize - its people, its food, and its attractions at a world class resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka`Ana Boutique Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Ka Ana Boutique
Ka'Ana Boutique Resort And Spa Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.