We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value, Best Staff, Best Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Guesthouse
Save
You added Martha's Guesthouse to your Saves list
10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Value, Best Staff, Best Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I recently had the honor, and privledge, of taking my 85 yr. old father to see Belize, one of the last items on his bucket list. The staff was most accomadating to my father needs, and mine as well. Martha the owner, was very helpful, most kind, and generous when it came to everything we asked of her, she especially had a great deal of patience when it came to my high maintenace Dad. From Melody Landero, the front desk manager, to Lucy the housekeeper, I couldn't have had it any better than we did. The rooms were just perfect, the laundry the service great, and the location of the hotel is ideal. Everything was within walking distance, stores, restaurants, banks, and pharmacies, and taxis. Don't pass up the opportunity to stay there while your in San Ignacio, Belize, its a great value.

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, and YES, I will be returning

Sincerely,

Adriana King, San Antonio, Texas

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    71
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
20
66
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our 2nd stay with Martha. It is truly the best bang for the buck in San Ignacio. Very clean and comfortable.really good food. We stayed on the top floor of the annex for both visits. It's an easy walk to the hotel proper in the center of town. We really like the annex for it's location. Just a little off the main street, so it's more quiet. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds and the showers actually work very well by Central American standards. 15 minute walk to Cahal Pech (uphill) or a $ 5.00 cab ride. 10 to 15 minute cab ride to the ruins at Xunantunitch. Hugo , Martha and John are all very helpful and willing to arrange shuttle service or day trips. It's really the perfect place to use as a base for a visit to this region.

Room Tip: Stay in the annex, it's newly renovated. much more quiet, very comfortable. top floor has the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We drove to St Ignacio from Belmopan, which was a scenic 40 minute drive with lots of villages and things to see along the way. Coming into the city on Saturday market day was a bit daunting in terms of finding parking, the few spots Martha's has were taken, we parked a block away and managed two grab one of the prime spots later. But the Saturday market is definitely worth seeing, lots of locals from all different groups, and great fresh food and fruit. We grabbed some fruit and papusas and sat on the banks of the river eating.

The town is much more lively than Belmopan or San Pedro, and also feels more relaxed and friendly. Martha's was a great place to use as a base to explore, with great breakfasts, and comfortable rooms, at least ours was. It's nothing fancy but it was clean, good AC, mini fridge, microwave, wifi and dependable hot shower. We shelled out for a junior suite and were happy with it, comfortable bed as well! It is a bit rustic, especially the bathroom, but it's very clean and the staff are helpful and easygoing.

The location is perfect for exploring the town and also Cahal Pech ruins just up the road, Xunantunich, etc, we also took a day tour to Caracol via Pacz tours that was super worth it (see separate review). We also stopped in on the iguanas at St Ignacio Resort which was interesting and a fun photo op to see so many iguanas in one place. There are also many great restaurants and food stands in St Ignacio!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dangriga, Belize
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Whether with large groups of volunteers or solo, by far my favorite place to stay in San Ignacio, Belize. Beautiful rooms with local art on the walls, big beds, clean bathrooms. In the center of town but a lovely little oasis with colorful flowers planted around the building and on the veranda that looks over the bustling streets. Upstairs room (#10) has 2 king beds, beautiful ambiance and an AMAZING veranda view....great chill out spot for groups traveling together. All rooms are nice, truly can't go wrong. Average 50$ US, a little more or less depending on room and time of year. Martha and John, the owners, are so kind and helpful. Restaurant on site is pretty good, from pizza to stew chicken, rice an beans. Easy walk from the bus station, market and all the restaurants and guide companies.

Room Tip: Ask for a King bed...you will sleep great.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Martha's Guesthouse is a great choice for staying in San Ignacio. The rooms are average size but clean and comfortable, with AC and a private bath. We stayed with a group of people and each room was a little different but all were comparable.

The small restaurant has a limited menu but the food was tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My brother and I decided to stay at Martha's on our stop to San Ignacio.
The location is perfect, close to downtown.
Room were clean, comfortable with all the basic needs (towels, soap, water bottles...).
We ate there all our meals and found them very delicious.
The owner and staff were very friendly. They help us out for our get away to the ATM caves, our guide were amazing and the best was to do it early morning when no one is there yet. We got the magical quite moments. They also find us a shuttle to go back to Guatemala country
It was a real pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Martha's to be told that the room we reserved was unavailable as the current guests had decided to stay on another night. We had been allocated a room in the guesthouse (a totally different building 5 mins down the road).

After this initial disappointment we were driven to our new place and shown the room which surpassed our expectations. The room was large, clean with a big king size double. The only strange thing was the saloon style door on the bathroom which made privacy whilst using the toilet a bit of an issue!

We found Martha and her team to be extremely friendly and helpful (which was surprising considering the initial mess they made of our reservation). I would have happily stayed here for longer if our travel plans had allowed.

We did the ATM tour with Mayawalk Tours here. They were the cheapest by 10US (85US each) but I found the director of the company extremely pushy and full of crap. Fortunately our guide, Martin, was exceptional. He was extremely knowledgable and I felt that he tried to add to our experience wherever he could whereas other groups just rushed along with little or no explanation of what they were looking at.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.