We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Martha's; A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Guesthouse
Save
You added Martha's Guesthouse to your Saves list
10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Martha's; A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Martha's offers a nice clean and spacious place to stay in San Ignacio. It is really close to everything, Burns street and lots of restaurants and about 25 mins walk to the ruins.
Martha's staff are friendly and helpful and the airconditioned rooms is a welcome retreat from the heat of San Ignacio, In addition, Martha's has a restaurant on site that provides complimentary breakfast to its guests.

Room Tip: I chose airconditioning but some rooms offer ceiling fans. The views are not the greatest but the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
77
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Martha is a warm, competent, and genuine person, who made us feel at home instantly. This place is clean, comfortable, and convenient to downtown and area attractions. Our balcony looked over the hills and town with a great view. Martha seems to know everyone in town, and can get anything you need done. We had tight schedules and business trips to make, and the staff took care of everything smoothly. John is a treasure trove of Belize history and culture, and an excellent driver. The restaurant was great, too. Excellent food and great patio dining. Many nice little touches made this feel like home. We'll never stay anywhere else in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My stay here was great! I came to Belize with My Dental Team for a Mission trip, we had the whole place to ourselves!! it was small nice and very clean!!! The rooms were always stocked with clean towels and the bed was always made! (I know you are supposed to make your own bed but we were on a mission getting up at the crack of dawn) The people their were very friendly and always had a smile on their face! the food is amazing!! you have to try pops and Hoodies if that the correct spelling!! Belize is a beautiful place you must go there!!! I stayed her June 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, it was a step up in price and accommodations compared to the other hotels I usually stay at in San Ignacio. My room was very nice and the general location was
near the other tourist necessities like restaurants, shops, and banks. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. I wouldn't think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went to St.Ignacio to stay for 2 days at Martha's Guesthouse and ended up staying much longer. The staff was very attentive and my room was spacious and clean. The location is perfect as it is close to the action of Burns Avenue but not directly over it. They arranged transport to the Guatemalan border and on to Tikal that was effortless. I left a very expensive dental appliance in my room and the maids retrieved it and it was put on a plane for San Pedro. A very well run and safe establishment

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Overpriced. Didn't even include any free bottled water, as every other hotel, even the most inexpensive we stayed at,,did. Martha's was also the only one which did not have a computer for guests.
It was very clean. However, a poor deal compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed in a small suite on the second floor. The room was adequate, with the basic necessities such as towels, soap and hanging space.

Location of the guest house is good.

I had three concerns:

1. Noise from the upstairs room. The floor upstairs may have been timber, because I got very little sleep from constant and loud noise from people walking.
2. I found the owner unfriendly, abrupt and unhelpful.
3. I had a vehicle and there is a small parking area adjacent to the guest house. However, it is effectively on the road, not secure and very dusty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#15 of 17 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#4 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.