We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a group!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Guesthouse
10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Continental Breakfast!!
Ranked #15 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent for a group!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our group of 12 was given an entire house down the street from Martha's Guesthouse which is also a part of the facilities they rent... it was CLEAN and charming in it's decor complete with a full kitchen, common living room area on the 3rd floor with local tour guide books and comfortable seating. The rooms were spacious, with AC and up to date bathrooms and balconies. We were also able to arrange to have all of our laundry done for us OVERNIGHT! Overall.. Very accommodating, reasonable and a clean, safe choice while visiting San Ignacio!

Room Tip: For a larger group... inquire about the separate "guesthouse" that is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    65
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
20
60
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We moved from Midas Resort to Martha's Guesthouse because we wanted to be closer to the action and were tired of walking. This was a great move for us. We were able to get an air-conditioned room for the first night and then moved to the penthouse for the second night. The first room was clean, cool and comfortable. The penthouse was huge and for the price included breakfast. We had our own private veranda. The only down side to the penthouse was that there was no AC so we had to keep the doors and windows open all night. We happened to be staying in it on a Saturday night so the music was blasting at a near by night club until 4 AM. The prices of the rooms were great also. We ate dinner and a breakfast at the attached restaurant and had no complaints on the food or atmosphere. Lastly we had been traveling for a week and needed to do our laundry. There was a convenient laundry that was part of Martha's Guesthouse and the lovely lady running the laundry was very helpful. We booked the shuttle from the Guesthouse with another couple who were staying here and had a nice ride back to Belize City. In the end we were glad we changed hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We enjoyed our three nights with Martha even though we might prefer to stay outside of town the next time. Being birdwatchers, we like to be able to get up early and walk around a more rural setting.

The room was very nice, with a refrigerator, tv, and wifi. Martha is a real entrepreneur! Her nearby restaurant was very good; the cilantro soup helped cure our travel tummies. And she even sold us one of the brightly-colored Guatemalan bedspreads off the bed.

We did have a little trouble getting hot water for a shower one night, but they cheerfully got it repaired the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Martha's for two nights in April 2012, traveling as a couple with one 17 year old girl. We were picked up promptly at the Int'l airport (John was waiting for us) and drove to San Ignacio, with a stop at the zoo on the way. We stayed in the First Lady suite on the fourth floor and it was nice, clean with a great breeze and a nice view. (Note that they need a shower curtain around the tub and a lock for the bathroom door.) We also ate a couple of meals at their restaurant it it was fine. Right in the city center so everything is close. It is hard to pick someplace to stay if you have never been to where they are (this was our first trip to Belize), but we chose Martha's and were very pleased with the choice. Price was great, service good, very clean. Also gave us a ride to the Municipal airport in Belize City to fly on to Ambergris Caye. Altogether a nice place.

Room Tip: First Lady suite is on the fourth floor, gets you above everything with a nice breeze. Late night m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

we stayed a week in san ignacio at Matha's Inn, run by the same people who own Martha's Guesthouse. It was a spacious room with a microwave and refrigerator. each morning we left two bottles of water to get cold. it was great. it was quiet and a five minute walk from center of town. we drank the water from the tap as we were told the town water was treated and never had any problems.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

we stayed 2 nights on the 3rd floor and we loved it. room 7 has 2 beds, a nice bathroom, and a porch. there were fresh flowers in the room when we got there. best part about staying at martha's was the laundry service! we paid $8BZD to have our laundry done for us, which is the best money we spent all vacation! its close to everything downtown, but not right on the main square. you can hear some noise from clubs/bars at night, but its not horrible. they told us breakfast started at 7, but at 7:20, we were still waiting outside. we had a tour that was picking us up at 7:30, so we had to call and tell them to come later. the next morning was the same thing, no one seemed to be in a hurry to open the restaurant. overall, we were very pleased with the accommodations and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: higher you are, the less street noise you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

There are some fine hotels a bit outside of San Ignacio with quiet locations but Martha's Guesthouse is probably the best within the town itself. We stayed in the First Lady Suite on the 4th floor, and although it was a bit of a hike it was a fantastic room - lots of room, and a huge balcony where my 5-year old daughter and I went to sleep at night. The restaurant is also excellent - try the fish burritos!

Room Tip: You might be able to get a lower rate if you decline breakfast when you book the room; you could sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martha's Guesthouse to your Saves list