We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best InTown Lodging and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martha's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martha's Guesthouse
Save
You added Martha's Guesthouse to your Saves list
10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Kemah, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best InTown Lodging and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Martha’s Guest House is listed as B & B. Actually, in my book this is a boutique hotel. Three stories and ten rooms with secure staff-attended entry lobby and attached small but full-service restaurant. When traveling solo, I often hop from hotel to hotel. Such activity is not acceptable when traveling with my wife. Martha’s was my third hotel in the five day stay in San Ignacio. After a night on the two terrible beds (same room at Cahal Pech Village Resort) I vowed newer again abandon Rule #1 – Inspect room before check-in. After brief introductions and price negotiation (Rule #2 - seek a senior’s discount) I was shown to 3rd floor room #9. The owner Martha was in the room addressing staff on the finer points of cleaning shower tile. Large tastefully-decorated corner room with lots of windows, views of palms and nearby hillside, great ventilation with adjustable ceiling fan, over-size shower, and comfy king-sized bed. Phone, television, optional A/C, dressing table and small dining table and even a rocking chair.
The intended one night stayed turned into three nights. Martha is not only a seasoned hotelier but also a notable chef. The quality of food in the restaurant was great. Everything, from pizza cooked by the slice to hamburgers to steaks & seafood to local cuisine, as well as many regional favorites. The escabeche (onion and chicken soup) was unbelievable. Don’t discount the coctail menu with one of the best margaritas I have found in Belize. They use a fine traditional recipe of equal parts quality tequila, triple sec, and fresh lime juice. I highly recommend Martha’s Guest House. For early coffee (opens 6:30 AM) and great breakfast try Pop’s diner and it located just around the corner.

Room Tip: rear corner rooms seem larger with and have good venilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    80
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
25
77
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Martha's was a fantastic guesthouse, complete with attentive staff. We stayed in the fourth floor "penthouse" a/k/a the "First Lady Suite." It was very spacious, housing 2 beds and a large bathroom. The highlight for us was the great balcony that overlooked the town of San Ignacio. The balcony had seating as well as a hammock for relaxing. This room included the "American Plan" for breakfast at Martha's restaurant, which gave us choices from the menu for up to $15 BZ each. The food was delicious, fresh, and filling! During the day when we were touring around, we utilized the offer to keep our valuables in the hotel's safe in the office. We encountered no difficulties with this procedure.

The only drawback from staying at this location was the cacophony of urban noises that permeated the air, especially at night...and late at night. While we found the sounds of street dogs fighting and children crying to be somewhat benign, the pounding bass and accompanying music that filtered out of the Blue Angel nightclub until 2 am on Thursday and Friday and 3:30 am on Saturday night made it difficult to sleep. The fact that the entire town had to endure the loud music made it somewhat more bearable. Yet, there is no question in my mind that that type of flagrant noise violation would be tolerated by neighbors in a different country.

Overall, we loved Martha's...we just wished that they could turn down the music - just a notch.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with Room 10 - the "First Lady Suite."
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

First off this place is expensive and not worth your money. They do not provide shampoo nor body soap. We were also told that the rate included a continental breakfast and were lied to. In the morning we were ready to eat and the staff told us that there was not breakfast being served and there was nothing they can do. Horrible customer service!! My husband and I were not happy with this place at all

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

My family of six stayed here and had a wonderful time. The location is great, since it is in the heart of San Ignacio and a stone's throw away from all the tour companies. The two rooms we occupied were spotless and comfortable. I did wish that the bathrooms were better lit and had a thicker door, to afford more privacy. Also the television in one room could have been bigger, but we weren't in Belize to watch TV so it was fine. The breakfast included with the price of the room was just okay as it was lacking in quantity and variety, and the service was very slow. The service in the guesthouse was fantastic and the people at the desk were really helpful and nice. Also they helped coordinate various taxi and shuttle services that we needed, which worked out perfectly. At night there were strains of music from the club outside but it didn't bother us. Since we were in Belize at the height of summer, the air conditioning was much appreciated and the rooms were always nice and cool. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are going in the summer, definitely get a room with air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrived and asked for three nights. We were offered the suite on the top floor. But after we looked at it, it turned out the staff didn't know whether the guy who was in it the night before was actually still in it - this being mid-afternoon.

After an hour of ringing around and waiting (we dumped our bags and went round town), it turned out he was, so we had an ordinary room for the first night and moved into the suite the next night.

Then it turned out that the suite was already booked for the third night, but by the time we were told this, the hotel was already full, so we were turfed out without even an apology.

We met another couple staying there, who found that the staff blanked them and forgot who they were, and we had the same experience when we were leaving, despite the time we'd spent with them sorting out the problems. The service in the restaurant next door was agonisingly slow too.

The first room we stayed in was a solid hotel room. Good shower, good bed, decent amount of space, TV. The suite was one of the nicest rooms we stayed in in Belize. It's on the top floor with 360 degree views of the town. It's huge, with two double beds, a large bathroom, and a massive balcony with a hammock and other chairs. The only downside to being so high up was that the local disco kept us awake until 3am.

I'd stay here again for sure, but I'd make sure to book and double check my booking.

Room Tip: Splurge for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I can't claim to know all the lodging options in Belize, but this was by far the best place we stayed in during our two week travel throughout Belize. It was clean, well-maintained, cool, and had daily room service. We stayed in the three story "guest house" a few blocks from the downtown Martha's facility.

Room Tip: Just to repeat - this was not the downtown facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We are at Martha's right now enjoying the proximity to everything and the beautiful views from the verandas. What we are totally not enjoying is every interaction with the owner who is somewhat bafflingly rude. Some of the staff are ok, the maids are very nice and welcoming, but everyone at the front desk has adopted Martha's attitude which generates the impression that you are a nuissance instead of a paying guest.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Ignacio hotels
0.5 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#15 of 17 in San Ignacio
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Guest House
Western Guest House
#4 of 26 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martha's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martha's Guesthouse

Address: 10 West Street | PO Box 140, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Martha`s Guesthouse Hotel San Ignacio
Martha's Guesthouse Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martha's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.