We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is fun...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Nest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parrot Nest Lodge
Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This place is fun...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

The Parrot Nest was wonderful! We had an awesome time. My husband and I stayed there for just 3 days..and it wasn't enough. The only downfall...the rooms are a little small... this isn't a Hilton Hotel ( or any top-scale hotel you can think of ) ..the rooms are small and the showers were just ok. BUT...the owner of the Lodge was wonderful! Her name is Theo. She knew exactly what tours to go on..and who to use, what you need to bring on the tours, when is a good time to go ( perfect example: cruise ships are there on Wed/Thur..she said to go after 1pm to Jaguar Paw and the place will be empty..and she was right ! We had a guide and the place to ourselves!) She knows what drivers/tour guides to use ( William is great, as is David for a tour around Barton Creek ) . Theo makes the best food, and if you have food issues as I do ( celiac disease ) she will accommodate! Vegetarian- no problem! There are dogs and cats that run around ( if you are allergic or don't like animals..maybe not a place for you ) . Her daughters are very cute also. This was great fun! definitely will go back.

  • Liked — Theo , her knowlege, her food. the lodge is right on the river, Beer was plentiful, VERY,VERY laidback!
  • Disliked — the showers..and the rooms..but I am an inside type of gal... husband loved it ! he called it rustic!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    43
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
113
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cobalt, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

We loved our stay at Parrot Nest Lodge. The owner, Theo, is so welcoming and helpful. She loaned us her daughter's bicycle one day to save us money on a rental. Gave us great suggestions on things to do, how to manage our transportation from the airport, to Guatemala, etc. Gave us rides to town if she could fit it in her schedule. Marcus took us on a fun tubing adventure down the river that flows by their property - highly recommended (and free!) as well as on a picnic to a local waterfall and swimming spot. I highly recommend signing up for dinner at the Lodge; Theo is a great cook.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

After our week on Glover's Atoll, we decided to head into the Jungle and the parrot's nest was on the top of my list for accommodations. I'm glad we ended up there! First, we came into San Ignacio and tried to figure out what we were going to do for the next week. San Ignacio is a really nice little town. There are a lot of Backpackers around, as well as dozens of tour companies and hotels. We went to Eva's and used their internet, and found the Parrot's Nest number again and gave them a call. They had one room open that night and Marcus, who is the boyfriend of the owner (Theo), offered to pick us up right from Eva's in an hour or 2. It was getting late and he wasn't there yet so we went down to the cab stand, but then marcus pulled up in a pick up truck with ROAD WARRIOR written on the hood. We were glad we waited because Marcus is a completely awesome guy. He might put some people off because he talks up a storm and is very opinionated but he's hilarious and we took to him right away. Theo's daughter's were with him too and they are very sweet.

When we got to the Lodge, we were pleasantly surprised by the number of animals walking around. They had found 6 kittens, and adopted 3 out already, and they had a puppy which was abandoned by its mom, and three full grown dogs and 3 cats. We love animals and were very happy to give them attention. We arrived in time for Dinner, and Theo is an excellent cook. She offers a vegetarian option, which I had. You get a plate filled with delicious, hearty, healthy food, and dessert! Everyone who is staying there came down for dinner and sat around and talked. Marcus ate with us too, and told us about his favourite authors and how much he hates George Lucas. Theo came around and talked with us too. We're a young couple and were the youngest ones there, but everyone was so nice and we had no trouble getting along with the guests and the owners. Theo and Marcus are great for local knowledge, and they can help you book a tour.

The cabin we stayed in the first two nights (#3) was very cute, but just a square with a double bed and a single bed. We didn't see any mosquitos but we got a few bites, probably from the dinner area. There are screens on the cabins but if you leave the door open bugs will fly in. There is electricity, and there are cabins with private bathrooms, but the bathrooms are nearby and the showers are wonderfully hot. We stayed in a treehouse (#1) the second two nights which was really fun. It was smaller than the other cabin (just one double bed) but it had a bedside table and some more hooks which were very useful.
You're in the jungle, and also near a small town and farmland, so be prepared for lots of birds, including roosters every morning (possibly all night). Also, there is a bar across the river that plays music all night. It didn't bother me much at all, but some people were slightly annoyed. Apparently, there was a huge flood in October and most of the plants were washed away. There is a mark up in the main house where the water came- up to my chest and hundreds of feet, uphill, from the river! We still found the grounds nice, but apparently it was amazing before, with bamboo and jungle bushes and such. They really did a good job of recovering.

On our last day, Marcus told us to get on our bathing suits because he was going to take us tubing! We were already mostly packed but we couldn't pass up tubing on a jungle river. We had so much fun. They have tubes there, and you just hop in and float. You can see lots of Iguanas in the trees and on the shore. You might get nibbled on by minnows but that's the worst that's in the river. We stopped along the river at a place with a rope swing and did a few swings each, then floated downriver to a big tree where we got out and walked through town a bit. I was barefoot, but it's not too bad unless you have sensitive feet- otherwise bring water shoes of some sort, but your flip flops might float away. After the walk through town, we got in again upriver of the parrot's nest, and floated under the bridge, and down some mini-rapids. I highly recommend doing this little free tubing trip, especially with Marcus.

We loved the Parrot's Nest and really hope to go back.

  • Liked — The river, the food, the family, the little huts, the pets!
  • Disliked — A bit hard to get to/ from without a car.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Well, I would say that this place is super cool, but you have to go there knowing what to expect. I wasn't expecting what I was getting when I got there and my new wife almost couldn't stay there a second night. After some expaination and a few belikin beers she was ok with the giant gaps in the screen and the huge roach that hitchhiked on my backpack into the room. After that everything was great. Theo the owner is super nice and her girls and critters are awesome too. It's a bit slanty shanty but over-all a good place to chill out.

  • Liked — Cool even with no A/C and cheap
  • Disliked — Gaps in screens were a little disconcerning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2007

The Parrot-Nest is great!! The location is a secluded river-side area a few miles outside of San Ignacio. The hotel owner and staff were very friendly as were the owners family. The rooms in the cabins are well maintained and clean (one must excuse the occasional bug or lizard... this is a lodge after all). There is also a nice covered deck at the main building where guests meet to eat dinner together and chat. We werent bothered by any mosquitos, flys, etc! Give the owner Theo, the owner, an email to ask about a reservation. I highly recommend the Parrot Nest Lodge.

  • Liked — Location, staff, atmosphere.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2006

I highly recommend staying at the Parrot Nest Lodge for the following reasons:
1. The lodgings are very unique. The basic but comfortable cabins are set on stilts with palm leaf rooves, many with decks overlooking the lush Mopan River. A romantic spot.
2. The location is very private (so private we did almost think we were lost on our way to it). You feel right among the wilderness but yet have lots of activities and amenities close by
3. The food is great (healthy and wholesome) and beer (Belikan) abundant.
4. The hosts are friendly and very helpful in planning your activities while in San Ignacio (all recommendations were excellent).

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parrot Nest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Nest Lodge

Address: Bullet Tree Falls | P.O Box 108, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Parrot Nest Hotel San Ignacio
Parrot Nest Lodge Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Nest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Parrot Nest Lodge to your Saves list