We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lush and relaxing for events” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cohune Palms River Cabanas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cohune Palms River Cabanas
Bullet Tree Falls, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lush and relaxing for events”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We recently had our wedding at Cohune Palms and it was perfect. Mike was a wonderful host. He did much of the decrating utilizing his lovely gardens. He hosted the event and provided staff for set up, clean up and during the event. The grounds and help were impeccable. We did not use his catering or band (because we had our own- which was no problem), but I have heard great things about both and would not hesitate to hire them if I needed them.

The resort has many beautiful areas, we got married down on the spacious deck by the river, and there was plenty of room above for the reception with 160 people seated, a covered dance floor and serving area for food and cake, plus a bar and small kitchen. We paid a little more and rented a cabana for changing, and an out of town guest stayed there. She loved waking up in the quiet beauty of gardens and riverbank/ jungle. The cost was amazingly reasonable, Mike was flexible about what services we used. I searched every possible location in the area, and Cohune Palms was by far the best for beauty, amenities, location and price. A great event location!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
31
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Cayo de San Ignacio, Cayo, Belize
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed at Cohune palms several times now and it is absolutely the best place on the river anywhere in Cayo. The breeze there is wonderful. Cooler than staying in town. The entertainment(local music) is fantastic. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: All Cabanas are very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends in August 2010. That was a while ago of course, but we had a good experience. We didn't rely on any help from the caretaker/owner, Mike. We had done our research and booked our trips through PACZ.

Yes, there are bugs, but you're in the jungle so it is totally to be expected. It isn't the four seasons; it is a hut thatched with the branches of the Cohune palm that grows on the property. I thought it was reasonable for the cost.

Melanie was our chef and she did an amazing job cooking us breakfast and dinner. There was no need to go anywhere in town to eat. Her cooking is super good. I still dream about the fry jacks at breakfast. She even took the time to show us how to make rice and beans and plantains and fish. One of the best meals I've ever eaten.

You could hear music from across the river at night, but it really wasn't that big of a deal.

We also were requested to pay cash which we were not expecting. If I remember correctly we paid with as much cash as we could and the rest on a card.

I would go back though.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in the cabana furthest from the main office. The grounds are nice and the cabin looked good but I immediately noticed the shower floor was quite grimy. 20 minutes later we saw our first giant cockroach. Then we started noticing dozens of tiny flies on the floor and bedspread. I looked more carefully and saw there were piles of dust and dirt under the bed and on top of the wardrobe. We left for dinner hoping it would be better when we returned but unfortunately saw another roach and more of these flies.

We got Mike who felt horrible and offered to show us two more cabanas. They were all unswept and covered with dead bugs. He did help put up a mosquito nest so we could sleep.

We went to ATM the next day and returned around 4pm to find our room wasn't made up, even after the horrible experience from the night before! We couldn't stand it anymore and left for another hotel even though we had already paid for two nights. Our disappointing experience was complete when we arrived at the new hotel, opened our bags and found a giant cockroach from Cohune Palms!

Mike's place could be nice but he needs to spend more resources on cleaning and upkeep. And he needs to seal those cabanas so bugs don't get in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cohune Palms River Cabanas, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Greetings - Just a reply to say very sorry about your recent experience. Cohune Palms, although a beautiful place, has been undergoing management issues. Right now there is a new manager who will hopefully attend to these issues!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were not very clean or comfortable They didn't clean our room once out of the 3 nights stay. I was worried to request it incase there was a charge. Mike wanted to charge us 80 us dollars to borrow tubes to go down the river, he said we'd need a guide, where the hotel next store gave their guest tubes for free! No guide necessary. We were already expecting mike to be shady thanks to other reviews so we did not book much with or through him. On the plus the cook Soby was very nice and made excellent meals, and the rope swing was loads of fun!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevBelize, Owner at Cohune Palms River Cabanas, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Here are some points about this review that definitely need to be clarified. First, the cabanas are supposed to be cleaned every day. As a business, we have learned a lot from other hotels that are environmentally conscious and have elected not to automatically wash every towel and sheet every night - unless requested. We ask that visitors throw the towels on the floor that they want washed. However, the beds are supposed to be made and everything else cleaned every day and if this for some reason was not the case - then we apologize for this oversight. We only wish that you would have said something while you were there so we could have taken care of it. There is definitely no extra charge that goes along with that. As for the river, there is some confusion here. It is 20Bz a person to tube the river (not 20US). This includes tubes, driving guests upriver and dropping them off and most importantly, a GUIDE. This is just enough to cover gas and the guide and nothing more, really. I would NEVER recommend tourists going on the river on their own as there are small falls and shallow spots that need to be known about before just going over them. We decided to lend out our canoe one time to a couple who swore they knew all about canoeing. The river was very slow-moving. They came back without the canoe and quite a story. After this, we ONLY send people with guides. Shady to me is not worrying about it and if you look at the previous review that started that adjective it had to do with recommending a guide in Guatemala right after it had been declared unsafe to travel in Guatemala. This, to me, looks more like "concern & sense of responsibility." Shady might be expecting everything for free as every relationship needs to be a fair transaction to both parties involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanigan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We (myself, my boyfriend, and his mother) spent 5 nights at the end of Feb 2012 at Cohune Palms and had such a great time there. I was a little worried after reading reviews about "shady management" but my fears were totally unfounded. Mike and everyone else is what made our stay there so great.
I can't say enough about Sobe's cooking (we never even tried a restaurant anywhere else during our time there) and we had great visits with her after dinner.
We also had very entertaining conversations with Mike who was extremely helpful with anything we needed. He arranged rides to town for us, dropped us off to go tubing in the river and gave us a ride to do the medicine trail tour. He also made sure to check with us each day if we needed him to book anything. We got him to arrange everything for us and the prices were never higher than what was posted in the offices of the tour companies. We did the ATM cave with PACZ and the Carocol/Rio Frio Cave/Rio On Pools with BZM. Both were great and like I said, the prices were no higher by getting Mike to arrange it for us. Mike's nephew (?) Teddy also took us tubing down the river.
As for the rooms and grounds we were perfectly happy with everything. We spent a lot of time out on our patio in the evenings and the deck/rope swing down by the river is a great place to spend a relaxing afternoon.
The location is also great. We were close enough to walk to the store in Bullet Tree which was handy, but far enough away that we still felt like we were able to relax and enjoy the river and the birds in the trees. It is close enough to town that you can hear dogs, roosters, music from the bar at night, and even evening church services but to get away from that I think you would have to go way into the jungle and be pretty secluded. The noise was never enough to keep us up at night or really bother us at all.
Regarding some of the concerns left by other reviewers: The prices of the rooms are clearly stated on their website (based on time of the year and occupancy) so there was no confusion for us concerning the cost of the rooms. As far as payment goes, we paid with credit card for our rooms in full before arriving (through emails with Bevin and the website). The tab balance we paid with cash the night before we checked out. We had planned ahead of time to pay with cash (as it seems most places prefer it) so I'm not sure if there would have been a surcharge to pay with cc. There were other places that charged extra for using credit cards (for example Tsunami Adventures on Caye Caulker) so even if they do charge extra for this it is not something exclusive to this particular establishment.
Personally, the laid back atmosphere and attitude of Mike (and everyone else) is what made our stay there so enjoyable. Its exactly what we look for when we travel. If you are looking for your typical 5 star resort type experience with 24 concierge service and people to wait on you hand and foot than this place may not be for you. If you want something different and more personal, I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We only stayed the one night, initially we thought we were quoted the price in Quetzals and thought it was a tad high. Shocked later to learn it was US$

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cohune Palms River Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohune Palms River Cabanas

Address: Bullet Tree Falls, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Cohune Palms River Cabanas Hotel San Ignacio
Cohune Palms River Cabanas Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cohune Palms River Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cohune Palms River Cabanas to your Saves list