We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cahal Pech Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cahal Pech Village Resort to your Saves list
Cahal Pech Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was my first trip to Belize and Cahal Pech Village Resort was a perfect place for me to stay. It was a beautiful view of the town. The rooms need a little updating, but my stay was comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable. From the initial booking procedure online, Lenny and Katharine answered all of my questions and were awesome! Upon arrival at the airport, Luis was waiting for me at the baggage claim and provided a very safe and informative 2 hour trip back to the resort. Raphael worked at night and was the most helpful and friendly as I saw him the most. He was very accommodating and had a wonderful personality. Thank you, Raphael!! It was nice to have a restaurant on site and the wait staff was very good as well. Thank you all for a very pleasant experience!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    171
    83
    37
    14
See reviews for
104
203
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place charged us over $90.00 per night and we shouldn't have paid more than $40. The whole place is shabby and the cabana room was a dump--marginally clean, poor quality mattress, (although they assured us it was new), wimpy shower with tepid water. There was no light on the pathway or on the porch so we had to stumble our way to and from the room up the hill. To add insult to injury, they charged us for absolutely every little thing including water so we could brush our teeth. The breakfast wasn't included and it was expensive considering we had to fight the flies to get to it. UGH!! They even charged us $10.00 US for a packed lunch we needed for our trip to the ruins. Even though they knew when we needed to leave and we had ordered the lunch the night before, we had to ask for the lunch three times before it appeared.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, Missouri
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My experiences were over five years ago but staying at Cahal Pech Village Resort for about once a year in the ten years previous, I found it just as good as could be expected in the mountains adjacent to Guatemala and the rain forests of Belize. The Huts (Cabanas) were serviceable and offered a spectacular view of the village below and beyond the hills where Mennonite's farmed. The music from the village drifted pleasantly up to the cabana nightly. The staff was personal and very attuned to wishes and food was more than adequate. I am headed back in January 2013 and stay a few nights, shop in Guatemala in Melchor and head to visit the awesome ruins of Tikal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rooms were fine and what we expected. Path to the rooms could have been better lit.

Food was good, pools nice, and the common areas were beautiful.

Staff was great, they made arrangements for all of out tours. ATM was the best with Carlos the caveman.

Thanks to Allen, Carla, and Oscar for a great welcoming experience at the restaurant every day. Special thanks to Mario our tour Gide and teacher of Mayan history and culture.

David and Rochelle

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What I loved about Cahal Pech, the staff. The staff is superfriendly. I also loved that I was able to get a cabana for the same price as a room and they placed me a mere 20 ft from the lower pool.

What I didn't like so much: the cabana was a little outdated. The the little walkway leading up to my cabana from the lobby is overgrown with weeds. The roof of the cabana is actually comprised of palm fronds. That was cool and lent to a very rustic and natural feel. However, it also allows little critters to sneak through the crevises. Not that I minded that so much as long as nothing was poisonous. For instance, I had a pet gecko, a pet moth, pet daddy long legs, pet beetles-well, you get you the idea. the geckos are cute and are good for eating up the buggies, but they leave behind little droppings comparable in size to mice turd.

The cabana could have also used a fresh coat of paint. I couldn't always tell if my room was really clean or not because of cracks, rust, smudges and stains on the walls, floors and floorboards.

There is a 3 part pool, a lower pool and two upper pools. they are beautiful and have fountains which make for an awesome atmosphere. However, the resort allows local kids to play in the pool during the day and at night. They restrict the kids to the upper pool, but I found the upper pools to be more alluring and would have enjoyed being able to swim in them without little kids squealing, screaming, jumping, and cannonballing ( not to mention I always suspect children as being less disciplined in the no peeing in the pool rule). Also, and this is me nitpicking, the pool towels were tiny. so, although the pools are lovely to look at, they are not so much lovely to enjoy.

What I liked about the cabana was that I had my own personal little screened-in patio complete with it's own hammock. I enjoyed peaceful relaxation just reading while laying in that hammock. I would like to suggest to the staff taht they place a few hooks or nail heads high up so that guests can hang their wet clothes.

Here is something else you might want to consider before booking. Cahal Pech Resort is about as far from the town as you can get. It's straight up a brutal hill. But that same location is also why you get a great view of the basin at night and it's far enough away from the town that it should be quiet. But again, the local kids playing in the pool during all hours rather detracts from that feature.

Room Tip: you might want to request a cabana farther from the pool. The rooms are decent as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose Succotz, Belize
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We picked the Cahal Pech Village Resort, for two nights, to celebrate Belize Independence day. We requested & recieved a cabana. Our cabana was everything we read about. We spent most of our time in the hammock on the screened in porch. The place was clean & very comfortable. The food at the restaurant was wonderful & very well presented. It was a little more costly than the meals in San Ignacio, but we did get a wonderful view of the Cayo countryside & San Ignacio. The Villiage is located within walking distance of the Cahal Pech Mayan ruins & we took our time walking thru & enjoying the morning. I would recommend this resort to anyone that would ask. Service is excellent, pools are sparkling clean & the grounds are nicely kept.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

For a no frills hotel I loved the way they package the deals. They picked us up at the airport and arranged all the trips with great guides. I would have given the room 3 stars because it smelled but the food was great so that bumped it up. The town was so scary looking my husband would not even go, I would have for the local experience. Thank god the food was excellent and I did not mind eating there. If you are looking for a good value then this is the place. We did the ATM and it was exhilirating ! We did ruins and that was fun. I would have stayed another night if I know about the nature monkey tour, I do feel bad I did not see monkeys,I did see 4 tocans at the ATM and that was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer building and it would have been great if not for the smell. My husband did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.2 mi away
Midas Resort
Midas Resort
#11 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#13 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahal Pech Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahal Pech Village Resort

Address: Cahal Pech Hill | P.O. Box 1, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Ignacio
#5 Top resorts Hotel in San Ignacio
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahal Pech Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahal Pech Village Resort is located in the heart of the Mayan world, San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize. We offer professionally guided tours of local and other Mayan ruins in English and Spanish, as well as access to Mayan Healing, Culture and Art. We also offer Eco-tours, Jungle Adventure, Horseback Riding, Reef Diving and more. Relax at our Pool, or see Belize’s Beaches and Caves, Waterfalls, Sink Holes and Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Cahal Pech Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahal Pech Village Hotel San Ignacio
Hotel Cahal Pech Village
Cahal Pech Village Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cahal Pech Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.