We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2007

Our stay at the Midas was wonderful. The accomodations are very basic, but everything functioned properly and was clean. Linens were changed daily. Windows were screened so we didn't have any insect issues. Staff were very friendly - more than happy to help you figure out your day and tell you the best places to go and what might be a waste of time. You have to put your order in at the restaurant hours in advance, so we only ate one breakfast there and it was ok. Good location - within walking distance of San Ignacio.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    137
    59
    24
    12
See reviews for
49
192
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a 9 day trip to Belize. Our first stop was 4 nights at Midas. I only have good things to say about this place. Everyone was extremely hospitable and helpful. They were never bothered by anything you asked of them and seemed truely interested in seeing that you had a great stay. The major advantage of this place is the location. It is close enough to town to easily walk into the heart of everything, but far enough away from the noise, etc. The food we ate at the hotel was excellent. They also have the extreme advantage of allowing you to use the pool at Cahal Pech for no additional charge. Roger even drove us up two days and then we walked back to town. We stayed in the room/cabana with a king bed/ AC/TV. If you are the least bit fussy I would suggest you book this room. It was clean and comfortable and the AC worked quite well. I really feel the value was great for the money! With that being said, know what you are paying and realize that you get a lot for that money. This place is basic, but with great people, great food, great location and the added advantage of the use of a pool. If you are a snob, then stay somewhere else for a lot more money and further away from everything, but I do fully recommend this place for the budget minded and quality seeking traveler.

  • Liked — Personnel
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

Had been travelling for some time & had picked up a rotten cold just before arrived at Midas, but was nursed back to health by hospitality of the family running this little retreat. Excellent relaxation, food & service, yet only a short walk from town. Great grassy, shaded campsites, comfortable cabins and rustic dining/chill out area - you don't need anything else in Belize!

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

This was my first trip out of the country and had no idea what to expect. I was amazed at how wonderful and completely safe I felt. Roger is a character! The Belizean cooking by Carmen was exceptional. Try the fried Jacks! This place was so secluded and the rooms were spotless. The other tourists we met were just as pleased. The staff was so helpful and accomadating. Roger even took my postcards to the post office for me! The tours set up by Midas were excellent. Our guide, Herri, was fantastic and so knowledgeable. I can't wait to go back and bring my 11 year old son!!!!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
venice, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

My partner and I arrived by bus in San Ignacio and were happily directed to Roger Lang's Midas Tropical Resort, on the edge of the town of San Ignacio and a short three blocks walk to the town center. Without reservations, we were greeted by Celina, the gracious and thorough manager, who set us up in a lovely cabin on the manicured and quiet grounds of the resort.

Roger and family treated us with every courtesy, including arranging the use of a local swank resort's swimming pool for free, and we spent a lovely four days in this center of Belize's ancient past.

The outdoor patio, a wonderfully agreeable cook, a colorful and cheap open air market just a city block away, and the Mayan sites near San Ignacio, made this the centerpiece of our two weeks in Belize. If you need a guide, look up luisgodoynature guide.com and you will be treated to a one of a kind experience of the Mayan land, history, and culture.

If you chance to stay with Roger, tell him the Comedy Store in LA is breathlessly waiting for his arrival.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Roger and Celina run a good value, well maintained facility a few minutes walk from the centre of San Ignacio. Accommodation is in roomy, rustic cabanas with air conditioning or fans. If you want a five star hotel, go elsewhere. If you want good value in clean cabanas, surrounded by well maintained grounds and good food, this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

Two friends and I rented a car in Cancun and drove across Belize. It had been easy for us to book Midas; the staff responded to all of our emails promptly. Plus we loved the idea of staying on spacious out-of-the-way grounds, especially after visiting cramped Belize City. The cabins are very simple but had plenty of space for all of our bags, and were furnished with beds plenty big for two. They were cool with A/C on despite the lack of insulation, and the view of the city from the grounds was beautiful. The folks at Midas were tremendously friendly upon our arrival, and chatted with us every time we came and went. The characters we met were a well-humored English man who always had us laughing and a wonderful woman, whom I believe to have been his daughter and the GM, Celia. They made sure we had everything we needed, even walking us down to our cabin to be sure it was O.K. with us. They served us a hearty and well-priced brekkie. Plus, the dogs they had on the grounds (ubiquitous in Central America) were more friendly and docile than any of the others we had met, and there was an adorable kitten (quite possibly the only animal with a flea collar I saw in the country) that romped and napped around the front office.
We arrived in the early afternoon, and wanted to get a little exploring in before night since we were only going to be in San Ignacio for two days. We were given excellent recommendations on what to do, and ended up going on a great little tubing trip and stopping off at a soy ice cream joint afterward. We also booked a tour of Actun Tunichil Muknal (ATM cave) through Midas. We ended up going with one of the best tour groups in town, and at a price cheaper than the group advertised online for the trip. We were picked up at Midas and given a great lunch at the cave. Since we had a car, it was a breeze for us to get around, but Midas is still walking distance from the town center- probably 10 to 15 minutes. The town was small, and after only 2 days, my group of 3 women had already made plenty of male acquaintances. Staying at a quiet place out of town was relaxing in and of itself, but especially so because we knew we could go for a walk outside and not run into any imposing male "friends." If I had it to do all over again, I'd pick Midas again. Plus, I promised the kitten I'd be back.

  • Liked — Friendly folks and great cabins
  • Disliked — nothing, really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.