We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rustic cabanas, nice people, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great rustic cabanas, nice people, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

The little cabanas were fine for us. In a quiet location minutes away from the town, the distance is nothing really, and you will appreciate it. Shower was hot, a/c worked. It was quiet there as well, and each cabana has a great little porch to sit out in front to enjoy the evening. Great breakfast, and Roger and Celina were very nice, as was there staff.

Do not use the tour guide they use, Harry, as his "every included" turns out to be not true, and the trip itinerary alters by the time you are done. Even said other people told him the same thing, but wouldn't give them a rebate, luckily I hadn't paid yet to his surprise. He dumps you off to other guides, which fortunately turned out to be the best guide to his people at way less (US$20/person and included park entrance fees and lunch!, and even took us to better stores late in the evening) His name was Jaime (Hymie) at the Venus hotel. Can't leave info on this site, but a 5 minute walk to the Venus, which is right on the main 1 block street is easy to find. It is worth the effort.

  • Liked — Price, location, atmosphere
  • Disliked — The tour guide company they refer to
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementMidas, Management at Midas Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2007
The facts we can all agree are that their family of four stayed at Midas Resort for two nights. We advised them via email to look at our webpage to see what our resort was like so they did in fact have prior knowledge of what our property looked like and the rates we charged. We all know San Ignacio is an area promoting eco tourism and Belize is in the Tropics where large numbers of insects can be found. We now all know there was a scorpion in the bathroom of their cabin and we moved them to a different cabin. These are the facts.
From our point of view we believe we immediately acted quickly to resolve the problem for this family by moving them into another cabin and at the time they seemed satisfied when they left Midas Resort. On leaving, at no time did any of them mention their dissatisfaction to anyone at Midas. To all future guests we recommend you see our webpage to see the type of resort we are and the prices we charge, and to please feel free to check our cabins when you arrive. We will be happy to show room 11 to anyone that wants to see it and they can use the a/c unit to test it out. Then you can see the Resorts Guest book and see the hundreds of positive and happy comments from the satisfied guests we have had since we took over the management of Midas Resort in July 2006. We strongly suggest people read the many comments in Tripadvisor, again from July 2006, to see how people feel about Midas Resort since we took over.
It should be noted that we disagree with their statements they now make. Our reasons are as follows.
Price. We promote our resort as budget accommodation and are the cheapest resort of its kind in San Ignacio. In the low season, next month, our rooms start at US$31.61 which includes tax. This family paid the high season rate for an A/c room which for a family of four at the adult rate is US$80.76 a night, including tax. Comparable rates at other resorts in this area can be up to two to three times this rate. Eco – tourism can be expensive but it offers a world of adventure to people and to many people it is obviously worth it.
Accommodation. Midas Resort buildings are obviously not the best in the world but the cabins are liked by many – please read the previous comments on Tripadvisor by the many satisfied guests. I think most people realise that for the price Midas Resort is very good accommodation and is great value for money.
Meals. This family openly state they never ate at Midas yet praise a restaurant near by. We also highly recommend this restaurant to our guests but we suggest you read other peoples tripadvisor comments about our restaurant. This family missed out on some excellent meals at reasonable prices by not eating at Midas Resort.
Scorpions. All hotels and resorts in the tropics have a problem with insects such as scorpions. We do not hide the fact that we sometimes have them, every hotel in this part of the world does. It is how the management resolves the problem that matters. We acted immediately to resolve the problem for this family.
Which brings us, we believe, to the main problem – customer care. They left Midas Resort upset, yet at the time we never knew that. Some people might say that if we are not told by them how they feel then how can we know. I suppose it would have helped if this family had told us their feelings when they left but they never did that. Irrespective of this, from our point of view we feel we have failed and we are sorry that they left feeling this way. We apologise to them. We wish them all the best in the future and hope they have many good holidays to look forward to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    154
    68
    28
    12
See reviews for
56
222
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle,wash.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

As you can see from the title, i have stayed here a few times before and would stay here again.There is new managers and they are wonderful to deal with,helpful and honest . Roger is a great fellow and i have nothing but good to say about him and his daughter.The resort has somewhat of a rustic quality and thats why i go there ,as is why i go to Belize also.dave shaver,seattle,wash.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

What a great place to stay! We enjoyed Roger and Celina's humor and charm tremendously! They were so helpful to book our tours and the rooms are just terrific!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.8 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#13 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#5 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.