We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Iowa
1 review
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. The owners are incredibly nice and knowledgeable about the area. The location was ideal-- you are not in the middle of the city but have a quick walk into town for dinner. The rooms are clean and have nice personalized touches. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — beautiful rooms and resort grounds
  • Disliked — there was nothing that i disliked
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    149
    66
    25
    12
See reviews for
51
210
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda MD USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

To sum it all up this place rocked, you can walk to downtown it literally is 5 minutes or more like 10. The staff rocked, the room mine was new renovated king was spectacular, and location is close to all the sights. The staff can advise you where to go, without going through guides which is pricey. Its especially awesome if you bring your own transportation, so instead of pay a couple hundred dollars for a guide you can spend 10 US dollars(entrance fee). I would recommend considering the price, location, and accommodations.

  • Liked — location and people
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

My friend and I stayed at Midas Resort for 4 nights and we really enjoyed it. The staff was extremely helpful and they had free internet on-site. It was about a 10 minute walk from the center of town where all of our tours left from, but we felt really safe on the resort grounds. The showers were hot, and the room stayed cool enough even without AC (you have to pay more for AC). There were lots of other travelers that stayed closer to town and paid less, but we were really happy to have chosen Midas. The room was really clean, and it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We recently stayed at the Midas for five nights. It's a charming little place just outside of town. It really is a five minute level walk into town (not uphill like other places outside of town). We were lucky to stay in the brand new wing with great rooms. See photos there are more photos on their website too.
The management is in the process of remodeling and is doing a great job. They are friendly and helpful. They have a pleasant covered patio area that is open for breakfast and for hanging out too (there is free wi fi). The bathrooms in the new wing are really great - large walk in tiled shower and ample room around the sink to put your stuff. One of my pet peeves as a budget traveler is the shoddy and micro sized bathrooms at many places where I've stayed. The rooms are comfortable and attractive - the setting is a nice tropical garden style and it's fairly quiet. I wouldn't go there planning on swimming in the river at the resort - they don't really have good access - it's ankle deep mud. All in all this place is a really great value for around $59 a night!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

This cluster of well-priced cabanas under tropical trees is owned and operated by a charming family. It is just outside of San Ignacio on the Mopan River, but is within easy walking distance to the town, which is also charming. Like the town itself, Midas is not over-developed. It is more of a bed and breakfast feel than a hotel atmosphere. The owners and staff are not intrusive and you have all the privacy you want. However, they are always there for helpful advice and honest evaluations of the local activities. They can arrange tours and steer you to the better restaurants in town. They serve a variety of fabulous breakfasts. As in all of Belize the fruits and juices are scrumptious. After each day of tours and evenings out for dinner we had drinks in the covered eating area and enjoyed the sweet tropical breezes with the owners. We played guitar and sang and became like family - our choice, not theirs. As I said, you can have as much or as little privacy as you like. But you will like these folks.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The setting and the owners.
  • Disliked — Water pressure in the rooms is low, as in common in Central America.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Midas was a great value, $38 for a private cabina. The cabina was clean and cute. The property is about a 5 minute walk from town, and it felt worlds away. It was very quiet and on the edge of a surrounding forest. The staff was very friendly, they helped us book an economical private guide. The breakfast was good, would definitely recommend this place over any place in town!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here from England over Easter. I have never stayed in such a loud resort! There was a carnival right across the street and we heard music, loud noise, people yelling, etc. each night of our stay. It went on until 3am!!! In fairness, I would hope that was a one time thing, simply because it was Easter.

We felt the tours booked through the resort were overpriced. We were told that Midas' tours offer more services, but when compared when tours in town, the services looked the same. I know their shuttle to town is the most expensive in the area....

I probably wouldn't stay there again simply because of noise. I would look at staying outside of the town. However, we did enjoy the proximity to town and the friendliness off the staff.

Cheers

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.