We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were nicely upgraded... but I have to say, I would not have liked the "cabina" that they shown me... really basic...
The room we finally had was nice but with a strong smell of cigarette... even my T-shirts were smelling afterward... Service was also very nice and the pool quite big.
The food at the restaurant was completely overpriced and overall, the hotel does not look finished... some parts are not finished and a lot of maintenance is already required...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    137
    59
    24
    12
See reviews for
49
192
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We loved staying here - like others have said, it's a great value and super close to town yet fair enough away to be quiet.

The rooms are super nice - we stayed in a Deluxe room. Like others have also said, the walls are a little thin, which was only a problem one night when our neighbor had the TV loud enough for us to hear...we were both so relaxed (and possibly warn out from all of the hiking & exploring) that we were able to sleep through it just fine though.

Breakfast was great, but that was really the only meal we ate here. Town is so close and has so many options to eat at that we preferred to explore rather than stay at the hotel the whole time.

All of the tours we booked were able to pick us up here, which only saved about a 5-10 minute walk but still nice, especially since many tours start pretty early (at or before 8AM).

The pool was great and everything was as advertised. Staff was super friendly. Definitely a great way to do San Ignacio!

Room Tip: We really liked the Deluxe rooms, but the cabanas looked nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Midas for 3 nights while we enjoyed visiting Mayan ruins, cave kayaking, and the Black Hole Drop. We found the hotel to be very clean with good air conditioning (something we were extremely grateful for after our long daily adventures!) The hotel staff was amazing, and went above & beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. We especially enjoyed the proximity to town, which allowed us to be close enough to enjoy restaurants and local shops, yet far enough away for peace and quiet. Would definitely recommend for other travelers, and stay there again should I be so fortunate to return to Belize!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The single best thing about our Belize experience was the people, and it was no different at Midas. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, from check in people treated us like old friends. Everyone was very happy to answer questions or even just chat. On our second morning our rental car from Belize City died, and Mike (the owner, I think) brought his car over and gave us a jump, and then spent the next 20 minutes giving us all sorts of recommendations for things to do in town. He even spent 20 minutes drawing a map for us the next day to lead us to Big Rock Falls.

We had never been to Belize before, and Midas appealed to us due to its proximity to town and its reasonable price. It's close enough to walk everywhere, but far enough to have peace and quiet. After 2 nights we briefly considered moving to a different hotel in the center of town to be able to get more of the local vibe, but after checking out a couple rooms opted to stay at Midas for a few more days because of the solitude.

It all depends what you're looking for, if you want to be pampered at a 5 star resort there are probably better options for you, but they're twice the price and you won't be able to walk to town. But bottom line, if you're looking for a good clean no frills room, a good location, and some peace and quiet all at a reasonable price, this is the place. One other thing to note is that there is plenty of parking if you'll be with a rental car. Some of the places in town probably make you park on the street.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room near the back of the property. A little pricier (but still very reasonable), bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a great experience for us. The Midas Resort is a wonderful place with great people. It is the perfect walking distance from town. The rooms were nice and quiet. The staff was super friendly and always there to help. We definately would recommend this place to all our friends. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We found this little gem on TripAdvisor when we traveling into San Ignacio to visit the ATM Caves. It was a bit of the jungle but with all of the comforts of home. Hot shower, A/C, WI-Fi and a TV. Outside the cosy cabana were many lizards and birds, it was fantastic. The staff were amazing, we arrived very early for our check in and they got our room ready for us within 15 minutes, which after the bus ride we were very grateful for. After we checked out the following morning we were able to leave our bags at the office for the whole day while we were on our tour as well as leaving valuables in their safe. As soon as we returned from the trip we were due to be picked up to continue on our adventure, as we waited for our ride a lady opened up the bar so we could enjoy a cold beer before heading off. All in all a fantastic place, we only stayed one night but it definitely made our whole trip even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was sorry our time was up and we had to leave the Midas hotel. We had a great stay. The cabana rooms are quiet, cool, large, and beautiful. We could walk to restaurants in town. One day we drove to the Mayan ruins and saw the iguanas at the San Ignacio Resort. Very fulfilling.
We had the Belizian breakfast with some wonderful fried dough that was called Jack Fry (I think.) Unbelievably light and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.