We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived in San Ignacio and found that Midas was a short walk from the bus stop. When we rolled into the hotel we were pleasantly surprised to see an amazing pool with a nice bar area. The staff was unbelievably friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and the air conditioning worked great. The owners gave us great recommendations for dinner and even set up a meal at a place a little out of downtown that was delicious and reasonable. I would recommend this place for a family or a couple like us. We had a laid back and relaxing time, as well as some laughs at the bar with the owner Mike.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    154
    68
    28
    12
See reviews for
56
222
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days in a Cabana (19) and one day in a Deluxe room (22). Given the option, I would certainly suggest the Deluxe room every time.

Staff:
Very friendly, willing to go out of there way for you. They do not advertise it, but they will wash and fold your closes for a small price. This was a life saver for the second week of our vacation after the week at Midas had pretty well soiled most of our clothes.

Facilities: They were doing construction on the office while we were there and seem to be always building or fixing something from what I heard. Rooms can vary greatly because the report has been built over many phases. The main pool area and bar were very beautiful and well done. You can check their website for photos: http://midasresortbelize.com

Internet:
It was a god sent to have internet there for research and email purposes, but our average speeds we closer to a slow dial-up connection than the broadband internet we have come to expect in the states.

AC:
Great in the Deluxe room, barely if at all working in the Cabana

Hot Water:
Great in the Deluxe room, had to wait minutes for hot water and even then it often did not come in the Cabana.

Windows:
Sealed well and kept the noise out in the Deluxe room, did not do much for the Cabana as we had to leave them open for the breeze. Each morning in the Cabana either the birds or the geckos would make sure we were up early.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Room - they were built much more recently and are worth the extra expense Places to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This resort was a very plesant surprise. Just about a 7 min walk to down town. The saff was amazingly friendly and attentive to our needs and went out of their way to assist us. Just for example, we had leave on an early morning trip to Tikal and didn't have time for breakfast. The kitchen staff was kind enough to leave a bottle of filtered water/ coffee pot/ sugar and creamer outside for us to us when we got up at 4:30am. The owners of the resort are so nice and approchable as well.

We staying in one of the bungalows in the jungle. The rooms were clean and tidy, very quiet and comfortable and extremely reasonalbely priced.

Mike Preston, the director of sales and Daniel Monterroso, Front Desk Reservations were very helpful to us and went out of their way in assisting us with our stay there as well as our tours, and recommending places to eat, etc. I have to say that both have went above and beyond on helping us with a very personal matter. We came across a female dog there, homeless but such a sweetheart, She can't be more than a year old. She followed us all over town, even back to the resort and to our room. I kinda took her under my wing. After inquiring about her to Mike, he said that she started coming around here a few months ago, got along with theri dogs so they decided to have her spaded and vaccinated on their own dime. That is what kind of people we are talking about. They are even helping coordinate a way to bring this dog over to the US for adoption.

If I ever get back to San Ignacio, I would def be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I just got back from my weekend stay in Cayo. It was my first time at Cayo and I enjoyed every minute of it! My boyfriend and I stayed on the second floor above the bar. The room was very clean, had a mini flat screen tv, fan and ac. The bathroom was rly nice. It was not an ordinary bathroom. It had it's own little touch. I felt very safe there with the friendly staff and Bartender. The breakfast was amazing! The best thing about this reasonable place is that the location Is just perfect! We were able to walk aroud and didnt have to use a cab at all. I really recommend this place! For sure we are going back! From michelle and Javi xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here, as recommended by Nick from El Rey Inn in Belmopan and I'm so glad he put us in touch with this hotel. We were definitely not expecting it to be so nice - there was a large pool and waterfall next to a newly done out bar with amazing cocktails. The rooms were lovely and reasonably priced too. Mike, the owner was an absolute legend - just take him on a night out and he will sort you out! Definitely recommend staying at Midas resort!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were just in San Ignacio to to the ATM caves (amazing) so the hotel did the job as a quick stop over. From our brief look sound the town, there's little of interest there, so the hotel pool made a welcome distraction. The cabanas you stay in are cute, with comfy beds, a/c etc. It is 10 mins walk to the centre of town to restaurants where we went for dinner and breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the hotel section at this resort. The room was nice and the shower was awesome. Customer service was great! You can get traffic noise and the walls are thin. The pool was great and the pool bathrooms were clean. The wifi was good. The restaurant next door was excellent!

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.8 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#13 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.