We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we chose the Midas Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Glad we chose the Midas Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

A good place to book the Midas is on hostelworld.com (I have booked accommodations through this site for my last three vacations and they have all come up very good).

We paid ~$65 US a night with taxes and service in for one of the huts. Clean sheets, hammock on the porch, room cleaned each night. Darren on staff very helpful. Great breakfast. Load up on the fry jacks.

Glad we stayed at the Midas because it is 5-10 minutes outside of town walking and therefore a little more quiet. If you want to party, stay at a place in town. The Midas does have a poolside bar and hot tub (opening soon). It is a big property so the rooms are away from this area out back with the palm trees. Nice and tropical.

Trips:
For Tikal in Guatamala I recommend Elias Cambranes (tikaldaytrip@yahoo.com). His office is at the Casablanca Hotel in town. He knows everything and gives a great experience at Tikal. Cheaper than the other tours as well.

ATM - we went with Pacz. No worries with this trip. Amazing.

Shuttle from airport: William Hofman - belizeshuttle@yahoo.com
He lives in San Ignacio and will go out of his way to help you. We had 8 people in our van and it was $25 US per person.

The people (especially restuarant owners and store keepers) were very helpful for whatever you need. We liked "Flayvas" for drinks and Han-Nah for food. Other places are great too, make your own trip. Remember, you are in Central America - short power outages and bumpy roads are part of the experience. Don't write reviews complaining about this stuff. Use purification tablets for tap water. And all the places we went to used purified water for the ice in the Rhum Punch! Belize it.

Room Tip: The huts outback - but it doesn't really matter, you shouldn't spend too much time in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    154
    68
    28
    12
See reviews for
56
222
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

We booked on line as Xmas was approaching and rooms were filling up rapidly in San Ignatio. We thought we were booking newly remodeled or new rooms. On arrival were put into two older bungalows with air conditioning but no hot water, questionable tap water for drinking but no glasses, two towels for three persons, and later found other guests with bungalows paid 50% less than the online price. We learned that there were some other options nearby but the 100% cancellation fee resigned us to staying.
Owners just added a new modern wing with pool and bar. Our advice is to call before booking to make sure you know what you are getting

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

A long bus journey from Chetumal to San Ignacio ended with my sister and I arriving to Midas Resort. Overall, it's a nice, clean place with a very good value, in the outskirts of town. At first we were afraid of walking into the town at night through a nearly deserted western highway, but the locals were helpful and San Ignacio is ladden with tourists, so no problem at all.
Our room was one of the cabanas with the porch. Though the bed was not as new as we would have wanted (our backs were tired after the bus ride and then the ATM cave tour), rooms were very tidy and having AC was a blessing given July's weather.

We didn't try any food from the hotel. The closest restaurant was Hode's, an excellent place for stuffing yourself with delicious food for a few dollars.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We traveled in August, so the AC and the pool were big pluses to cool off in the evenings. The room was comfortable, quiet, clean and safe. The use of internet service in the dining room was also a big plus since my hubby was working while we traveled. The staff was awesome and we felt they were genuine in their assistance to us. We told them we were looking for property and they connected us with several people who were selling properties. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel uses several small cabanas for visitors. We stayed in a private hut, which had a very nice (hot) shower, full sized (double) bed and porch. The hotel also provides a breakfast service (for a fee, order the night before) and they will order take out from a local restaurant in the evening. Midas Resort has a very nice new pool with a waterfall, an outside bar, and shows TV on an outdoor projector by the pool in the evening. The resort is within walking distance of Hode's Place (closest restaurant), the outdoor market and downtown San Ignacio (supermarket, post office, multiple restaurants).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at Midas resort over the weekend and my stay was very pleasant.

I stayed in the family cabana with two baths and two bedrooms, nestled in a diversity of flora and fauna. The rooms are spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. We saw hummingbirds flying around hunting for food and squirrels running up the trees. In the morning, we ate a nice hot breakfast. They served fruit platters, hot waffles and yummy fry jacks the Belizean way.

The staff was very helppful and friendly with good tips on gettting discounted tours and recommended good resturants.

Midas is a resort that continues to reinvest in their property to ensure repeat visitors and a enjoyable stay. They now have a huge swimming pool with waterfall cascading over a cave. Awesome!!! My kids enjoyed this while we took a drink at the icebar while our bartender entertained us with wicked music and trpoical drinks with a twist ....

I give Midas two thumbs up and recommend it for everyone, young people and families seeking the comfort of home and paradise at a good value for their money.

Tessa and Nico Sacksick

Room Tip: I would definetely go with cabanas , quiet and peaceful with rich flora and fauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This small resort is an easy ten minute walk to downtown San Ignacio. The Saturday market is even closer and a must visit if there on Saturday. Grounds are beautifully landscaped. Rooms immaculate with A/C, porch, hammock and every cable channel you could want. We were in a deluxe room. Cabanas I believe were more rustic. Nice pool w/ bar and huge screen TV on premises. Friendly staff. They do have freindly dogs on premises. The German Shephard will make off with your shoes if you leave them outside the room.
San Ignacio is a nice small town. Good staging point for trips to A.T.M and Tikal as well as other nearby Mayan ruins. We had great time touring A.T.M and Tikal with Katun Ahaw Tours located next to Casa Blanca Hotel. Tour guides Elias Cambranes, Carls Panti & Gliss were fantastic. Very knowledgeable, excellent English. Will pick you up at Midas Resort. Midas was a great value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ignacio
1.8 mi away
Ka'ana Boutique Resort and Spa
4.0 mi away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#4 of 17 in San Ignacio
5.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#13 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rumors Hotel
Rumors Hotel
#8 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
San Ignacio Resort Hotel
#6 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cahal Pech Village Resort
Cahal Pech Village Resort
#12 of 17 in San Ignacio
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.