We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Scorpion in My Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Midas Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Midas Resort to your Saves list
Midas Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Kutztown, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“No Scorpion in My Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was with a large group and got a nice second floor room. Another member of our group was put in a rather rustic cabin at the back of the property and freaked out when she found a large scorpion in her room. She moved to another hotel. My experience wasn't so bad.
The staff had their favorites and even though I tipped I was always last to be served breakfast.
There is nice pool. At the time there was construction going on, so an afternoon nap was out of the question.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    149
    66
    25
    12
See reviews for
51
210
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caye Caulker, Belize
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A couple friends from Toronto decided they wanted a Belize adventure -- and I decided that San Ignacio would be our starting point. I am so glad we chose to stay at Midas Resort because it was walking distance to town, yet we felt we were in the rainforest of Belize. The staff was excellent. Having breakfast at the hotel was perfect since we had tours every day. Our rooms were cleaned everyday. The pool was beautiful. Wi-fi was iffy in rooms, but superb in the restaurant area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Our stay was very relaxing with clean & private room with air conditioning, tv, private bathroom, balcony, on site eatery, friendly staff, parking and swimming pool. Would totally recommend this resort to family friends when they next visit the San Ignacio area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

The grounds were nice, especially lit up at night, and the newer building they are working on by the pool is nice. The pool was cloudy (and almost too warm) and there is construction debris lying around.
We stayed in the little cabanas, but they are built very poorly. You could see daylight between the wall and window frames and other places and I'm assuming mosquitos, etc. easily made their way in. Two gals in our group had a returning, highly freaky looking frog. He made his first appearance in their toilet, and then in their shower.
There is at least a wall a/c unit in every cabana, so it helps cool it off and keep back the noise (dogs barking, roosters crowing). The bathrooms that we experienced in our cabana had nothing more than bar doors (think old western) so there was no potty privacy and it made it a little awkward.
The people who worked there were pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was good. We had homemade waffles one morning that were delicious.
Overall they are on their way to being a great place, and keeping in mind locally what you have to compare them to, they are a good value. There are some problems, though, that they need to continue to work on.
Recommend the wings at Hodes Place restaurant a couple of doors down. Great family friendly place with a park, arcade, slot machines, ice cream, etc.

Room Tip: Stay in the newer building, not the cabanas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Very nice, clean, and large accomodations. Air conditioned unit made the stay even more enjoyable. Mike, his wife, and their staff were very pleasant in helpful throughout our stay. Recommend the Midas Resort without reservation.

Room Tip: Visit the ATM
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I'm not going to pull any punches with you. If you're like me, which means you're a solo and/or budget traveler - Midas Resort is for you. If you're looking for something more upscale and along the lines of a Comfort Inn - you just may be disappointed. For starters, I feel the need to clarify that Midas is NOT a resort and doesn't have resort-type amenities. I stayed in one of their cabins (cabana) and found it to be fairly comfortable but very basic. I also found the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Here are a few of my pointers: #1 The resort is in a perfect location. It's a safe 10-minute walk into the town of San Ignacio on level ground. That's worth mentioning because some hotels are up a hill and while it's easy to walk downhill, walking up a hill in the hot sun could be quite a downer. #2 While modern, the cabins are truly as close to nature as you can get. That means you shouldn't be surprised to find tree frogs hanging out on your door (waiting for flies) and insects inside your cabin. There were plenty of teeny insects and ants walking around - none of which bothered me and are completely out of management's control. #3 Because there were plenty of small insects around, I made it a point to ALWAYS keep my luggage zipped up. Even if I went into my bag to grab my toothbrush and would be putting it back less than five minutes later I still zipped up my bag. #4 I think the construction company did a poor job on the bathroom stall dimensions. There are no shower curtains or doors and once I got the shower going there was nothing to keep water from falling onto the bathroom floor behind me. Just lay out the floor towel and you will be fine. #5 In my cabin there was no running hot water and I got water at whichever temperature it came out of the tap. The water was NOT freezing cold and once I got the water going, it was a matter of getting my arms wet, soaping up and getting the rest of my body wet slowly. It didn't bother me but you may want to know that. After having several long, hot days I found the water to be the perfect temperature to be considered refreshing. #6 I appreciated the fact that Midas is as close to eco-friendly as possible. They gladly accepted my water bottles for recycling and left my towels and washcloths to be re-used (per my "hanging" request). I personally find it an incredible waste to wash towels every single day when I'm the only person using them for no more than three days. #7 All prices in the area are quoted in Belizean dollars but make sure you always ask. For instance, my taxi from the bus station to Midas was $5 and I readily pulled out my cash. Once I asked and was told it was in Belizean dollars I only had to pay $2.50. #8 There is definitely loud music coming from one of the establishments at night. While I was in my cabin I had the A/C going and the television playing so I was insulated from the sound. In the morning you will definitely hear birds chirping with the sunrise. If you're a light sleeper you may want to take that into consideration.

At the end of the day, I wanted to stay somewhere affordable where I felt safe and the linens were clean. Midas succeeded on all of those points. If I'm in San Ignacio and still on a budget, Midas would be my go-to place to stay.

Room Tip: Cabins MAY be tight for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum branch
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Friendly, extremely helpful staff. They went above and beyond to insure our stay was the best it could be.Our tours and dining arrangements were organized flawlessly. My Wife and I look forward to visiting them again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Midas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midas Resort

Address: Branch Mouth Road, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midas Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midas is the only 7 acre resort down town that can offer a tranquility of nature at its best, birds tweeting their musical charm squirrels jumping from tree to tree, river flowing by the resort, iguanas resting on the limbs of the trees, and freshness of the condensing air rising as morning breaks daylight, and yet only a 7 minute walk into the town center where you can meet the unique people of Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Midas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midas Hotel San Ignacio
Midas Tropical Hotel
Midas Tropical San Ignacio
Midas Resort Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.