We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price if you choose no a/c” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Blanca Guest House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Blanca Guest House
Save
You added Casa Blanca Guest House to your Saves list
10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in San Ignacio
Forks, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good price if you choose no a/c”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

$25 a night for a clean, safe room and access to a kitchen and wifi.

After coming to SI from Caye Caulker where my a/c room was the same price, I could not fork up the extra $20 per night for it.

Otherwise, it was a great room. I had 2 beds, good hot water, and daily maid service. The balcony is nice, especially if your room is warm.

Yes, my room did face a parking lot and I could hear what was going on, but I am not a difficult American tourist who expects the world to cater to my needs. (Just an observation of some fellow American travelers, not meant to be rude)

I would certainly come back if I wanted to stay in the heart if SI.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    19
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
45
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Casa Blanca during our San Ignacio trip and loved it. It is in the perfect location and somehow the rooms block out all of the noise outside.
The bright big rooms were some of the cleanest we have stayed in and there is a kitchen/fridge/wifi for guest use. It's basic but everything you would need in SI.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We liked this little guesthouse located in the center of San Ignacio. The pink and white building, when viewed from the front, is deceiving; the upstairs guestrooms are large, spotlessly clean, comfortable and private. A short-notice email inquiring about a reservation was answered promptly, and the room was ready upon our arrival even though we were a bit early. Rooms with air-conditioning are $20 more than those without, a reasonable charge, and air-conditioning is necessary here in July. Even with the extra charge, the rooms are a bargain. There was a serviceable television with an impressive array of cable channels, plenty of hot water, and the staff was helpful and pleasant. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: #9 was a large, pleasant quiet room, with a well functioning airconditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel offers simple rooms, but mine was clean and mosquito-free. Paying extra for a room with AC was well worth the price, which was very reasonable overall. This is not a fancy place, but if you are looking for a clean, safe inexpensive place to stay, then Casa Blanca is a good option. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The bed was comfortable, the wifi worked, and so did the tv. The bathroom was a bit old, but it was spotless and everything worked fine. There is a common area on the landing at the top of the stairs with couches and chairs, and a kitchen with full sized refrigerator (although it was crammed full with no room for anything else the night I was there), microwave, sink, etc. There is a locked gate at the front entrance, so no one without a key can wander in at night. And right across the street is a great little place to eat, Han-nah, which has simple but fresh and tasty fare at a very reasonable price. It was easy to catch a cab on the street out front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

You can't miss it, white with pink. A truly delightful place. Owned and run by women. You pay extra for a/c, but each room has a large ceiling fan and TV. Reserve ahead, the hotel is very popular and has only eight rooms. Laundry done cheerfully on the premises for a reasonable price per load. There is a kitchen for use by the guests, but there is also an excellent and popular little restraurant (-Ha-Na) diagonally across the street. WiFi works as advertised. The hotel and an alternate, the Mallorca, next door, owned by the same family, and a tad cheaper, are just a short walk from the bus stop. If you arrive from direction Belize City, walk in the direction the bus is pointed, and you will be looking at a bank building on the corner of Burns Street. Look left and you will see the two hotels on the right side of Burns. Definitely don't take a taxi. We're talking two minutes tops, if you're walking slowly. The hotel will arrange for tours, including to Tikal. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and an excellent value. Shops, markets, outdoor market by the river, a minor shopping mall, all within minutes from the hotel. For an added experience take the local bus to Xunantunich, a fine, compact Mayan ruin, and after 12 minutes get off at the ferry, cross the river, walk a mile and there you are.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Simple clean rooms, A/C as an optional extra. They organize tours to local attractions such as ATM/Caracol/tubing. Laundry service available. Opposite the recommended restaurant "Xo-no Han-nah". Located in the centre of town just down the hill from the police station.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Casa Blanca certainly isn't the most luxurious place to stay. Accommodations are basic, but more than adequate. The place is well cleaned. I would say that paying extra for A/C is a must! It was so hot during our stay the end of April we wouldn't have been able to sleep without it. It was nice to have access to a fridge to store water, beers, fruit, etc. We loved, loved, loved the location. We would sit on the deck every night watching all the entertainment on the busy street below. There was always a lot of activity/ people congregating, & doing their thing. Staff were very friendly & accommodating. Casa Blanca is a great place for meeting up with others & sharing travel stories due to all of the common areas. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Blanca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Blanca Guest House

Address: 10 Burns Ave., San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Casa Blanca Guest House Hotel San Ignacio
Casa Blanca Hotel
Casa Blanca Guest House Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Blanca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.