We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guava Limb Cafe

Guava Limb Cafe
79 Burns Avenue, San Ignacio 00501, Belize
+501 824-4837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in San Ignacio
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Coffee Shop, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Guava Limb Cafe is San Ignacio's most recent addition to the Restaurant & Cafe chain. We offer a fresh, colonial yet modern option for dining in the greater Cayo District. The emphasis stands on serving the highest quality specialty coffee drinks, pastries, sandwiches, salads signature dishes and specials available in the Cayo area. We also do catering for breads and desserts. The Guava Limb Cafe has a breezy Caribbean feel with a European flavor. Organic in nature, our foods are farm-to-table local, fresh and does not have additional preservatives/flavor enhancers. The decor of the Cafe includes handmade furniture from around the world, and table ware is contemporary with simple lines to highlight the beautiful presentations of our cuisine. The Macal Park is a focal point for our patrons with the bustle of children playing, people strolling, as well as the lovely natural setting. We have a moderately priced, casual restaurant serving fine high quality food. The service style of our restaurant is a table service with a fine selection of wines. We have a relaxed atmosphere that encourages conversations between tables.
Hopkins, Belize
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Food was amazing! Staff was amazing! Atmosphere! I will definitely be going back! It was a wonderful experience and the best carrot cake I have ever had!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Drinks, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were referred to this restaurant by Theo, Parrot Nest Lodge, and was pleasantly surprised by the freshness of the food and juices. The restaurant overlooks a local park too. The staff were friendly and the service was prompt. I'd definitely recommend a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Great location, delicious food and professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a welcome addition to San Ignacio and the setting is so peaceful. This is one of the most nicely decorated restaurants and cleanest bathrooms we have encountered in the area.

The service was very friendly and professional. We visited for lunch two days in a row. We tried the daily specials (shrimp tacos and fish tacos) both of which were delicious and had a nice side salad. We also had a jerk chicken quesadilla which was tasty but a small portion and the chicken salad (can't remember the name, but it had apples, chicken fingers, bacon with a green salad) which was delicious. The presentation of all of their dishes is very attractive.

We had juices which were delicious but came in two different size glasses two different days but for the same price - not sure what happened there. We also had espresso which was good and strong.

For dessert, we tried the carrot cake - the cake was moist, but the icing not "cream cheesy" enough (we understand cream cheese is very expensive in Belize), the chocolate cake (we found the cake delicious, but the icing too sweet for us) and the coconut pie which was perfect.

This will definitely be on our list for our next visit to Belize.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

What a gorgeous little restaurant in a tranquil setting, overlooking the park! The food - wow! I had the grilled veggie panini with a locally made herbed goat cheese and it was absolutely delicious! The focaccia was perfectly baked and the veggies were ample and grilled and seasoned just right. The sandwich was also quite large so it would be a perfectly meal for anyone with an appetite (their food is also available to go). I'm not much of a sweets person but I would walk the world over for Chef Laura's banana cake with caramel icing. WOW. I was not ashamed to lick the plate. The service was great, too!! Do yourself a favor and eat here! :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Wow! Best food in Belize! Wonton Heaven.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Guava Limb Cafe is our new favourite restaurant. Their menu is short, sweet(especially the desserts), and priced better than most. They are like a 'fusion bistro,' and have the most mouth watering paninnis you'll ever get. This is our new lunch and early dinner spot, and we average 5 times a week at this point; we want to try everything on the menu...thrice!

The wonton platter is something we get every other visit, and it'll fill you up. The Asian bowl is fantastic. They also have a selection of salads that are really enjoyable. They have chicken fingers for kids, althought the vegetarian paninni goes well with ours too.

The location is supreme, being on the Macal River Park, at the end of Burns avenue, just a block from the 'tourist zone,' so you aren't in the thick of it all, and it's peaceful. The service is great too, as is the ambiance. It's in a restored historic house, and they actually bought it to preserve it. Awesomely done too, and there's tons of art all over the place to check out from many different local artists. I'm quickly getting pictures of all the food items, so you'll see those here soon.

The smoothies and coffee selections are amazing. The dragon fruit smoothie is a must, as is the mango smoothie. The desserts are fabulous, and the key lime pie is a must, as is the flourless chocolate cake. And there are so many others, like the tiramisu, that is to die for. You'll just have to go check it out for yourself. See you there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guava Limb Cafe also viewed

San Ignacio, Cayo
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Been to Guava Limb Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guava Limb Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.