We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the drive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1000 Foot Falls

1000 Foot Falls
Mountain Pine, San Ignacio, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Attractions in San Ignacio
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
Attraction details
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the drive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It is a long drive on a rocky dirt road to get to the 1000 foot falls. Once there you can only view the falls from a lookout on an adjacent mountain top, and only the top 1/3 of the falls is visible. The majority of the 1000 foot falls is covered by jungle. Also, the park with the viewing area appeared to be abandoned when we were there. It definitely isn't worth the drive. King Vulture Falls on the Hidden Valley Inn grounds is much more impressive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very neat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I guess we were expecting more but it was really neat to see the falls. We did a tour of the Mountain Pine Ridge and weren't expecting such devastation from the pine beetle, but it was really interesting to learn about the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice but not much flow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If the weather has been nice the road will not be bad and it is worth seeing, if it has been raining alot the road is very difficult and therfore no longer worth the effort.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
79 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Ok waterfall, but it's a long, rough ride.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I finally visited Hidden Valley Falls a second time. I give it a 2 this time instead of a 1 because of the guide, John Chuc, who is one of the best guides for Mountain Pine Ridge and Caracol. The park there near the falls is cool, and it has a lookout spot, and benches for you to eat at. The only think is that the falls are so far in the distance that you don't really see much, and you can't get close at all. It feels like you are a klick away, if not more, but it might be just a quarter mile. I would only go back if it was one of the stops, and even then, I would choose other places in MPR.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful - but too far”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The waterfall is beautiful, but we thought that we were going to be much closer to the falls after traveling for so long to get there. We were somewhat disappointed and wished that the viewing area was closer.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1000 Foot Falls also viewed

 

Been to 1000 Foot Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1000 Foot Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.