We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayawalk Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Mayawalk Bar & Grill
Downtown, San Ignacio, Belize
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
virginia
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Awesome Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hmm, three times in one week, but we got hooked on the DELICIOUS, melt in your mouth one pound and pound and a half steaks! ($12 and $14 US for these steaks!!)

One buddy also ordered the pork chops and sausage - both were simply amazing! Do not come here for the side dishes - very disappointing. In a town overflowing with great beans with rice, Jimmy (head chef and character) admitted that the beans were "tin" beans - like Campbell's. Maybe they should "contract" out the sides from another restaurant.

We found Jimmy to be all of the things listed here but that just added to the character and charm of the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    8
    6
    5
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Honestly one of the best places To enjoy a tropical afternoon. Stayed in San Ignacio 4 days and I think I came here everyday. Big beautiful steaks cooked perfectly, cheap drinks, friendly staff and a great atmosphere for making friends and bull feathering. Really made our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best staff in San Ignacio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Found this gem on our first of four days in San Ignacio and went back every day! They serve a mean rum punch, and the staff are amazing. Thanks to Mark and Zeb for the attentive service, and thanks to Jimmy for the excellent food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Jimmy's a character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ordered the steak and pork chops and both were simply amazing! There could have been a few more sides to choose from but overall the food was great and we'd definitely recommend the place. We found Jimmy to be all of the things listed here but that just added to the character and charm of the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, decent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The owner of this restaraunt is putting a lot of time into making this a nice place and it's well on it's way. Not overpriced and the food was excellent. Had the best breakfast fry jack of my entire vacation in Belize!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayawalk Bar & Grill also viewed

 
San Ignacio, Cayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayawalk Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.