We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, Jimmy's a character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayawalk Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Mayawalk Bar & Grill
Downtown, San Ignacio, Belize
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, Jimmy's a character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ordered the steak and pork chops and both were simply amazing! There could have been a few more sides to choose from but overall the food was great and we'd definitely recommend the place. We found Jimmy to be all of the things listed here but that just added to the character and charm of the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    5
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, decent prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The owner of this restaraunt is putting a lot of time into making this a nice place and it's well on it's way. Not overpriced and the food was excellent. Had the best breakfast fry jack of my entire vacation in Belize!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Time for Jimmy to retire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Mayawalk would be so much better without Jimmy harassing everyone passing on the street (timeshare anyone). He is too aggressive for the laid back attitude of the town. I really don’t need to see or hear about his Grill Master trophy everyday.
I would rate the atmosphere a four, but Jimmy ruined it for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Depends on your tastes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our group liked the place. BBQ food was really good and the infamous jimmy was nothing but friendly with us.
I've read comments about the lack of cleanliness of their kitchens but we were invited in and they looked fine.
So average rating is because I can see this is not for everyone, but we enjoyed it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Raw rice and hot beer.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Food was average, beer was hot, service was average. Not the best place arount to eat. Go across the road to flauvas instead.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayawalk Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayawalk Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.