We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Belize, go to MET!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Equestrian Trails

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Ignacio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Equestrian Trails
Save
You added Mountain Equestrian Trails to your Saves list
Mile 8 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | Cayo District, San Ignacio, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 San Ignacio B&B and Inns
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you go to Belize, go to MET!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

MET is a must for the somewhat adventurous traveler spending a week in Belize. While my girlfriend and I have traveled to many countries, we had never been to Belize and wanted to experience both the jungle and the cayes. Belize is perfect for this considering the short distance from Belize City each destination. MET provided a jungle experience that we will never forget; from the horseback riding through the jungle, swimming in waterfalls, drinking margaritas and Belikin at the cantina or hanging out at our cabana by the light of gas lanterns, we had an amazing time. Thank you so much, we'll send more travelers your way!

Sincerely,
Jennifer and Justin

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We really appreciate it. I like that you point out that MET is for the "somewhat" adventurous traveler. It's very true. We enjoyed hanging out with you and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
41
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bell, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at MET in February, 2013. It was fantastic! We thought the views at MET were some of the prettiest we saw in Belize, and there were a lot of beautiful vistas to behold in Belize!

As I see others have noted in their reviews, I had the best night's sleep in our casita - we were so perfectly comfortable with the shutters open so we were able to look out the window and see the night sky and hear all of the wonderful nocturnal sounds. The kerosene lamps led to such an ambience! And then, waking up to the cool morning breeze and the sounds of the birds - what a way to start the day! There was a bit of a mist over the hills - oh, so beautiful.

We went on a half-day horse ride and this experience was fantastic, as well. The horses were sure-footed and easy to manage (we know nothing about horses!) and Rigo, Junior and Giovanni took such good care of us - pointing out interesting facts about the flora and fauna along the way. They were very attentive to make sure we were safe and having a delightful time. This was the best way to see the jungle - on horseback crossing over all the mountain streams!

The food was superb - Marta, Blanca and Minor made the most delicious meals- loved the chicken curry and the breakfast casserole. Drinking a cold Belikin Beer in a hammock before dinner in the Cantina really set the stage for a relaxing evening dining on the delightful food and hearing about everyone's adventures that day.

The Bevis family is what really makes MET special. The stories Arran told after dinner were so entertaining and he is very knowledgeable. It was fun to see how he got everyone organized for the next day's adventures. Everyone who was there while we stayed at MET became a little family. When the day came to leave, it was really a sad thing to say good-bye - we all had bonded during our stay. I think this happens often at MET, because of the intimate nature (eating family style and catching up with other guests in the Cantina - coupled with the Bevis's warmth and genuine hospitality - just makes everyone bond and become family with each other and the staff.)

We look forward to our next stay at MET! We had a fabulous time and miss you all at MET! Holly and Ken

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for a well-written and informative review. You did a great job of describing what happens at MET between our guests and our family. We ALL really appreciate you taking the time and effort to write. We so enjoyed our visit with you and hope you will return very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Can't say enough about MET. This charming lodge's mountain location is so serene filling your senses with colorful, fragrant vegetation, an abundance of birds, unique sounds of frogs, birds, neighing horses and howler monkeys, and refreshing breezes. It's a perfect place to relax when you are not on one of the many adventures offered such as half and full day equestrian rides through the rain forest to various caves and waterfalls. Rides on sure-footed, cooperative horses are lead by expert guides Rigo, Junior and/or Giovanni. A wonderful way to see this beautiful land up close!

Equally impressive is the delightful Bevis family and their other top notch staff. Everyone is there to make your experience THE BEST EVER!! Blanca and Marta prepared a great variety of delicious and hearty breakfasts and lunches. Be sure to try some of their homemade super spicy habanero salsa if you dare! We also enjoyed Chef Minor's tasty evening meals while sharing the day's events with other guests, as well as Jim, Marguerite and Arran Bevis's very interesting stories of their lives in beautiful Belize.

We will certainly remember the lovely people very fondly, and plan to return to MET again in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much! We really appreciate your time and effort and great description of the place, activities, and people of MET. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The trail guides were all experienced. The food was wonderful. If anything we were overfed. I'm looking forward to returning. I am going to ride a lot more often before I leave home for my next trip to cut down on the soreness. We're going back. Mike, Maureen, and Danielle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for writing so quickly after your return, especially knowing how busy you are, it means so much to us! We learned so much from you and look forward to your return. We'll cut down on the rations if necessary. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I can't say enough about MET and the people who run it. It's in the interior of Belize and you don't have to be into horses to fall in love wit the place. The family-run center will custom build you any trip you want. The food is some of the best I had on a two-week trip and I wanted the family to adopt me. The combination of friendliness, laid-back attitude, and absolute willingness to make your trip the experience of a life time all combine to make you wish you were brave enough to ask to be adopted into this wonderful family. It's rustic, but beautiful. The cabins don't have electricity, so the staff lights your oil lamp while your having dinner. As you head up the winding path your your own little paradise, the romantic light sets the mood. This place is the closest I felt to nature as I drifted to sleep listening to the noises of the jungle right outside my window. Believe me, it's not Kansas, and this isn't the Howard Johnsons. What a wonderful experience and what beautiful memories. (P.S. Some of use stayed up really late and talked around the fire. We had such fun and laughed over everyone's stories. I hope the nearby cabins forgave us. :) People were still enjoying the companionship when I finally gave it up and went to the cabin. From where I was, all I heard was nature. Best night's sleep in ages. Can I go back now?)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you! That was a memorable evening indeed! Thanks for the great review! It is thorough and descriptive. Yes, you can come back now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

MET is a great family operation. Warm and friendly. All the help are fantastic. Horses are grand. Jungle is awesome as are caves and ruins! And waterfalls to swim in... Holy Cow! I loved it. Thanks, you guys. Janet

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you! We enjoyed our week with you and we hope you can come back! I REALLY appreciate you writing a review! You helped bump us up in our category!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, TN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great way to see the interior of Belize, even if you're life does not center around horses. Aaron and staff do a wonderful job of taking care of their guests, including custom food, trips, horses, whatever. Beautiful cabins, great food, fantastic scenery, friendly people. By the second day we all seemed like old friends, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marguerite B, Owner at Mountain Equestrian Trails, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you! I appreciate you pointing out that guests do not necessarily have to be horse riding enthusiasts. Even novice riders can enjoy this method of seeing Belize, up close and personal. We look forward to seeing our new "old friends" again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Equestrian Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Equestrian Trails

Address: Mile 8 Mountain Pine Ridge Rd | Cayo District, San Ignacio, Belize
Location: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Ignacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecotel-certified Belize Ecotourism Jungle Lodge offering adventure vacations: horseback riding tours, hiking, bird watching, butterfly gardens, waterfalls, river caves & vehicle tours to Mayan ruins. Cabanas are made of stucco with thatched roofs, with private baths, hot water and intimate kerosene lighting. The Cantina is a restaurant and bar where you'll enjoy open-air, home-style dining and bird watching from your table. MET is one of "1,000 Places to See Before You Die" by Patricia Schultz. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Equestrian Trails Hotel San Ignacio
Mountain Equestrian Trails Belize/San Ignacio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Equestrian Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.